We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat dinner here!”
Review of Hotel Jadran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jadran
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Donji Seget
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Don't eat dinner here!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel has the potential to be great. The location is fabulous with beautiful views and easy access to small ferry boats which regularly run to the beautiful old city of Trogir or Split. Our room was good and the staff kept it very clean and the pool a reasonable size with showers nearby. However, the food was truly awful with mushy frozen vegetables, overlooked meat and tasteless desserts from a packet mix served every evening. In addition the organising of replenishing foods as they ran out was shambolic and usually involved the guests trying to find any available staff ( very difficult as there were very few) and a long wait before anything was done about the shortages. one evening I asked if more vegetables could be provided as 45mins into service there were none left. The answer came that they were very busy with 200 guests checked in! Of course, they would have known that had they checked with reception!!! I would suggest that they give their chef some serious training and appoint a restaurant manager to oversee things during breakfast and dinner. It's not rocket science to see the need for allocating a member of staff to go round checking that food is constantly available. Driven to find decent food elsewhere we tried a number of cafes locally. Without exception they all served superb food at reasonable prices and we particularly enjoyed the local caught fish and grilled pork. I did speak to reception one evening along with many others but I got the feeling that no one really cared. Such a pity!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
43
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, staff are helpful. Room 208 was very clean and tidy.
Breakfast selection was varied.
A special mention for Albert Babic one of the pool restaurant waiters.
Very helpful and friendly.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santinojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful 2 weeks in Croatia at Hotel Jadran. Great location walk down the steps to the sea. Break fast buffet was ok plenty of choice. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed B&B so can't comment on the evening meal but the pizzeria served good meals. Try Frankie's for a great meal. There is a boat every 15 mins to Trogir - a must visit - and easy boat to Split from there We had a good spacious room on the middle floor large balcony area (shared) shaded with trees. Great shower.
Nice concrete beach (better than it sounds) plenty of sun loungers but not many parasols.
Try and get to Dubrovnik it was the high spot of our holiday. We also enjoyed the Fish Picnic island boat trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A nice location, with all rooms overlooking the sea. You can bathe from concrete platforms running the entire length of the hotel. Boats to Trogir start from just along from the hotel , and cost about £2 each way. Other boat trips, such as to Split, were also available. Other bars etc are a bit of a trek away on a hot day, although there is a small supermarket at the nearby camp site. There are loads of steps, so the hotel is unsuitable for those with mobility problems.

Our room was fairly standard, a reasonable size, very clean and with effective air conditioning. The walls are very thin - we were lucky to have quiet people either side. It wa on the middle floor, and there is a large, sunny terrace accessible only from the rooms. Food was pretty good, apart form uninspiring desserts, and they were often slow to replace things that ran out. the pool is pretty small for a hotel this size, but we preferred the sea. Sun beds were often in short supply, and quite a few were broken. We enjoyed our stay, but the niggles mentioned above made us reduce it to 4 stars.

Room Tip: the nearst to the main hotel start with a 4 - those starting wioth a 1 are a bit of a walk away. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_and_Lynn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Jadran last year and enjoyed it. We returned this year and were not isappointed. The location is fantastic and the views great. The hotel is very good for a three star and all the staff are wonderful. It is only a ten minute boat ride into Trogir, which has so much to offer.

We travelled with Richmond Holidays, who are the only British Holiday Company offering this hotel and everything ran so smoothly, including taxi transfers from and to the aiport.

Room Tip: Garden room for shade, and if steps are a problem. Upper floor rooms are slightly larger, but consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trisha209938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Good pool and beautiful views with good service to Trogir by boat. Staff at hotel reception were very unhelpful and we were told three different prices for taxi to airport. Receptionist obviously phoned a friend who charged us more than were originally told.(No Meter and still unsure whether an official taxi). Difficult to argue when have 3 year old and luggage to go home in tow! Breakfast VERY basic and poor quality food. Very little choice and waiting for refills seemed to take forever. The hotel has masses of potential with location and views but just needs better customer service and staff who seem to care about its visitors.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We experienced a service of a good 3-star hotel: the room had a good bed, an air-conditioner, TV, and a good bathroom. It was cleaned every day, however the sheets were not changed daily. The breakfast buffet was pretty good (omelettes, muesli, meat, cheese, fruit and vegetables). Wi-Fi internet is available free of charge in the lobby, as well as a little safe.
Pros:
1) Even in the high tourist season (August) the little beach of the hotel was not too crowded.
2) The location near a small fisher village and easy boat connection to Trogir make it a nice place for travelers valuing both city visits and the beach.
3) There are a lot of pine trees in the hotel's territory - very nice.
4) The sea is awesome: warm and never too stormy, as it is a bay.
Cons:
1) It is a family-oriented hotel located near a small town, so a young couple would not have much things to do there after the first week of stay.
2) The hotel's beach is made of concrete and does not provide enough sunshade and sunbeds. However there are other beaches nearby that you can go to.
3) As a same sex male couple, we experienced homophobic attitude in all contacts with the hotel's personnel. Without exception, the waiters treated us more or less defiantly arrogant every time. They smiled at other guests and said "Thank you" and "Please" - but not to us. This is disappointing.
4) The restaurant's hotel is overpriced and serves appalling pizza. It is good that there are better places to eat within walking distance.

Overall, Jadran is a nice and relaxing place to stay, and the surroundings are great too.

Restaurant advice:
1) If you walk along the coast to Medena beach, you will find a restaurant Zula serving very tasty seafood. It's a must!
2) If you walk along the coast to Seget, you will find a simple, cheap, but fresh and delicious seafood restaurant Rico at the village entry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
16 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donji Seget
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Bellevue
Aparthotel Bellevue
#1 of 10 in Trogir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Jadran
Hotel Jadran
#44 of 55 in Split
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pasike
Hotel Pasike
#6 of 10 in Trogir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Brown Beach House Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Apartmani Trogir
Apartmani Trogir
#2 of 55 in Trogir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Ana
Vila Ana
#1 of 23 in Donji Seget
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jadran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jadran

Property: Hotel Jadran
Address: Hrvatskih Zrtvava 147, Donji Seget 21218, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Donji Seget
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Donji Seget
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jadran 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is situated in very peaceful surroundings, very near the sea, about 2 km from city of Trogir, 28 km from city of Split and about 7 km from airport Split and about 50 m from the main road. Hotel was built in 1962, but it was very nicely renovated in 2005. Hotel has main building with reception, restaurant, TV room, bar, grill pizzeria and 16 rooms, and 5 blocks with 124 rooms, about 20-30m from sea and beach. All rooms in blocks are with balcony, seaside, with air condition, sat.TV, phone and hairdryer. Rooms in main building don't have balconies! We have parking place next to hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Jadran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing