We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country dining”
Review of Stari Podrum

Stari Podrum
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Momjan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Konoba (restaurant or tavern in Croatian) has a web site, link below. For some reason it has a "ch" (Switzerland) address. Not sure why. Well worth a visit. http://www.stari-podrum.ch/dobrodosli.html
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Country dining”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stopped here on the recommendation of the Kozlovic winery, cellar door hand, which was just 'up the road'. It is a family run restaurant with a large wood fired oven in one corner. It was full to capacity inside and I was lucky to get a table which was reserved for about an hour later. The oven is used to cook some of the dishes. Very rustic. A plaque on the wall reveals that it received one hat from Gault -Millau. There was no menu. The waitress described some options. I readily accepted a local pasta served with white truffles. The serve was enormous, apparently her Mother thought it was for 2 people. I also ordered a large salad. The pasta was far too big a serve but it was so delicious that I just had to finish it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGDeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    57
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredibly unkind experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We heard about this place as a top restaurant in this part of Istra. Afer arriving at restaurant we greet and approach the first waitress. She ignored us not responding to our greet. After doing the same thing to other two stuff working there both of them ignored us. After standing there we felt unwelcome and went to other restaurant. Never heard that someone working at restaurant behaves like this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lblazecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“One of the top 5 experiences of all time”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thank you Marinka, Ingrid, and Mira for a wonderful experience. Also thank you New York Times for alerting us lucky people who happened upon the review (!) This wasn’t just our best meal in Croatia but one of the best 4 or 5 meals in my entire life.

My partner and I shared the boskarin beef (look it up online. It is only served in 40 restaurants in all of Croatia and is extremely tender and flavorful). It had white truffle sauce with shaved white truffles. Unbelievable! We also had the pasta dish with white truffles. Homemade al dente (to perfection) pasta and again an unbelievable sauce. Wonderful and gracious hosts in an unbeatable setting added to our experience. Lovely outdoor terrace (maybe with enough non-smokers coming you will have 2 sections someday?)

TIP: If you’re going from Ljubljana to Istria, STOP AT THIS RESTAURANT FOR LUNCH. You will be glad you did!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCNicolet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place was fantastic. Don't ask for a menu. Let your hosts decide. We ate bread, truffles, cheese, mushrooms, pasta, more truffles, beef filet, wine, beer, and had at least three rounds of rakija/grappa forced upon us (although we weren't complaining). The bill was tiny. Marinka and her mother, Ingrid (I think), were so nice and warm - and hilarious. Marinka was so great we still can't stop talking about what a fantastic experience it was. We stayed late into the night and she showed us old photos of the region and the winery next door. This restaurant is the food experience you dream of having when traveling abroad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayfoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbelievably wonderful meal”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

By far the best meal on our 2 week trip to Croatia. Not only was the place a charming house in the country (in Istria peninsula part of Croatia), but the owner/chef is a family who treats you like a guest family member. The highlight was the truffles -- just arrived that day were some incredible white truffles, and the prices (and some with black truffles) were -- by our big city USA standards -- unbelievably inexpensive. And all the food, service, and ambiance made this the best experience we had. (Just be warned though that smoking is allowed outside, and lots of smoking in Croatia).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cityguy140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stari Podrum also viewed

 

Been to Stari Podrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing