We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach, calm sea”
Review of Preveli Beach

Preveli Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.05*
and up
Crete Jeep Safari
More Info
$85.35*
and up
4x4 Preveli and Kourtaliotiko Gorge Safari In Southern Crete
More Info
$88.91*
and up
Full-Day Land Rover Safari from Rethymno with Lunch and Swimming
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Lefkogia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, calm sea”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We parked up after visiting the monastery, in a car park about 1km back down the hill. Be aware that there is a fair trek down to the beach - we counted 450 steps. There is some shade amongst the trees, which was welcome, while the river allows a different swimming option. The sea was lovely to swim in at Preveli and it was mostly sand underfoot

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4Ms2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    295
    121
    56
    27
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“pretty beach but not sure if worth the climb”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had lovely afternoon on prevali beach but it was a bit of a hike there and back to get there. Not sure if its worth it if you have not come from nearby. We preferred the beaches on the north near Bali. however a few boats looked like they had some good trips that may be worth considering if you are going there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not worth the horrible road”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We tried to go there by rented car and the road there (last 5 km) is horrible to say at least. They recommend to use 4x4 and I say they are right. We have managed to get there and back in small hyundai atos but I would never do this with my own car.
Even the path from carpark to the beach (about 500 meters) is difficult and one has to be very careful.
As for the beach for itself - I assume we came there few weeks/months after big fire because all palms had new leaves but trunks were black.
Water coming out of mountains is very cold and looks clear but that is the only good thing.
I honestly do nto see the reason why people got there - there is nothing special to see. Just a small beach with some palms - nothing more.
So I would never go there again - there are nicer places on Crete than this beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lukas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not worth the trouble”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Not really was I expected from this place,first is too tiring climbing up after the swim,really got excausted,then the waters are muddy and there are so many people there you hardly find a space to sit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpyrosB937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique scenery”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It is not easy to get to Preveli (15 min walk), but this is a unique place to visit. The river flows into the sea, next to the beach and you can walk up the river bank or take a boat. The beach is OK although neighboring Ammoudi beach s better. The vegetation used to be much better before the fire a few years ago. You can find umbrellas and sunbeds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiliaS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preveli Beach also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
Matala, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Preveli Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing