We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and people.”
Review of Villa Lanterna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Lanterna
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Zaton
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and people.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay which has great showers, wonderful staff and is very comfortable then I would recommend Villa Lanterna. We stayed in an apartment for seven nights, and were very fortunate to have a room which opened onto the pool (yes! There is a pool, although Co-op/Thomas Cook don't seem to advertise this) The owner told us that the pool was newly installed this year, and there is a bubbly-jucuzzi area. The apartment comes equipped with everything you need for a week away, the kitchen had a couple of hobs and plenty of equipment, you couldn't cook a roast dinner in there, but why would you want to?

It's a very short stroll to the bay and two fab restaurants - again, wonderful staff and service. The beach, although pebbly, is beautiful and quiet. We swam in the sea as often as we could and simply enjoyed our surroundings.

Yes, Lanterna is in the middle of nowhere, but we knew this when we booked, and were very pleased with the serenity of Zaton. The staff work hard to overcome these limitations, a free bus to the local super market (well stocked and cheap) and frequent shuttles to the Old Town. Okay, so they only run three times a day, but it's no hardship to hang around on the beach whilst you wait or stay another hour in the Old Town.

Another thing that impressed me with Lanterna is they didn't over charge for drinks (as many hotels do) you could happily sit and enjoy a beer on the terrace for the bargain price of 20 Kuna.

The staff made this hotel, they clearly worked hard to keep their guests happy and the rooms spotless. If we needed anything they were happy to help at any time and were keen to share information and tips with us.

Whilst we were there the opening game of the World Cup (Brazil v Croatia) was played, the hotel installed an extra TV for the celebrations and many of the locals came up to watch. It was a great atmosphere and the Croatian fans just enjoyed supporting their team. We spent a lot of time on the terrace and met some lovely people whilst we were there - I don't think we'd have necessarily done this in a large, faceless hotel.

All-in-all we came back feeling relaxed, and that's exactly what we needed. We stayed in a beautiful place with generous staff and met some lovely guests. If you are expecting all singing, all dancing, shiney-shiney then perhaps this isn't the hotel for you. But if you want clean, comfortable facilities and friendly staff then give this place a go. We expect to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennavieve82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    44
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
100
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel was more than I expected from its rating, rooms were clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom. The balcony overlooked the bay and was big enough for us to sit out.
The pool was also bigger than the plunge pool described in the details.
The staff where amazing especially Maja who gave us information about the area and drove us in her car to the supermarket as the hotel bus was out of action.
Food average in Dubrovnik, however cheap. A trip to Magellan restaurant just outside Dubrovnik old town worth a visit as the food is classy and very reasonably priced. Two course meal with wine £15.00 a head with the most delicious chocolate soufflé I have ever had.
All in all my sister and I had a great time and will go back again, hopefully soon

Room Tip: sea view great, ask for a kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Firstly I would like to say that having read the reviews it is obvious that some people don't do any research before going on holiday!
If you do, you would know that the Lanterna is in a quiet location but close to Dubrovnik.
I found it was just was I was looking for. A small but pleasant beach with 2 restaurants and a very short walk from the hotel. It is considerably cheaper than staying in Dubrovnik.
I experienced none of the issues that other people have mentioned - it may be that the hotel has been updated, My room was large, clean and with a balcony overlooking the bay. Stunning views. The bathroom was modern and better than mine at home!

I cannot praise the staff highly enough, especially Maja who went out of her way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay, answering a million questions regarding everything from Croatian pronunciation to the country's history and even taking us to the local supermarket in her own car when the hotel minibus was unavailable. She has a great command of English and even understands our British sense of humour.
Make sure that you visit the restaurant 'Magellan' which I think belongs to the same owner
as the Lanterna. Suberb food, attentive service and Maja you were right about the chocolate souffle it was to die for!
This is not a five star hotel as people can tell from the price of the holiday but as far as I am concerned gives a five star service and I can't wait to go back.
My thanks to all at the Lanterna for making my holiday so enjoyable

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

At first I thought this is a bit to far from the Old City. But needn't of worried, our host Adarko took us into the city and collected us. He was polite, friendly and very helpful. The setting was perfect.The food was excellent and price for the optional dinner was VERY reasonable. Our room was lovely with the added bonus of of a beautiful view. Would definetly return!

Room Tip: Higher floosr have wonderful sea and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janice v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Absolutely loved Villa Lanterna. Adarko, our host treated us like royalty. Beautiful surroundings, very peaceful, with transport laid on to take us into Dubrovnik. The best of both worlds. Our room was excellent as was the food. Can't fault it. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Although Villa Lanterna is a little bit of the beaten track we found it a nice and relaxing base for exploring the nearby busy Dubrovnik. The staff could not do enough for us, breakfast was very good and with waitress service rather than buffet style which made a nice change.
We used the shuttle bus every day and found it reliable and convenient.
Our TV would not tune into any English speaking channels all week and never got sorted out despite mentioning this but as I am not a big TV fan this did not bother me at all, however I would have liked a reading light over the bed as the room was quite dimly lit but apart from this could not think of any other things to complain about.
On arrival we noticed there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room as advertised but as soon as we mentioned this a kettle and cups were brought.
Overall very pleasant place to stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillemor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night after driving down from Split before staying in the center of Dubrovnik. We had a top floor room overlooking the bay, it was incredibly relaxing. The young woman who worked the front desk bent over backwards for us. Although I am glad I stayed in downtown for the next few nights as I liked being able to walk everywhere this was a relaxing break. I could sit and stare at the water here for a week easy. My only beef is there is no coffee maker in the rooms and they don't start breakfast til 8am, I need coffee at 630am!! Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zaton
1.8 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
688 reviews
1.9 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
809 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Sipan
Hotel Sipan
#1 of 1 in Sipanska Luka
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lanterna

Property: Villa Lanterna
Address: Shtikovica 24 a, Zaton 20235, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Zaton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Zaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lanterna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Lanterna is situated 8 km from Dubrovnik, in Stikovica, Zaton bay 50m away from the beach. It's property contains 4 double apartments, 4 one room apartments, 2 studio apartments and four rooms with balconies. In the Villa's restaurant breakfast and the dinner are served. The Villa's van will drive you to Dubrovnik and back three times daily. Come and you will love it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Lanterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lanterna Apartments Hotel Dubrovnik
Villa Lanterna Zaton, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing