We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Heaven in Zaton Bay”
Review of Villa Lanterna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Lanterna
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Zaton
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of Heaven in Zaton Bay”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I spent the most wonderful week at this beautiful destination in September and couldn't agree more with all the previous reviews. The accommodation is everything you could ask for and the staff, Ivana, Robert, Darco and Rose are the most pleasant, friendly and helpful I have ever come across. Nothing is too much trouble to them.

You will definitely not be disappointed if you choose this location. I wiil definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trixyrixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    44
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
99
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The apartments and staff are wonderful. We enjoyed staying here; everything was spotless with wonderful staff who really went the extra mile to make sure we all had a fantastic holiday. The bus to Dubrovnik and the daily trips to the supermarket were a great reliable, door to door service. The bay is perfect, quite with a couple of tavernas, and a few sun beds. We would recommend hiring a speed boat which will come right to the harbour wall to collect you and take you on an amazing trip around the coast line and to some small islands. Stunning scenery, helpful, friendly people and the food was very good too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessielilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Charlotte Coull Fochabers
We have just returned after spending two weeks at Villa Lanterna.
The location is really splendid situated in the Bay of Zaton and two minutes from a swim in the Adriatic. (do bring swimming shoes!)
The accommodation is attractive, clean and well run by the small staff.
The hard working staff are a pleasure to deal with and all previous reports cover this well.
Ivana, Robert and Darco have all been rightly mentioned in reviews - they are wonderful but I must mention Rose the chef who produced the most wonderful meals for us during our two weeks there.
We were fortunate to have some excellent company in our first week which is a matter of pure chance!
I would certainly reccommend this to future travellers.
03/10/09

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charcoFochabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed here with my girlfriend in the last week of Sept. 09. Stikovica is a lovely, unspoilt little village with a nice but rocky/pebbly beach. The beach bar/grill is great and reasonably priced with excellent seafood. The hotel itself is spotless but the greatest plus point for it are the wonderful & helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them & their service was prompt with a smile. I cannot praise them enough.
This is not Ibiza but if you want unspoilt beauty, nice food & relaxation try Stikovica.
The hotel also does helpful runs in to/back from Dubrovnik 3 times a day each way for just 3 Euros via their own minibus. The minibus can also be used free of charge to the local minimart each day at 10.30 a.m.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This is without a doubt the most beautiful holiday destination yet for us as a family. Having been regular visitors to the Balkan region over a number of years, we had high expectations of this wonderful area of the Adriatic Coast. We are a family of 2 small boys and a teenage girl and all of us had a fantastic holiday in this home from home accommodation. Romantic scenery, historic architecture, sun, beach, lovely food and not forgetting the hugely warm Dalmatian welcome from the staff at Lanterna. In particular, both Darko and Robert work amazingly hard, putting the British tourism industry to shame, with their endless good humour - nothing was too much trouble. My kids were sorry to leave the sunshine and beautifully secluded beach but also people, who make this trip such an extra special experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We went to Lanterna for two weeks in July and had an amaing time! As a family of five all our needs were catered for. The apartments are situated in a lovely area with stunning views not to far from Dubrovnik. With the in house taxi, it makes it very easy to take regular trips into Dubrovonik. All the staff were fantastic especially Darco, Ivana and always smiling Robbie who kept us entertained. The food at the resturant was delicious and the rooms were kept spotless. We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We've just got back to Norway after 10 days vacation in Dubrovnik. We all agree that Villa Lanterna is a perfect place to stay. The service was excellent, and we especially want to mention Ivana, Darko and Robert. As our thirteen year old son said: "They kind of make us feel that we are the only guests here!" Our apartment were nice and clean (+ good space for a family of 4). It is only a few minutes walk to the beach. The beach is clean and water crystal clear. (A good sign for a good beach must be that many inhabitants visits it?) Next time (yes, we will go back!), we will rent a car so that we can take some trips in the surrondings. But its no problem to manage without a car. The hotel has got their own minibus and take the guests to a little foodstore every morning as well as transport to Dubrovnik several times a day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavanger4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaton
1.8 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,258 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,055 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,779 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
907 reviews
1.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lanterna

Property: Villa Lanterna
Address: Shtikovica 24 a, Zaton 20235, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Zaton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Zaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lanterna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Lanterna is situated 8 km from Dubrovnik, in Stikovica, Zaton bay 50m away from the beach. It's property contains 4 double apartments, 4 one room apartments, 2 studio apartments and four rooms with balconies. In the Villa's restaurant breakfast and the dinner are served. The Villa's van will drive you to Dubrovnik and back three times daily. Come and you will love it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Lanterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lanterna Apartments Hotel Dubrovnik
Villa Lanterna Zaton, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing