We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely superb villa right on the coast”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Grand Avali

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Avali, overlooking blue-green crystal-clear seawater, our 'natural swimming pool'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Villa Avali, overlooking blue-green crystal-clear seawater, our 'natural swimming pool'.
Spacious roofed balcony overlooking the turquoise water of the peaceful cove below.
Dyning in style and great views ...
A spacious living room, boasts large glass doors to take full advantage of the stunning views.
No expense was spared in the construction and equipping of this lavish house.
Modern kitchen fully equiped with modern appliances.
Enjoy your breakfast !!!
Roofed BBQ on an enormous veranda providing an elegant backdrop for a special event
Outdoor furniture and dining area, overlooking the sea as well as the slopes of Mount Ainos.
Many sandy beaches to explore along the coast ...
Calm seas and blue sky. Greece.
Master bedroom 1 on the upper floor. All bedrooms are air-conditioned
A luxury you can afford !!! All rooms have phenomenal sea views.
Master bedroom 1 en suite bathroom.
All bedrooms on the ground floor open onto the back lawn and breathtaking, panoramic sea views
Master bedroom 2 on the ground floor with an walk in closet.
En suite bathroom of master bedroom 2.
Ping pong table in a playroom with sea views !!!
Bathroom for ground floor double bedrooms 3 & 4
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Karavados, Cephalonia, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Russian first
Any
English first
Mulange
London
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb villa right on the coast”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

All the good things that have been said in earlier reviews about this special place are true.

It truly did exceed our expectations which were already high having read the reviews. We were a large family group ranging in age from six to sixty plus and everybody thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

Upstairs is the spacious terrace with spectacular views over the sea towards Zante and inland towards Mount Ainos. The terrace gets sun just about all day and is equipped with recliners, table and chairs and a large umbrella to provide some shade. Spyros had raised the Union Jack alongside the Greek flag for us British guests which was a nice touch. There is a large barbecue with ample grill space for food for everyone. Barbecuing fresh fish from the market was a real highlight for us.

Inside is a well-equipped kitchen and spacious living area with TV, music equipment and a Play Station with assorted games that went down very well with the nine-year-old in our group. All windows and just about all doors have insect screens.

Along a corridor is a bathroom with shower, wash basin and toilet. Further along is a bedroom with its own terrace, again with insect screens on the sliding door.

Downstairs is a utility room, a bathroom (with bath with shower over), basin and toilet together with three bedrooms one of which has its own en-suite shower room and toilet. There is a games room with its own small fridge for keeping drinks cool.

Outside are extensive terraced gardens with lots of grass areas to relax on the recliners and plentiful garden furniture both in sun and shade. There is an outside shower near the house and a further one at the bottom of the path that leads to the sea. Lots of rosemary hedging to provide herbs for the barbecue and, when we were there, fruit trees with cherries, plums and lemons.

A real highlight was the football goal, badminton/volley ball net and table tennis table and associated equipment all of which got lots of use from our party.

The path to the sea leads to flat rocks for sunbathing with deep water swimming either using steps provided or just diving in. A couple of minutes walk along the rocks leads to the charming St Thomas beach with two tavernas. Bliss.

Kayaks and life jackets are provided for use in the sea and were very useful for paddling around to both St Thomas beach as well as a quieter beach further round the coast that we had to ourselves on every visit.

The villa was spotlessly clean on arrival and the quality of all furnishings and fittings was to a very high standard.

The villa just had a “wow factor” that is so rare. We concluded that it was the combination of lots of separate public spaces, games and entertainment equipment and proximity to the sea that contributed to the overall experience.

We couldn’t praise it enough and hope to be back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harpd16
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Nice you Will Not Want to Leave”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I would unreservedly recommend you book this villa. We stayed here as a group of 8 ( 6 adults and two teens) for a two week period and are already thinking about a return visit. Spyros the owner is a super guy and was there to greet us, get us settled in and help us out as and when needed. He can e very proud of his property as it is really one of a kind being a lovely property in an amazing location.

The property is very well equipped and includes four bedrooms ( 2 had a large double bed and 2 and two twins) with an additional room with a sofa bed and three bathrooms. It comfortably accommodated our 8 people. the house is really well equipped with the kitchen having all mod cons, all bedrooms having (much needed) AC, excellent laundry facilities etc etc. everything was excellent quality and we felt we were at a hotel

While the interior is great with ample room and excellent facilities the exterior is truly the star of the show. We loved the huge deck space for lounging, dining and BBQ's , the lovely grounds, play areas including volleyball, table tennis and then the direct access to crystal clear waters, the most beautiful natural pools and St Thomas beach. It is all breathtaking.

As for downsides, only really two. 1. The internet access when we were there was very flaky, I understand this was a temporary issue but I would recommend a back plan if ( god forbid) you need to check work email. 2. The place is so nice you won't want to leave and explore the rest of Kefalonia! We went around the island for a few days but were always looking forward to coming back to this gem f a property - a little piece of paradise

My advice: Book up and you will not regret it.

Thanks Spyros and we hope to return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and outside areas
Liked least: Internet access
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The home was beautiful and equipped with everything you could possibly want . The beach and surrounding nature was incredible. Spyros is a wonderful host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezra2015
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hoilday/Wedding/Honeymoon perfection in one villa Grand Avali !!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing beautiful Villa !!

Holiday fantastic stay at Villa Avali amazed the minute we walked through the door!!

Spyros was there to greet us , with a lovely home made olive oil, Jam ,coffee!!!! etc
The villa offered all that you could want for and more !! The photo's don't do it justice - it was SuperFantastic blown away by the breathe taking views - the surrounding grounds Kayaking, table tennis, badminton, volley ball - Fishing attempted !! swimming and lots lots more........
The villa- well amazed loved it- wanted to swap with Spyros. If I win the lottery ill be calling you up Spyros !! will definitely be back xxx
Thanks for letting us stay my family & friend's that stayed else where on the island where also blown away by the beauty & size.
Had our wedding at villa Avali and my god Beautiful couldn't have wanted it anywhere else the perfect villa / amazing wedding & honeymoon .........shame the fairy tale had to end x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything- could not fault a thing
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MardleyMa...
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Night Manager living - at B&B prices. Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

There is good and then there is truly excellent. And above that you have Villa Grand Avalli.
Perfect swimming in beautiful, crystal clear azure sea.
Panoramic views to die for. Private. Secluded. Immaculately fitted out. Kayaking, badminton, table tennis. Satellite TV, tastefully furnished, incredible incredible value.
Family group of 7 for a week May into June. Not one malcontent - not a single criticism. just feel incredibly fortunate to have stumbled across this place.
This villa genuinely feels like the one you would buy if you won the lottery. And yet you stay here for less than £400 per couple. Amazing. Champagne lifestyle for lemonade rental.
And to close. What happen in a crisis? Our BMW hire car burnt its clutch out travelling the 20 minutes from the airport. No it really did. Spyros stayed with me - having phoned the car rental company - keeping me informed of every development. Within an hour Georges & Stavros arrived with a 52km on the clock brand new replacement. This would NOT have happened had Spyros not gone the extra mile. Phenomenal place - phenomenal man.
Without a millisecond's hesitation. Book this tiny piece of Aegean heaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the natural sea pool nature provides
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thank you for your excellent review!
It is really an inspiration for our effort to improve and to welcome each holidaymaker as our guest.
Spyros Stamatelatos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samjay7
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I stayed here with friends for a week from 6th September this year.
The location is absolutely stunning and the villas position certainly makes the best use of this!!
The view from the balcony is incredible.
The villa itself is immaculate and so well equipped.
Even the bedsheets and beach towels were excellent quality.
We literally had everything we needed to hand and the owner, Spyros, allowed us to use the kayaks and canoes from the villa to paddle round the bay. He even equipped us with life jackets.
There are 3 tavernas within 3 minutes walk of the villa which we walked to and one morning floated round to on the rubber rings we acquired from a shop in Argostoli. Admittedly we may have still been a tad on the inebriated side from the previous night spent in Lassi.
A taxi will get you there for 30 euros per journey and Spyros will give you the number of the taxi guy.
Again absolutely excellent service.
The location, quality and customer service from the owner were so superb we have tried to re-book for next year but someone has already booked the dates we need.
If this wasn't the case, we would certainly not hesitate. It is quite honestly worth every penny!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Views. Cleanliness. Customer Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa by the sea”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Villa Grand Avali. The villa was extremely spacious and well equipped with beautiful views.
The location was perfect being right by the sea with a quiet area available to place sun beds. The surrounding area is generally quiet as well, but only a twenty minute drive away from the capital city of Argostoli.
Would definitely stay again!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing