We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but good.”
Review of Hotel Medena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Medena
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Donji Seget
Aberdare
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic but good.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Good value for money but please be advised that you get what you pay for. Very small baths in the ensuite and quite a basic room. That aside, the location is amazing and the facilities are varied and many. The sea front bars and eateries are great and the weather is mild enough to enjoy in the evenings. The food quality and variety at the hotel is good and whilst this may not be everyone's idea of a modern hotel, it does the job for the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    49
    65
    46
    85
See reviews for
69
71
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lets start by saying that this hotel is a value for money hotel. Its a little way out from Trogir, a 50 minute holiday stroll or a 9 Kuna (£1.00) bus ride. I had bed and breakfast on a 14 day stay. The Hotel is a 620 room and apartments hotel set in pine woods on the Adriatic coast. The Hotel needs a little T.L.C, looking tired; but clean and tidy. My room was on the 6th floor with a beautiful Pine wood and sea view. The room it self was simple furnished with a settee two chairs and a small table, tv, dressing table and two single beds. The bath room had small bath with a shower and curtain, hairdryer hand basin and toilet. The main room had no kettle or fridge and the few sockets that the room has , are at floor level.Breakfast which was continental was served in a 1100 seater restaurant was simple and little repetitive by the second week. The staff could not be more helpful and if they had the ingredients would make if for you.In my case was fried eggs and ham. The Hotel did lunch and dinner which of course I did not have so cannot comment. The Hotel main bar was open for 15 hours a day. Sadly between 07:00 and 22:00, so if you go into Trogir for the evening your chance of a night cap or caps are very limited. My solution was to buy a bottle for my room, not ideal.All the staff are very professional with no request to small. On a personal note I wish they were allowed to wear a uniform not so formal has the navy blue suites they wear.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed one week in this hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the sea. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner buffets were awesome, plenty, great selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpovo, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have spent couple of days in this hotel and Silvester night. It was great, the atmosphere was hot, people dancing and enjoying themselves. Food was good and plenty. Room was clean with great view. People kind and willing to help.
I would very much like to come again, especially in the summer.

Room Tip: A block, 8th floor, room facing Trogir, the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medena, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Kristina,
Thank You very much for Your review, it is nice to know that our guest are pleased with our hotel.
Do come again, we would love to have You as our guest any time You like.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Like the previous review from sara W, our family also had a great stay. We were dreading it after reading previous reviews and seeing those awful pictures... However we stayed in the slightly newer apartments near the beach front and because of the season had our meals at the hotel facilities. The refurbished apartment was very comfortable and very clean, easy for self catering etc however we had great meals and plenty of it! at the hotel restaurant some 300 yards away. We'd gone end of season, so there wasn't a huge amount of things going on..GOOD! we could relax without all the noise of others. Existing indoor pool had closed...in need of refurb ? However we were not told there was a pool...and we didn't miss it.
All the staff were excellent. Happy to assist and friendly. We were surprised how clean everywhere was...in fact not just the hotel and grounds but that area of Croatia. The beach was fine gravel and both beach and water were clean. We even managed some swimming in late October/early November . One morning we woke to see two dolphin or porpoise in the water. They stayed for around 10 minutes :-) It was great value for money and close to the airport...i'd happily go again.

Room Tip: As we were in the Medena apartments, I'd ask or choose the larger refurbished apartments. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyH122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay hear, after reading reviews on here the hotel far exceeded our expectations. Hotel staff were really friendly, the receptionists helpful and informative, bar staff attentive and welcoming, especially to our little boy. Food was lovely a variety of meats, pasta, vegetables, fresh crisp salad every night and each night was delicious and different. The hotel was clean and in a beautiful location. Short walk to a gravel beach which was clean and sea beautiful, clear with lots of fish, quiet and peaceful. We went on wonderful walks along the coast and through the delightful rainforests. Views are incredible!!, there is a cocktail bar along the beach with a children's park playing chilled house music perfect to watch the sunset. The view from our balconies was simply breath taking, beautiful. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in many hotels but felt compelled to write as felt our exuberance is such a contradiction to previous reviews. Perfect break for families with young children.

Room Tip: Floor 6 for stunning views of coast line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medena, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Sara,
Thank You very much for Your review, it is nice to know that our guests had good time in our hotel. That means that all of our work and effort wasn't for nothing.
We would very much like to have You and Your family as guests again, contact us any time.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to the hotel beach whilst on a cruise with NCL, it looked good in the brochure and was recommended by the cruise line as an accompanyment with a trip to Trogir. The medieval town was nice but we didnt get long as we had to get the bus to Medena Hotel and beach, first impressions - what a dump. Rough, grey, concrete, and shabby, very dismal. It was stated that we could use the hotel facilities but it looked so bad we didnt bother. The beach was terrible, it is a 6 ft wide, gravel and rock and covered with litter and cigarette butts. You need footwear in the sea as it is so painful to walk around on the rocks and also spiky sea urchins were plentiful. Had some food and it was awful, would not recommend this place if suggested by cruise line. Stay away.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pongodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelena M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medena, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Pongodave,
We find this review totally misplaced, it should not be placed at hotel Medena Trip advisor page. Hotel facilities were not reviewed in this message, rooms, restaurants, surrounding area etc. The beach You stayed on is a public beach, open for everybody, not only for the guests of our hotel. We are doing our best to keep it clean and safe for our guests, but with so many people using it, it is virtually impossible. We can not control actions done by more then 2 000 visitors, that the beach has almost every day in high season. It can not be said that the rocks on the beach are spiky and dangerous, that is the impression of each individual person. Needless to say, this is the first opinion of this kind we have had.
Also, it is not clearly put were You have had something to eat, only that the food was not good. There are numerous restaurants, pizzerias and fast food places surrounding the beach, that this review has no value what so ever, since it is not clearly pointed the place the food was consumed.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Donji Seget hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donji Seget
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#1 of 3 in Donji Seget
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 10 in Trogir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Zora
Hotel Zora
#1 of 1 in Primosten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
2.1 mi away
XII Century Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Apartmani Medena
Apartmani Medena
#16 of 23 in Donji Seget
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medena

Property: Hotel Medena
Address: Hrvatskih zrtava 185, Donji Seget 21218, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Donji Seget
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Donji Seget
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medena 3*
Number of rooms: 638
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Medena is located in Seget Donji near to Trogir and Split in the centre of the former Trogir Riviera (Trogir - Seget - Marina - Okrug)Mild Adriatic climate, lush subtropical and Mediterranean vegetation, the archipelago of picturesque islands and islets hiding quiet fishing and farming villages in their coves, hidden rocky and pebble beaches, the beauty and diversity of folklore, picturesque rural architecture, modern tourism facilities perfect for your vacation, entertainment and recreation both summer and winter, traditional hospitality, Dalmatian delicacies, fishing and joyous fishermen's nights, classical music in the medieval city ambient…The hotel is divided into two main buildings, and two pavilions which are located on the hotel beach, only 150 metres from the hotel.Hotel Medena has a total of 630 rooms: superior***/+, standard*** and tourist class**.We also offer 8 modernly equipped and air-conditioned hotel suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Medena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medena Hotel Seget Donji Vranjic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing