We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great villa with the best care we have ever...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Aphrodite

Villa Aphrodite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Aphrodite
The swimming pool at daylight The children's pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Villa Aphrodite
The swimming pool at daylight
The children's pool
Villa Aphrodite
The children's playground
The garden
The entrance to the villa
The new stone-built barbeque
The table tennis
The first verandah
The second verandah
The swimming pool  area
The facade of the villa
The second master bedroom
The first bathroom with jacuzzi
The first master bedroom
The bathroom for people with special needs
The bathroom with people for special needs
The kitchen
The dining room
The living room
Dining al-fresco
The third bedroom
Aerial photo of the villa
Aerial photo of the villa
Aerial photo of the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Prines, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
juliarezn...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“A great villa with the best care we have ever had: we felt like at home”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location is great and the view from the villa is spectacular: sea and snowy mountains! The villa has everything you need, we are a family with two children (3.5 and 9 years old) and have not missed anything. The villa is very suitable for families with small children. We enjoyed the big garden, playground for the kids and, of course, the table tennis games. The service (laundry, cleaning, etc.) was just the best we had so far: we arrived late Saturday and found lots of treats and in the fridge everything you needed for breakfast. Thanks to Stella, Roula, Mary and Demitris! We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunningly Perfect”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We arrived at the villa to the smell of homemade & warm moussaka which was a lovely touch. The villa was spotlessly clean and was cleaned regularly throughout our stay as was the pool, almost daily (very quietly at 7am so as not to interrupt or disturb any swimming time!). The family extended the friendliest welcome you could ever imagine putting themselves out to ensure our every need was catered for even when things arose during the holiday they would visit at short notice. We have never experienced such attentive, kind people who treat this not just as a business and you as a customer but treat you with the care they would their own family. I cannot emphasise enough what a wonderful stay we had due to their attention to detail and especially the kindness to my disabled son whose needs were more than met by the disabled facilities at the villa. I would highly recommend this beautiful villa to anyone wishing to visit. You won't find better.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and the care that we were shown
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole B
Germany
1 review
“It was wonderful”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It was a great vacation. We were the third time at Villa Aphrodite and were again very spoiled. A big thank you to Stella and her family. All are very welcoming, the house invites you to relax. We will come back in any case.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gershonco...
Herzliya, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Cretan Paradise”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just spent the most wonderful month at Villa Aphrodite,so wonderful that we don't want to leave.Unfortunately somebody else is booked to move in immediately so we have no choice but to pack our bags and hand over the keys to the amazing Sofoulakis family.This villa offers everything you need for the perfect holiday,whether for just a couple or a large family.On top of the first class accommodation,the hospitality of our hosts,and all the surrounding activities,combined to give us a true Cretan Paradise ..

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Dear Gershon and Josanne,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We have known each other for a few years and you always choose our villa for your holidays. We are grateful to you for your choice of our villa. We are really happy to have guests like you. You know that we appreciate you a lot and we consider you as best friends! We will see you again next August!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve3312...
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Villa in a private, peaceful location”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

When we started our villa search, we had a tough list of requirements to meet. We were looking for a villa where we could relax, somewhere where our 3 children could swim and play (and make a bit of noise without disturbing others), where we could enjoy the views and explore this beautiful island with relative ease. Villa Aphrodite was perfect! The location is quiet and private without feeling too isolated. It is a short drive to many of the islands beautiful beaches. The nearest tavernas, local shop and butcher are in Prines with a good bakery and larger stores in Astipopolou. It is also well located for Rethymnon with its pretty harbour and good selection of restaurants, shops and nightlife if needed. The villa is well equipped and there are different seating areas around the property, allowing you to eat and drink in the sun or the shade, depending on the mood. In the evening, it was as much fun to eat at the villa as it was to try the local tavernas and restaurants and we made good use of the pizza oven and the BBQs and really enjoyed the stunning sunsets. Stella and her lovely family are amazing hosts and made sure our stay was really special. The villa is spotlessly clean and the pool is cleaned daily before you wake up. We are very much looking forward to returning again next year.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueQ3785I...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Villa Aphrodite has everything you need for a great family holiday. Very comfortable accommodation, lovely swimming pool, great garden with play area for the young ones and plenty of places to sit and relax in both shade and sun. The family who own the villa are very friendly and hospitable without being intrusive. They provided us with some wonderful home cooked Cretan food. Can't express how much we all enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend the villa.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Absolutely lovely. The drive to the villa up the steep potholed road was a bit hairy, but as soon as we got through the gate we knew we had made the right decision! The pool and barbecue areas are stunning and inside does not dissapoint either. There was fresh made mousaca waiting for us and a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge too!

The villa manages to feel like home the second you walk in, and the proximity to the supermarket and local shops meant that we did not feel the need to leave at all the week we were there, except to go to the wedding which was the reason for us bring there in the first place.

The owner and her small crew came to clean the villa on the Monday, but this no real inconvenience at all, and they were extremely pleasant.

I would certainly recommend this villa to anyone, and we are thinking of returning again, or maybe trying the nearby villa artemisia owned by the same people, in the future.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing