We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

All Inclusive is not usually our choice but the cost of this entire package was less than 2 flights to Cyprus (our preferred holiday destination). Considering the state of Greece and its people at the moment, the staff of this hotel are doing an excellent job. Some of them told us they would be out of work once the season ends. It amazed us how they managed to stay calm amid all the ill-mannered people (and there were a lot!) who were staying there.
The hire car sat in the hotel car park all week as the roads were a mess; there was no need to go anywhere as the beach and the weather were perfect. As far as "standard" rooms go ours was excellent; large, airy, large bathroom, big roof terrace complete with clothes hanger so there was no need to throw wet swimsuits and towels over the balcony. It was typical of a hotel built in the sixties, today's modern hotel rooms are much smaller.
The food was what we expected for an all-inclusive package. Lots of choice, excellent salads but the meat element was rubbish. However, for people who do not normally eat 3 meals a day we managed to gain rather a lot of weight! I have to say it was nice to get home to decent bottle of wine.
So, after our vey hectic summer it was the perfect place to unwind and personally I found the beach one of the best I have visied anywhere in Europe.

Room Tip: Must have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Rosemary,

We would like to thank you for your comments and your extensive feedback!

Rest assured that our only goal is to offer integrated and memorable quality vacations to all of our guests. We always take great pride of our services but at the same time we keep our ears open and evaluate all comments in order to process them and of course improve every detail of our services and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Full congratulations to all the staff at the Aquis Pelekas Beach Hotel in Corfu you truly made our Holiday sensational.

On booking in we were told that our room is not yet vacated and for now would we mind using a temporary room for 1 night in repayment they gave us a complimentary meal in the Al-a-Cart restaurant (which is normally chargeable) who really looked after us. The first room was basic but hey it was just one night only so hey ho.

The following day after lunch we were taken to our new room (wow is the only word I could describe it) very clean and the view was amazing, our balcony looked out onto miles of beach and sea, incredible, we watched the sun set which on its own was picturesque.

Reading some of the negative comments on here we were a little concerned and feared the worse but we didnt need to, it was an awesome holiday.

There was a slight smell in some area of the hotel but it had disappeared by the following day, the hotel room was very spacious, clean and had daily housekeeping.

The food was simular through out the week, but always had a fantastic variety of salads, fruit, local cuisine, as well as the pork, beef and chicken, vegetables and of course the usual chips. The deserts consisted of cheesecakes, mouse style deserts and for course the fruit selection was limited, nectarines, organges, apples, kiwi and bananas.

Local wines and beers were on tap, the only downer is the half pint glasses for the beer, as soon as I touched down back in England I was screaming for a pint of lager, it could be something the hotel could improve. They have a plastic glass policy poolside which is totally understandable but again it was half pints, I am not a big drinker so wasnt too much of a problem but was frustrating getting up all the time for another half a pint on a night when you could have just relaxed with a pint. We travelled to Menorca last year and they served large beers there in big glasses it was awesome 2 of those sorted me out on a night just fine :)

Hotel staff were exceptionally friendly everyone, from reception to restaurant they could not do enough for you, a tremendous asset to the hotel and aquis resorts.

The hotel is situated right on the beach front, there is a bar hexagon shaped to the left as you look out of your sea view balcony, this we found to be extremely expensive, 3 halves of coke and a small bottle of Heineken cost us £13.40 euros, quite pricey!! and the staff were not falling over themselves to assist you.

The resort was very much shutting down when arrived, the village of Pelekas is a short walk up the mountain (rather challenging walk) but your rewarded with the best views you could imagine. The village was pretty much closed for the season I was hoping to find a Taverna that could give me a large glass of beer (I cant believe i climbed a mountain and still came back empty handed) :)

Flys, Wasps and the weather was a little disappointing but this is not the hotels fault, oh and the mozzies wow they are tenacious, even the air con didnt kill them and their bites itch for england.

Would we go back, yes but in a more busier period as there would be more to do.

Well done again to everyone at the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

To start with we had difficulty finding the Hotel. With a hire car from the Airport I had obtained Google map directions to the hotel but with the roads and signposting on Corfu being what they are we spent some time finding the right road down. However half way down the road was closed and obviously had been for some years - bad directions from Google. We eventually got there by following the road uphill to Pelekas and then turning off left by the big pink house on the hairpin bend. Then you have to turn left at the small T junction.
Finally arrived in the perfect idyllic location. Very large room with sitting area and sea view, long way up from the restaurant and beach but it kept us fit, there is a cliff rail car to get you up and down if you want but it still leaves some steps and slopes to negotiate.
Lovely shallow sandy beach with crystal clear water and plenty of sun beds, although you have to pay 5eu a day for these, plus decent beach showers. Some pedalos and canoes for hire and ringos if you like that sort of thing.
Restaurant and food superb and the service and staff were all spot on. Wasps in abundance but basically not a real problem if you don't have any hang-ups about them.
Thoroughly recommend, especially good for families with young children. Hope to go back again if the deal is right!

Room Tip: Must be a room with sea view otherwise your terrace is just a sunless pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rockinggoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Idyllic location, but little difficult to find if you do your own transfer, but you can never get lost its an island, you need a car or you are stuck on site unless you take little bus up hill. Perfect if all you want to do is chill. Lovely Island, Staff that are very helpful, food in abundance which has huge choice, but gets a little wearing after a week. Too much. Bad points, gym was very poor, bit of an odour if the wind was blowing the wrong way, but hey its Greek drains. Wasps were rife but more interested in the daylight hours in your food. Otherwise for children and families perfect, perfect beach and sea. Would be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gobbsmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good holiday. Entertainment was industrious and was led by a very likeable Italian lad who had a rather unusual appraoch....but we liked it!

Food was OK and rooms adequate. Views and beech are the big plus.We hired a car but nervous drivers might not find the roads relaxing.

Through no fault of the Hotel there was poor weather but this led to frequent power cuts in the rooms. Mosquitos and wasps were a nuisance and we were well bitten by the end of our break! The occasional smell of sewage is most unfortunate.

Staff were very kind but I think pretty exhausted. They are remarkable people considering the financial situation Greece faces that includes their apparent wage cuts (plus of course some of the hideous guests that they must suffer). I wish them all well and look forward to seeing them again one day x

Room Tip: Insist on a see view. The view from our room on arrival was partially obstructed by a roof from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkHughesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed in October gr8 rooms gr8 food awesome location. Entertainment team where awesome gr8 with kids and put a show on every night as well as play games and activities durning the day can't fault them one bit. Only thin I would say is the road down to the hotel was a bit on the shady side but well worh it when u got down alive lol. Would defenetly go back and highly recommend it *****

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ryzer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Returned home on the 18/10/2012 my wife and I and our 5 year old daughter.was a great relaxing holiday a little out of the way but good.i would like to say a big thank you to the hotel doctor as my wife became I'll and was treated great.Also to the hotel manager for my wife and daughters birthday treats. All in all value for money we paid

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnny12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelekas
3.3 mi away
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
7.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
5 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,456 reviews
6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,438 reviews
5.2 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Pelekas Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Pelekas Monastery

Address: Pelekas Beach, Pelekas 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Pelekas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Price Range: $85 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor Pelekas Monastery 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magical location, upon one of the best beaches of Corfu, Kontogialos Beach, the journey of your dreams is illuminated by the famous Greek sun and has the smell of the sea breeze. Luxurious comfort, top services and exclusive facilities compose a complete hospitality experience for every member of the family, in Mayor Pelekas Monastery. Our hotel consists of 189 rooms, most of which have a panoramic view of the Ionian Sea and the majestic sunset of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayor Pelekas Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor Pelekas Monastery Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing