We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ok for the money”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Reception staff were very good and polite when we checked in , the porter took our cases to our room for us unfortunately it wasnt a sea view room but we wasnt to bothered to begin with . The room was very nice big and a comfy bed the only downside was not much light got in to the room so we spent the night there and upgraded to a sea view room the next day, Totally worth it (and very cheap to do ) New room much better fantastic views and larger .

The food is ok not good but not bad it does get a bit repetitive after a few days
The pool area had a real bad smell of sewage (not constant usally got a waft every 5 mins or so) so we chose to sun bathe on the decking just along from the pool and on the beach.

The drinks were ok for AI although beer had no alcohol what so ever
Entertament team were ok except for one guy who thought he was gods gift to women .

This hotel is good for the view and for the sunbathing but dont expecting top notch food you will be disappointed

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea view room and if you dont upgrade to one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
We would like to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments with regards to your stay in Aquis Pelekas Beach. We are glad to read that in general terms you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased that you eventually liked your room. Even if our guests are not satisfied with their initial booking, we always try to assist them in order to fulfill all their wishes.

As far as your comments over the food, please rest assured that we have informed our F&B management team. We are already working hard for the preparation of the new season and we are in the process of forming our new menus, taking always into consideration all of our guests comments via our hotel questionnaires as well as all comments via various social media.

With regards to your comments over the sewage, rest assured that we do operate a biological treatment system in our resort in order to completely eliminate the above issue and our engineering department is constantly working towards this direction.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comments. Rest assured that we are constantly working in the direction of improving our services in order to offer even higher resort experiences. We are certainly looking forward to welcome you once again in one of our resorts in Crete, Kos or Corfu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    404
    196
    67
    50
See reviews for
475
580
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Lets start with your not at the bottom of a hill its a mountain!! its a nice beach thats on your doorstep,food seemed ok but my wife & son did get very ill along with other guests we spoke to,Staff were rude,hotel had several power cuts which with a baby was a nightmare,just very restricted if you like to venture out the hotel nothing close what so ever! ppl jus looked bored cause there isnt much to do (beach,lunch,beach,diner,uh Bed! Boring!! Were genrally easly satisfied but this place did really fustrate us,also dont forget everything is pretty expensive with greece bang in trouble.If your happy to do pretty much nothing at the bottom of a mountain then this the place for you, wouldnt go corfu full stop

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RGMarsh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are truly sorry to read that your holiday experience was not up to your expectations. Certainly our ultimate goal is to satisfy each of our guests and provide them personalized services as well as quality services.

Certainly the issue of the hotel location is quite subjective and personal. Aquis Pelekas Beach is promoted by our group more like a relaxing atmosphere appropriate not only for romantic getaways but also for families. We always encourage our guests to advice us prior their booking so they can select one of our hotels according to their requirements. In this direction, we always advertise all our facilities and services in order for our guests to be fully updated with regards to their expectations and what to expect from each of our hotels.

We are very sorry to read that your wife and son got sick. We always provide immediate assistance to all of our guests in any case of injury or illness. However, we would really appreciate if you were more careful with your phrasing with regards to your comments over other guests as your review can certainly influence other readers, in a misleading direction. If there was an actual problem, the extent of it among our guests would be severe, and this incident did not occur. Aquis Pelekas Beach complies with all safety standards and specifically we have audited by Check Safety First and Cristal HACCP consultants and applied standards as required and developed by the Cristal Program.

We are mostly concerned over your comments with regards to our staff. We always accept compliments with regards to their professionalism as well as their support towards each guest personally and your comments have troubled us. We will certainly investigate this issue in depth as our staff behavior is one of our core milestones with regards to our company policy and of course your statements are not with accordance with our standards.

We would also like to apologize for the power cuts in the area of our hotel. We do have a power generator which is on use; however some of our facilities unfortunately cannot be in use.

We would like to thank you for your feedback. Rest assured that all your comments are and will be further discussed with our management team. We really hope that we will have the chance to welcome you once again in one of our resorts, despite your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The best holiday ever. Nice and clean hotel, very friendly staff,( my daughter loved all of them) Animation team really impressed!! Very good food and lots of choices. I will definitely come back here again!! Truly recommend !!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Aaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Food was truly awful. No variety at all. Same food day and night. Dreadfull wine.
If you're unlucky to have already booked this hotel, under no circumstances drink tap water or ice. You will regret it for weeks.
Also it's in middle of nowhere, with unfriendly and unhelpfull staff.
There's nothing positive to say, sorry:(

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Foodie_Az6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKonstantopoulou, Marketing Department, Aquis Hotels and Resorts at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
It appears from your writings that you didn’t enjoy your vacation and we are certainly saddened to receive such feedback from our guests. All of your comments have been reported accordingly to our management team, especially upon our opening of the season. However I would mainly like to emphasize on your comments over tab water as well as over our unfriendly staff.

With regards to your comments over the tab water we would like to reassure you that all of our systems are monthly being examined via various controls. Food and water safety is an extremely important issue for us and of course is our first priority. Throughout the season we are being audited via Cristal HACCP consultants applied standards, as required and developed by the Cristal Program. Through this auditing system, Aquis Pelekas Beach has been certified with the essential degree of compliance.

Concerning your comments over our staff, it comes as a great surprise to us, as we always receive compliments over our customer service approach. We will by all means look into this matter further and in depth. We are extremely cautious when it comes to such issues and this is the main reason that we run training management programs throughout our years of operations.

We are really sorry that you left with such an impression from your vacation in Corfu. We really hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again, in order to experience all the improvements that are being made year to year mainly after our guests feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife booked our holiday at very short notice in May 2011. We had never been on an all inclusive holiday before,as , although I am Scottish I did not fancy a week with a hotel full of inebriated Brits. On arrival at the hotel we were met by very accommodating reception and portering staff.Yes the hotel is isolated but we found the staff,food,rooms and location to be beyond reproach.The Manager could not be more helpful, if he is not at reception then he will be on his laptop at the pool bar , or having his lunch in the restaurant, or possibly serving
your lunch to you.We paid 750 pounds for a weeks all inclusive holiday for 2 ,including flights and airport parking. I really wish that the people who complain about his hotel were a little more objective, and look at the money they have paid for their holiday.If it is cheaper than you expect then there is usually a downside,ie remote location,Greek 5 star will never equate to UK 5 star,so be realistic,expect that what you pay for is what you will get. My wife and I would go back to Pelekas Beach Hotel tomorrow,regards John and Trish Anderson

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
46 Thank johnallananderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Aquis Pelekas Hotel is situated at the bottom of a very steep hill overlooking a very nice beach. The hotel is first class, rooms very clean, large balcony overlooking the beach. In order to get to the restaurant you have to go down about 70 steps from top to bottom or take a vernicular cariage which runs up and down. The food we had was very good. A massive selection of salad type food every day plus different cold meats and also a selection of hot food again different every night and a choice of sweets. The meals are served buffet style so you can go up as many times as you like. As we were all inclusive, all the drinks were on hand at any time of the day up to 11pm at night.
The swimming pool was very cold when we were there ( Oct 2011 ) but the sea was warmer.
The hotel is quite isolated and away from the nearest village and after a few days we felt we needed to get out and about so hired a car. There is a bus service which runs from the top of the hill, but it is a steep climb.
If you are not put off by the steep climb you can walk to the village where there are a few bars to visit and also a stunning vista of the island.
We enjoyed our stay immensely, the weather was good, the hotel was very comfortable, the beach was very sandy and good for swimming and although there was not a lot of nightlife close by it was a good place to just sit back and relax.
We would go again.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade to a room facing the sea, it is worth it just to watch the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank SaxmanTorquayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Well when we had climbed down the mountain that is the entrance room, we were very impressed lovely setting and lovely view.

There was a smell in the air, but you get that in Greece sometimes, if only it had not lasted all holiday.

What can I say canteen food, which was the same most night, rude entertainment staff that got drunk and abusive every night, a hotel management that were frankly not interested as it was coming to the end of season, a broken down refuse truck blocking an entrance and exit adding to the increasing smell.

Shabby rooms, apparently they were recently renovated, when in the 1980's I saw no evidence of this, dirty rooms and toilets, our toilet bin was not emptied for 4 days - as you can imagine adding to the smell in the room.

Constant power cuts without warning

I've stayed in better Travelodge's

Oh and it's a 5star hotel more like a 3 star

Room Tip: Book another hotel nearby if you really want to stay in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Litlemissminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelekas
7.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,173 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
6.0 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
19.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,314 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Pelekas Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Pelekas Monastery

Property: Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Address: Pelekas Beach, Pelekas 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Pelekas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor Pelekas Monastery 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway or the most entertaining family vacation , the ultimate destination is Mayor Pelekas Monastery. In a magical location , upon one of the best beaches of Corfu, Kontogialos Beach , the journey of your dreams is illuminated by the famous Greek sun and has the smell of a sea breeze. Luxurious comfort , top services and exclusive facilities compose a complete hospitality experience for every member of the family, in Mayor Pelekas Monastery. Our hotel consists of 181 rooms , most of which have a panoramic view of the Ionian Sea and the majestic sunset of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mayor Pelekas Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor Pelekas Monastery Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing