We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!! Gorgeous place, great food, perfect holiday”
Review of Caretta Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caretta Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were two families that stayed at the Caretta Beach Apartments in July 2013. We would like to thank Thea, Barbara, the family Kapsalakis and the whole team for their amazing hospitality.
As always the rooms were kept very clean and tidy. We had a really beautiful view over the sea. The kids loved the pool and there were plenty of comfortable sunbeds to relax on. The beach is just 6 steps down from the pool area. It is the perfect location! The food is delicious!
For those that want to cook: There is also small supermarket in walking distance; the selection is good, the prices are fair, the staff is friendly!
This was my fifth stay and as always Thea and Barbara did everything to make our holiday as enjoyable as possible, which is why we will return this year for another perfect holiday!
Thank you once again for a memorable stay and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family and friends

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here as a family of four. It is spartan, and a little tired. We stayed for a week in an upstairs two room apartment. The "kitchen" is really just a sink with a hotplate and the kitchen equipment was probably matched and complete about ten years ago...sad.

We like to book this category of accommodation - 1 or 2 bedroom apartments with kitchens - as we are on a long term trip around the world, but I wouldn't stay here again.

They have a kind of cafe, but really there is little choice other than what the cook is making for that meal LOL. I think they have a good profile in Germany as they do have staff who speak German, but that really isn't enough! On the website it looks like there is an inside cafe - it was closed up every day we were there. The cafe is just under a roof (no solid walls) up some stairs next to the pool, so it is windy and can be cold.

The hotel next door however is a different matter - Eanthia Village. We spent every day (yes - every day!) at the resort next door run by Cleo and her family - a magnificent pool (Caretta Beach's pool is small) and all day dining service and lovely staff. I only wish we had found it before booking Caretta Beach. Don't make the same mistake!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hungry_heads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Once arrived at Chania, called for instructions on how to get there. Thea, the hotel manager, said "... after the reeds, turn right. No signs, no road name". Suddenly I felt somewhat uncomfortable, till arrived.
Just follow the instructions and you will be rewarded. Beside the beach, a complex of self-catering apartments, with huge rooms and terraces. In absolute tranquility.
Very good service, clean rooms and genuine Greek products. All homemade, the breakfast, the coffee and the food (Board made ​​the previous day about "what's for dinner tomorrow").
The best we have seen in the last eight years, always in relation quality / price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We WILL return here. Going off-season in May was nice as only us Northern types were there. Pool is nice, they serve food/drinks overlooking the Med. and the beach is large like in Florida, which is quite rare in Greece as most beaches are either small or short or owned by the bars. This is a walking beach for, literally, miles. Close to Xania (2 exits). Entrance Hard to find, even with GPS. It is the UNMARKED driveway RIGHT before the "Villages" resort next door (which looks similar).

Room Tip: Rooms in front building have view of Med Sea; I do not think room in back buildings really do. By b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpstateRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were a Family of 4(3 adults and 1 child, age 13) that stayed at Caretta Beach(room 207) for 16 nights from 29/6 - 17/7-13.
The small complex is away from the hustle and bustle of Platanias and Chania, but close enough should you feel the need for more action.
The apts, pool and restaurant are very clean, and extremely well run by the 7 girls that work there(led by Thea and Barbera). They do everything they can to make Your stay as relaxing and stress-free as possible, and are always very polite to all of their guests.
Although we did not use the restaurant that often, the food we were served when there, was very nice.
We really enjoyed our stay, and are already looking to come back next year.
We have no problem recommending Caretta Beach to any would-be travellers to the Chania area of Crete
Thankyou Caretta :0)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glaze-o125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The pros are endless, our stay here was mark with day in day out attention to details and we felt more like family than guess. The Staff goes the extra mile to make you feel as comfortable as humanly possible and just when you think they can do no more, they do!!! Caretta Beach has everything that is expected at a well place 5 start resort, yet some resorts can benefit from Carreta's quality of service...It is simply the best I have ever seen and I have seen many. Cons there are none the place is that good!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChinoH2O13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Caretta Beach last summer and I must admit that my partner and I had a great time. The hotel itself was in a very good condition, our room was very clean and in a decent size. It was located in the village of Gerani, where we were able to find whatever we needed (supermarket, restaurants etc.). All the popular bars were both locals and tourists go were also very close and Chania was only 15 min away by car, which was very convenient for us!

The staff was very friendly, welcoming and happy to give us all the info we needed in order to make the most of our time there!!!

I am pleased to recommend this hotel to anyone, who want to visit Chania and have a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammatiki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
0.4 mi away
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
12.8 mi away
Zorbas Beach Village Hotel
0.3 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Gerani
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vagia Mare Hotel
Vagia Mare Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caretta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caretta Beach

Address: Kydonias, Gerani, Crete 730 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gerani
#1 Family Hotel in Gerani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gerani
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gerani
Price Range: $54 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caretta Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crete, the island of King Minos, of hospitality and blessed nature, invites you to spend your vacations in a calm and pleasant way. Allow us to introduce you to your holiday paradise. In the western part of the biggest Greek island, the island of Crete, in the footholds of the White Mountains, directly on the mile long Chania beach, in Gerani village near Platanias, we welcome you at the Hotel Apartments Caretta Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Caretta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Gerani, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing