We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Platinum hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gerani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not a Platinum hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited this hotel early May with our friends.
On arrival first impressions very good. We had swim-up rooms in the quieter Olympus area across the road. The rooms were large, well appointed, with comfortable beds and hydro style showers (requiring 'driving lessons').
Throughout the holiday we found all the staff to be extremely helpful and all very friendly. Probably some off the best we've ever meet on our travels.
BUT......... this hotel is wrongly marketed by Thomson/First Choice in the UK and it does not rate a 4.5* Platinum grading. It must be advertised by TUI as a family resort elseware in Europe as it was full of Scandinavian families with two or more young children, many in pushchairs. There were childrens clubs, several play areas and a games room, all geared around families.To make matters worse, the adjoining Atlantica hotel was similar, and their customers were allowed to access the Caldera facilities.
What really lets this hotel down is the food & poor adult evening entertainment. Beakfast & dinner are taken in the main restuarant with lunch in a separate dining area by the pool. All were totally self-service.
Breakfasts were good, with a large selection and and full english options.
Lunches were dire, like a school canteen, a bun fight.
Evening meals only marginally better. Find a table, often having to ask for it to be cleared or relaid. Food unexceptional except the deserts. All drinks self service from pumps, no table service at all!
At all meals staff appeared unable to keep up with demand, food running out, table not cleared or relaid. Need more catering staff and better overall supervision. Certainly not a Platinum 'dining experience.'
The a la carte(not tried) is in the adjoining hotel. Tea & coffee facilities in room only topped up once in our 10 day stay, although this was bought to the hotels attention.
We skipped the lunches, also after seven days we ate out in the evenings. Can highly recommend Small Paradise, a greek taverna in Gerani village, about 10 minutes walk.
We've been to five Atlantica hotels in Greece & Cyprus, this being the poorest.
Needless to say we would not recomend this hotel to couples looking for a 4/5* experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SKIberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    293
    133
    39
    28
See reviews for
414
319
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I returned on the 21st May after 11 nights at the Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise. I have nothing but praise for this beautiful Cretan hotel.
I am a fussy person and struggled to find anythig to comlain about!!!
The hotel rooms are amazing with huge comfy beds and fabulous modern bathrooms. The food was fantastic, new temes each night and the Greek night was wonderful, with live music and an outside bbq! The breakfast was full of choice and never disappointed. The swimming pools were great, there is no queue for sunbeds and plenty of space. Also the beach is a stone throw away if you fancy a change.
The staff were friendly, drinks good, and considering the hotel ws full there was no queuing or waiting and seats could always be found in the restaurant.
The kids were well entertained, each afternoon between 16.30 and 17.30 is coffee break and cake time which was great.
The local town of Platanias is about a 10 minute walk into town with lovely restaurants and views of the beach.
I am booking to return next year already to ensure a swim up room.
I would state that this is a hotel designed for families rather than couples, but even a couple would struggle to fault this place. I cant understand any negative reviews people write about this place as I think it deserves a 5T rating.
Michael the rep is brilliant and always about at the hotel and knows all his guests by first names and is the best rep you could ask for.
I highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return in 2014.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are amazing if you have kids especially if they nap during the day as you can rest on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smutleymutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for the second week of May, for the second time of visiting the hotel, so it can't be as bad as what some of the reviews are suggesting! At first impressions of the hotel, it is amazing. Check in was very quick, and staff were very helpful, even offering to take our cases to our rooms whilst we ate lunch! Members of staff could not do enough for us during our stay, and were always polite and happy to make conversation! We could not fault the room that we had; the beds were extremely comfortable, the shower was very powerful, the living room area was very spacious, and the private pool we had was huge! The room service we received too was brilliant. Clean towels and bed sheets daily, and along with a full clean, although we did point out that she didn't need to do a full clean every day as we didn't make that much mess! Every room has a hair dryer, so if you are worried about luggage weight, then you do not have to take your own!! The pools are cold, but we are only in the beginning of May, so what can you expect? The beach of which the hotel is situated on is very stoney, but there is enough sand to walk along and make sand castles if your child wishes to! There is also a beach bar, so you do not have to keep walking back and forth to the bar for refreshments if you are spending an afternoon on the beach! Like everything, no-one is going to have the same opinion, and I would say the thing most people had a grumble about was the food! At breakfast, you had a wide choice of cereals, toasts and spreads, fruits, light bites and of course the cooked 'English brewkfast'. Lunch would have to be the worst meal time, with the food becoming very repetitive! On the odd occasion, I have seen people walk into the restaurant and then walk out again because they didn't like what was on offer, and I can understand why! As for evening meals, they tried their best to do theme nights, for example, Greek nights, Chinese nights, seafood night and Mexican night! So it is definitely worth checking the board to see what you are in store for! If you are a vegetarian, I probably wouldn't recommend going to this hotel, as you would struggle to find anything to eat other than salads, pastas and chips! The deserts they have are amazing! The food isn't brilliant, and being a fussy eater myself, I often found myself eating just chips and pasta, and on the odd night wephere chips were nt available, I did struggle to eat anything!! But I would suggest that you just try what they have to offer, as even though it may not look very appealing, you might be pleasantly surprised!! I would strongly recommend paying to dine at the stone grill restaurant one evening! The food is amazing, and reasonably priced, as if you are staying all inclusive, you receive a €7.00 discount from your meal! A short 15/20minute walk along the road is where you will find a strip of shops, restaurants and bars, if you are wanting to escape the hotel for an evening.! If you are wanting to watch the sport, there is a bar which shows various sports with English commentary, and is very reasonably priced drinks, with soft drinks at €2 and beers and wines at €3! You have to make most of the positives with this hotel, and go in with an open mind. You will have your own opinions and standards to compare this hotel against, but overall, it is a lovely hotel! A final tip, pay attention to what time the bars in the hotel closes, and when the final orders are taken! Because we got caught one evening, where the bar didn't close till 0100 but after 0000, we had to pay for our drinks! So, just make sure if you are having a good evening, to get a couple of rounds of drinks in before the deadline so you can carry on drinking!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cupcakes16703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just back from 1 week at the Caldera...me, the bloke and our 9 year old. Bit mixed with regards to the overall holiday but know that everyone's expectations and previous experiences all differ so here goes.
Room 2010 in the quiet side, not so quiet in this room as right on the front of the block, ground floor so any thru traffic came past. Didn't bother us in the slightest but some rooms will obviously be quieter than others depending on where they are in the block. Booked a swim up room which was fab, straight out to patio then into water. Only about 4 feet constant depth so quite child friendly, no slopes to deal with. Room was big, clean, plenty of storage and yes the beds were amazing, best we have every slept in abroad in over 20 years. Bathroom was nice and the shower was super. Pool bar on this side served a bit less selection than the other side but the other pool and bar were a 60 second stroll. Hotel and rooms were well maintained and cleaned to a good standard.
Animation team worked hard and deserve a mention just on the range of languages they all spoke! Not so good for our nine year old as bit old for the activities they were offering (he just wanted to do have a go at archery and shooting). Evening shows started mid hols for us but the 2 we saw were ok, they really tried hard and lots of effort and enthusiasm so fair play to them. Not the best but def not the worst.
Michael the rep was helpful and informative, knew his stuff about the island for sure and was always around for a few hours a day.
Now for the not so good. The water was flipping freezing!!! Every pool, all the time. Boy was going in wearing a tshirt (?) as he seemed to think this would help and the bloke who has cold showers in the winter even winced a few times and mumbled about putting hairs on your chest. Didn't stop them going in but when you have 4 days of cloud and a strong breeze it was really cold when they got out.
Now to the weather...not a problem but only when there is stuff to do at the hotel or close by...not a lot around so was really improvising, playing lots of games with our boy and some friends he'd made and thank heavens for the ipad and ds!
Wasn't impressed with Chania, each to there own though, found it very grubby and overbearing.
Worst part of the holiday was by far the food. Breakfast was ok, lunch was naff and dinner was awful, ate out three nights and one of them was after we went in, walked around and walked out again. Very fussy boy who likes plain food, I'm fussy but will try most things and the bloke eats anything and he was struggling. Never been all inc where they don't have a least a small area for the kids where general, child friendly food is served and even though they served when asked plain pasta etc its was so bland. In fact a lot of the food just tasted the same, not really anything to it. If it wasn't labelled wouldn't have really been able to tell what it was. Lots of people we were chatting to were saying the same so not just us.
It was nice to get away, room was fab and the swim up pools are so cool just in May way to cold, beach is pants but 20 minute stroll you find sand, animation team are a nice bunch, Michaels helpful, staff are friendly but it is very, very quiet (8 -18 years will struggle) and the food was dire! Hence mixed review.

Room Tip: If you can get a deal on the swim up rooms they are really worth it as the main pool will get chocke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calamarny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for 1 week at the beginning of May. We were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews, but let me say it was fab! Check in was quick and easy, we were in the main hotel. We go up to our room and it was clean, spacious, had a lovely view of the sea and it had free safe and air con! The shower was amazing, like a spa and the bed was really comfy. The best we ever had abroad. At the time we arrived we just made lunch which was delicious! There was plenty of choice of hot and cold food like Greek dishes and salads. There was also staples like pasta and chips for the un adventurous. We thought the food was tasty and fresh. When others complained, I felt like they had unrealistic expectations. When you only pay a few hundred quid, it's not going to be 5 star waiter service. There was always something nice for us and we were really happy overall with the food. Particularly the desserts were amazing. My fave bit. The soft drinks, beer and wine were help yourself but there were bars for cocktails and spirits also. The animation team for the kids were amazing and there was loads to do for the adults also. There were a lot of kids there and they could be quite annoying, but that was more to do with the parents not controlling them. The pool area was clean and the snacks at the pool bar were really good too. We walked to Platanias one night, not far down the road, maybe 15 mins. Our rep recommended a 'really good' restaurant called Mylos. We went to see the menu and it was extortionate. 5 euro for a plate of tzatziki! Didn't look that Greek anyway. Found another restaurant in gardens with fairy lights and candles on the tables. Much better prices and food was really tasty. Not sure what the name was though. We took the bus to Chania and it was a lovely town with a little harbour and lots of traditional tourist shops and cafes. The bus was super easy to get, the stop was just outside the Olympus building over the road of the main hotel. It only cost 2 euro and was quite quick. Getting the bus home was a bit more difficult as you had to go from the bus station which was a bit confusing. The airport was small and expensive like any other island so be warned. The spa was really nice if you had a rainy day, I had a pedicure which was very relaxing. It was a reasonable price too. Beach towels are available from from the spa, but although the beach was peaceful, it was a bit stony. The sea was clean, but got deep quite quickly. The beach bar is chargeable, so you have to walk up to the pool bar for your all inclusive. Bit cheeky but not that annoying. The ice cream was help yourself too and it was quite nice. There are a few little supermarkets over the road if you want shopping which were fairly priced. Other wise it was very quiet there. Not much else near the hotel. Main nightlife was in Platanias. Overall a great holiday and we will be returning. It was fab!

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a resort strictly for family holidays. As a result, because I stayed on my own while I was visiting Chania in the summer, I can't say I was thrilled. I stayed in a spacious bungalow. The pool is big but at peak times it's difficult to find a spot. The beach is only a few meters away but the sea is not very inviting as most of the time it's windy with strong waves and not always clean. When going all-inclusive there is ample food, but it's poor in taste, compared to the gastronomic treasures of Crete. Finally, it can be severely noisy due to all the children and all the activities that are meant for them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeLeGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ACCP, Manager at Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Atlantica Creta Paradise guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and comment on your recent stay with us. Your comments are highly appreciated and taken into very serious consideration.
Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

There is a party of four couples and my parents are included in this and we have booked 4 swim up rooms and we want them next to each other I have emailed the hotel a few times now and am worried that they have not replied as I have requested them low floor next to each other but the hotel has not bothered to get back to me about them. We need them next to each other and if anyone could recommend the room numbers we could try to email the hotel again and if anyone knows a name at the hotel we could mark the email for the attention of this would be appreciated. We are not too fussy but my parents are in their 70 and we just need 4 rooms low floor as we have seen on trip adviser about high concrete steps to get to the pool and we don't want one of these. I know people who read trip adviser will understand my concerns so any advice would be really appreciated. Thank you Wendy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyhennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
85.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunrise Village Hotel
Sunrise Village Hotel
#4 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
82.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.4 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
83.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caretta Beach
Caretta Beach
#6 of 11 in Gerani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica

Property: Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica
Address: Gerani Beach, Gerani, Crete 731 00, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gerani
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gerani
#4 Family Hotel in Gerani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True paradise! The charm of traditional cretan village with modern resort facilities. Ideal for families and couples!11 km from the beautiful town of Chania lies one of Crete’s preserved secrets, the beautiful beach resort of Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, situated on the graphic coastline of Platanias. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Hotel Gerani
Bravo Creta Paradise Platanias
Family Life Creta Paradise By Atlantica Gerani, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing