We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gracious hotel in a wonderful position”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Levant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Levant
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A gracious hotel in a wonderful position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent a great 2 days here on top of a conical hill, just next to "The Kaiser's Throne" The hotel used to be a large villa and is family owned. The public rooms are cool and nicely furnished - there is interesting art on the walls and it is far removed from the faceless world of hotel chains. Staff were very pleasant throughout. Meals are served on the magnificent terrace, facing west to enjoy the sunsets. The food was very good indeed but there seemed to be no desserts. The room was air conditioned and enjoyed an excellent view. There is a swimming pool in the grounds. We were sorry to leave the Hotel Levant.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have a much better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deereleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    41
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed sans children at the Levant for 7 nights at the end of July 2013. I was determined to stay in Pelekas as I had fond memories of a long stay in the village during my backpacking days in the early 90's. I tossed up whether to stay down near the beach but eventually chose the Levant mainly based on it's location high above the village and I am glad we did.

There is a certain faded charm to the hotel which other reviewers have noted and which I appreciated. My memories of the Greek islands tend toward the simplistic and on this, and our trip to the Cyclades in 2011, I deliberately sought out hotels which evoked that simple, rustic charm. I travel to Greece for the climate, the history, the beaches and the food and not to have a five star holiday (I would usually choose that sort of hotel for a city stay, for example).

Having said all that, the Levant did not disappoint at all. Our spacious room on the second floor faced the sea and sunset from the balcony, a truly lovely and magical view at anytime of the day. It was simply appointed, the bed was very firm as others have noted but my bad back did not suffer from this, the bathroom was clean and functional. The room was cleaned every day and clean linen provided. We were not in the room during the day as we spent all our time out at beaches or driving around the island, but appreciated coming home to a cool and dim room thanks to the shutters and air con. The public spaces of the hotel had great character, old furniture and lovely prints of the local area. The hotel was not super busy and we were not disturbed by other guests at night. In fact it seemed like the sort of hotel where people would return again and again. Although there is a restaurant and bar downstairs and our balcony overlooked the same side of the hotel, we were never disturbed by noise. I fell asleep one night to the background murmur of conversation in greek and woke each morning to a rooster somewhere in the valley.

The breakfast included in the room rate was plentiful and typical (fruit, a particularly nice yoghurt, various cold meats and cheeses, breads, cereal, cookies and cakes, bacon and hard boiled eggs) and it was quite lovely to eat in the cool of the morning on the terrace outside the breakfast room.

We had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant (although I was quite reluctant to do so after reading the multitude of bad reviews here) and I was pleasantly surprised. Note that we ordered only the greek dishes so perhaps that makes a difference, but the saganaki, grilled pork, greek salad and corfiot meatballs we ordered were simple and tasty. I would have happily eaten there again but our 7 nights disappeared quickly and we had a list of places to try. The restaurant is very well patronised by people who come to the top of Pelekas to view the sunset.

We found all the staff to be pleasant and cordial at all times.

Again, as other reviewers have noted, the grounds could do with a little upkeep but honestly it is such a lovely spot, so peaceful and the views so expansive that long grass and overgrown shrubbery did little to detract from it all.

We hired a car through the hotel and had no problems at all with it during our stay. We did walk to Pelekas beach and back on our first day without the car and while doable it is a punishing uphill walk home and not for the unfit! Definitely worth hiring a car, there are so many wonderful beaches and villages to visit. We especially loved the mountain/inland villages which are completely unspoiled, charming and with such friendly locals.

We would definitely stay at the Levant again: it's in a great position, is a walk to the lovely untouristy village of Pelekas, has heaps of charm and character and was everything we wanted and needed for a Greek island holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacq67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hidden treasure is the most romantic place I have stayed.it is picture perfect .located on the top of the village of pelekas,20 mins from Corfu airport.the hotel is sunflower yellow and has 360 degree views of the island.It is a family run bussiness and has been since built.the drive up the winding road through the lovely village of Pelekas.on arrival the sunset restaurant beckons you to sit ,have a cool drink and take in the splendour of thewest coast of Corfu .mountains lush with olives trees greet the turquoise sea.beaches of Pelekas,Glyfadia and agios Gordios.walk to Kaisers Throne the eastern view of Albania and Corfu port .What a setting, the hotel hasterraces for breakfast and dinner.the sunsets are amazing.Rooms have
Their own terrace,and are clean and neat,beds are very firm.The place has magic and charm,the staff are excellent .interesting eclectic paintings and furniture.Delicious food.We came for a week and stayed three weeks.Came back this year again all the way from Australia .the village is welcoming and great choice of restaurants andbeautiful sandy beaches five minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 774Megs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Levant Hotel. The room was spacious and well fitted out with racks to put our bags on. The little room terrace overlooked a terrific view and had a table and chairs to sit at. The view from the terrace restaurant was glorious, even when watching a storm descend instead of the usual sunset. The menu was good and reasonably priced, with plenty of local dishes. We found the staff to be very helpful and pleased to explain dishes that we were not familiar with.
The only criticism I have was that the bed was very firm!
The hotel is located right next to the Kaiser's Throne view point, with sweeping views over the east of the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a cute little hotel, run by a family - so has a warm and friendly atmosphere. Rooms are basic, some would say 'shabby chic', but always clean and comfortable. Beds are very hard though. Breakfasts are simple, but delicious, and you can eat out on the patio overlooking the sea - breathtaking. The restaurant meals and selection of good Greek wines was excellent, along with the attentive friendly service - and again overlooking the valleys and sea. Sunsets are romantic, as the sun sets behind the local mountain. To wake up each morning with views across the valley, to Corfu town and across the Mediterranean Sea to Greece and Albania is unforgettable. We walked into Pelekas most days and enjoyed local fair, and loved discovering all the delightful nooks and crannies and walking paths between the houses. If you want a hotel away from all the noisy, rowdy, drunken 'tourists' - this is it. Loved this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side, facing Corfu town - morning sun and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The trail passes through the hilltop village of Pelekas, and the hotel is a few winds of a tiny road above the village. Our bedroom balcony looked out over densely green wooded slopes down to the sea and to the mountain of Agios Georgiou up which every Easter the locals process to the 13th century shrine. The hotel is family run and very friendly. You eat your meals on one of two terraces ,and the food is simple but delicious. For anyone wanting a quiet few days rest from the heat of the trail, to laze around a swimming pool and sip cool Retzina of an evening in perfect serenity , this is a place to be .
It is well away from the noise of the beaches and the big resorts. The company were hikers like us who like a little comfort,and tourists in search of local interest like, the many tiny churches that nestle in those hills.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, and there is a good collection of watercolour colours and oils ,many depicting local , on the staircases and in the lounge.
The mattresses tend to be hard,like a futon, which pleased me but not my wife. There was plenty of drawers and wardrobe space for our clothes.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony where you can sit in the early evening to enjoy the breezes and the Georg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is located at the very top of the village of Pelekas, which is roughly half-way up the west coast of Corfu (sufficiently far away from 99% of rowdy British holidaymakers!). The location means the hotel is rewarded with some of the best views of the breathtaking sunset on the whole island. Pelekas village and the tavernas and restaurants it offers is a medium-length walk away.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly - especially the guys on Reception who don't seem to mind what time you roll back after a day at the beach to collect your key! They will organise car hire for you - we've done this both times to save hassle and you really do need a car - as far as I'm aware the beach is not a walkable distance.

The bedrooms are light and airy - large bed with a canopy, double wardrobe, aircon, TV (who watches TV on holiday?!), good-sized bathrooms (with HUGE mirrors :-D) and doors opening onto your own balcony. The beds are on the hard side, but the view from the open balcony doors more than makes up for it. The hotel very thoughtfully provides plug-in mosquito repellent, not that you really need it. The bedrooms also have fridges which are VERY useful - you can buy water to keep you going for a few days (without having to trek to the shop every day) and keep it cold.

The breakfast is pretty standard - cereal, coffee, tea, bread, feta... the best bit about breakfast is where you eat it: on a shady terrace at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool, olive groves and the sea. The restaurant attached to the hotel serves a pretty decent lunch and dinner, the main attraction being dinner in the evening when the sun is setting.

In my opinion, the best part of the hotel is the pool - on both previous trips we've visited in July and on both occasions, the pool was nearly empty all day, and the people who were there were very quiet - no screaming children, no bar, no adjacent holiday camp... perfect for tucking in to holiday fiction and a cold glass of Mythos!

My only 'complaint' is that if everyone keeps giving the hotel such good reviews, hoards of noisy people might start turning up and wanting to stay.... I guess we'll have to hope that doesn't happen.

(I'm writing this review before returning to the hotel for the third time and I can't wait to be back there... in the sun...!)

Room Tip: Pick one facing the sea - the view at sunset is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelekas
2.4 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelecas Country Club
Pelecas Country Club
#3 of 4 in Pelekas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.9 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
7.8 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Telesilla
Hotel Telesilla
#2 of 4 in Kontokali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levant

Property: Levant
Address: Pelekas 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Pelekas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Levant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Levant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Levant Pelekas, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing