We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great and wonderful summer-holidays in this Villa”
other travelers have booked this property
Overview of the villa, garden-park and swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overview of the villa, garden-park and swimming pool
Garden and swimming pool Veranda with panoramic view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Overview of the villa, garden-park and swimming pool
Garden and swimming pool
Veranda with panoramic view!
Enjoy the view of Cretan nature from our veranda
35 square meters private swimming pool offering full privacy!
Large fenced garden - park
Living and dining area on the ground floor
Living and dining area on the ground floor
Living & dining area and stairs to go to the first floor
Dining area
Fully equipped kitchen!
The kitchen has direct exit to the barbecue area
Traditional decorated kitchen area
Bedroom with double bed on the first floor and exit to the veranda
Bedroom with double bed on the first floor and exit to the veranda
Bedroom with bunk bed
Bathroom with shower
Bathroom with shower
Outdoors fenced area and lawn garden
The whole outdoor area is totally fenced offering you safety and full privacy
Private swimming pool with sun beds, umbrellas and sitting areas
Fenced garden - park with barbecue, dining table and sitting area
Outdoors dining area next to barbecue
Barbecue with sink, we will provide everything that you might need like charcoal
Our garden full of trees and beautiful flowers
Beautifully planted garden with trees and flowers!
Calmness and full privacy, enjoy relaxing in our pool area!
Stone build villa located on a hill surrounded by trees and flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Prines, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Arne W
Pulheim, Germany
1 review
“Great and wonderful summer-holidays in this Villa”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great 2 1/2 week summer holiday in this beatiful villa with our 3 kids.

The villa looks exactly as described in the photos or the homepage. The owner was so friendly and we get a good list of restaurants and beaches. Also the communication in front of our trip, everything perfect.

And as a family you really enjoy that twice a week a cleaning of the house, the pool and changing of towels, like in a hotel.

Thank's again we really can recommend that villa

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion S
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect base for a family holiday in Crete”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Villa Caneva has been beautifully restored to make a fabulous holiday home.
We arrived late in the evening but Eleni was there with a friendly welcome and took us to the taverna in the next village for a late supper.
The villa is simple but perfectly presented. Both house and garden are immaculate, and every 3-4 days Eleni and her mother-in-law visited to clean and change sheets, bringing home-made cheese pies and eggs from their own chickens. The pool was cleaned too.
We found it difficult to drag ourselves away from the balcony (lovely view), pool and garden, but we enjoyed trips out, our favourites being to Arkadi Monastery, Rethymno Fortress & Old Town and to Souda beach.
We also recommend Gianiko's taverna in the village where we had a warm welcome and good food at very reasonable prices. They even produced a special cake when we celebrated our son's birthday.
Highly recommended for a laid back family holiday.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony, pool, craftmanship
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judeyork
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming restored stone villa in traditional village”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My son had booked this villa for a party of 5 of us plus 5 month old baby but due to illness he and his family were unable to travel so my husband and I had this amazing villa to ourselves. We were staying in Rethymnon before and after the week in the villa and as we were not hiring a car Kostas, the manager, very kindly offered to drive us to the villa and stop at a supermarket on the way for us to pick up shopping. We met with Kostas and by chance with Nikos, the owner, in a bar in Rethymnon, they are very friendly and helpful young men.

We were greeted by Elena, Nikos' wife who showed us around and explained how things worked. The villa is absolutely beautiful, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The kitchen has every utensil and appliance you could possibly need. There was a welcome basket of local produce waiting for us, as well as supplies of their own olive oil, vinegar and raki.

We spent most of our days around the pool and on the different terraces around the property. We walked into Prines, no more than 10 minutes, for shopping and to eat out in the evening, although there are regular buses from the village into Rethymnon. The walk is flat, if you take the road by the school, with a short, sharp incline up to the villa itself. There are also 2 bikes available at the property. There are a couple of tavernas in Prines, we ate at Giannikos a traditional taverna in the centre with a very welcoming owner, Giannis. There were also a couple of mini markets in Prines.

The villa is set in beautiful, extensive gardens and has views out over the owners' olive groves with distant sea view and towards the mountains. There are seating areas on different levels with a covered terrace outside the 2 double bedrooms. The bedrooms are boutique style with bedding and towels embroidered with the name of the villa, plenty of built in wardrobe space and ornate light fittings. The villa is spotlessly clean, Elena said that she would come back after 3 days to change the beds etc. When she did, she came bearing gifts of home made cheese pies and not only changed the beds but cleaned the house from top to bottom again.

To sum up, Villa Caneva is a beautiful charming villa enhanced by the owners' attention to detail and lots of thoughtful touches.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
352scottk
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“A beautiful villa in a peaceful location”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a fantastic villa not to be missed! It has recently been restored both externally and internally to create the perfect home away from home. It has everything you need for a small group (or family), and the owners are extremely hospitable, friendly and reliable.

Despite it's tranquil and quiet surroundings, everything you need is nearby (supermarkets, great bakeries, tavernas etc...). There are fantastic walks, runs and cycles to be had on the various paths around the area. Do rent a car - it's really a must for getting there, and for exploring this area of the Island (endless things to explore). Ask the locals for ideas - by far the friendliest people with great suggestions!

The pool, house and gardens are very well maintained; and lots for the kids to do outside.

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Crete and would highly recommend this house and area of Crete.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hosts hospitality and responsiveness
Liked least: no instruction manual for the house, but pretty easy to figure everything out eventually!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfred3...
Bordeaux, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful villa for your holidays in Crete”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It was a wonderful stay in the Villa at the end of august 2014. Everything you need is provided, even the gloves to prepare the barbecue or the olive oil in the kitchen ! All is very clean, and like the pictures on the website. Elene and Nikos welcome you and take care of you all along your stay. It's not far from the beaches and located in a little town where you will find all the necessary. The temperature is cooler than in Rethymno especially in the evening. All of us loved this stay, we spent more time in the villa than we thought because it was a great pleasure.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the villa
Liked least: The size of one of the bedroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R0bin76
Puteaux, France
1 review
“The perfect place”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had an excellent stay in the lovely and very charming house. Everything was perfect, it is so pretty, really well equiped and really clean. We really appreciated all you made to provide us with all the equipments for the baby, and how your organize the children room.
Thanks for your kindness, hospitality and the nice basketfilled with local specialities, we loved everything by the way.
Your service was quick and efficient when we needed, and it was also very nice meeting you.
Thanks you soo much for the homemade food, and the bio products from the garden.
Your travels advices were really usefull.
All the best

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elliews89
York, North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It's hard to know where to start with this stunning villa. Not only is the building in a fantastic location, it's absolutely gorgeous and the owners Elena and Nikos are kind, welcoming and very helpful.

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the villa, and we can honestly say it was the most beautiful accommodation we have ever stayed in - and we've been lucky enough to stay in some really lovely places. The villa itself is perfect for all types of families and groups. We visited with teenagers, who equally loved the villa. There's plenty of room to kick back and relax, and the speedy wifi was appreciated by Chay (17) and Daniella (19)!

As for my partner and I, the villa was ideal. We had everything we needed to keep everyone entertained, from the fab BBQ to the squeaky clean pool and more. The villa is lovingly restored and boasts stunning original features and exposed stone, it's also beautifully furnished, decorated and absolutely spotless!

As for our hosts, Elena and Nikos - the hospitality they showed really took us by surprise. They couldn't do enough for us; dropping in homemade treats such as cheese pies and honey (made from their own goats milk), fresh eggs from their chickens, and cinnamon cookies, made my Elena, not to mention their own olive oil, wine and raki. They also treat us to a meal at a local tavern on our arrival - making us feel very welcome and arming us with some insider tips on the best places to visit.

The location of the villa itself is well placed for exploring both the North and South of the stunning island of Crete. We would highly recommend hiring a car, so you can explore the island as much as possible (and there's plenty of parking space, with a very secure electronic gate system - despite the area being very safe). We explored a good chunk of the Island and thoroughly enjoyed Elfonisi (great for families with small kids), Balos (Chay and Daniella loved) and a raft of other stunning beaches around the island.

The villa is also just a five minute drive from Rethymnon, so eating out isn't a problem - and for those that enjoy a drink, taxi's are available to and from the town. In addition to this there are two good taverns in Prines village itself and a couple more in the villages adjacent (only a two minute drive away). The food is gorgeous and a snitch, in the villages we found we were paying on average around 50euros for a three course meal for four. In the city, it's about three times the price, and the quality isn't as good.

We would highly recommend this villa, and hope that we are lucky enough to return one day too. A huge thank you to Elena and Nikos once again. A holiday to remember!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything, what's not to like. The owners, the location, the villa, the pool, the BBQ!
Liked least: We wouldn't change a thing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing