We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade taste of Istria”
Review of Stari Podrum

Stari Podrum
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Momjan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Konoba (restaurant or tavern in Croatian) has a web site, link below. For some reason it has a "ch" (Switzerland) address. Not sure why. Well worth a visit. http://www.stari-podrum.ch/dobrodosli.html
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Homemade taste of Istria”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

It was a nice meal that we had on a hot summer day, so the shaded terrace was indeed a welcome sight, and the home wine was really refreshing.
Daily offer included home made pasta with typical seasonal "sugo" : chioce was between asparagus, truffles, and the autoctone beef- "boskarin".
Grilled meat and grilled vegetables were tasty and the portion was above the average. I liked that salad included only what was grown in the family vegetable plot, so you are very sure to eat only locally produced food.
Service was pleasant and helpful. Overall bill was reasonable, apart from the pasta with truffles, which was twice the cost of the meat, but truffles are known to be rather on the expensive side (and taste great !).
But it's a great place for a lunch or dinner, also suitable for families with kids, it is surrounded by a green lawn, and a small stream just nearby. A famous local wine producer is situated right nearby, so you can plan a visit too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    58
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“After a glass of wine...”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

...we had at the nearby Kozlović winery, we wanted something to eat something "home made" so we stopped at "Stari podrum". We started with asparagus soup, which was very creamy and fresh and proceeded with "pljukanci s boškarinom" (homemade Istrian pasta with sauce and meat from boškarin, Istrian cow). Everything was very tasty and the portions are very generous, while the meals weren't too spicy or aromatic, but just as they should be. We also had their slightly unusual tiramisu, with lady finger biscuits dipped in fruit juice and mascarpone with bits of seasonal forest fruit.
The staff was very friendly, I guess they are all one big family and you can meet up to four different generations in the restaraunt. Although we sat on the terrace (filled with flowers!), we went inside to see the swallow nest - full of singing baby swallows :)

TIP: Visit the nearby Kozlović winery, it is one of the best in Istria - try their wines or just enjoy the scenic view from their terrace!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Falkusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“special place”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

i was very impressed with place and quality of food........... i ll come back as soon as possible.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maximuss909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porec, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They tricked us!!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went at Stari podrum on labor day and made a reservation for ten people.We were late 10 minutes and then waited for the reserved table another 25 minutes.The waitress ignored us for almost half an our.While ordering we didn't specified the number of portions but we told them to bring us a little bit od everything.After three courses the boys were still hungry and we were very surprised after we saw the bill.There were much more portions counted on the bill than we actually had.They also counted the salads we ordered but that they never brought us.
The food was good but be careful when you go there in a larger group of people.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“TASTE THE BEST”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is our No1 place in Istra.Its the place when you feel like "at home".Marinka, mama Mira and Iris are doing the best they can and indded they are doing THE BEST!!!There is neither one dish that we didnt like it and also there is neither one dish taht we didnt had as we are regular guests here.The best way to explore their kitchen is just sit, taste and enjoy what Mira is offering that day:)If you wanna taste the best, visit Stari Podrum for sure!!To avoid stress with free Table, please call them for Reservation!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JASSYKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stari Podrum also viewed

 
Oprtalj, Istria
 

Been to Stari Podrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing