We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted, and expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tahiti Airport Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel does not profess to be anything other than budget and we booked it for it's value and location. It is directly opposite the airport in Papeete - you don't even need to ask for directions. You can see the sign from the plane window when landing and it is easily seen from one step outside the door of the airport!

Yes - there are two flights of stairs and a steep driveway, followed by another set of stairs to reception, but with manageable luggage you don't even have to be fit to get there. If you have more than 2 pieces of luggage, or heavy luggage it won't be easy. Taxis are an option but there are minimum charges and extra charges for luggage and at night. If you don't go over the airline limits it shouldn't be an issue.

We stayed for 6 hours on the way to Bora Bora and then another 13 hours on the way back. Both times rooms were spotlessly clean, WiFi and breakfast included, and for AU$140 (ish) a night it was perfect in an otherwise expensive location.

If you want a resort, or pool, or things to do then this isn't the place for you. If you want an easy, quick, cheap turnaround for connecting flights there is none better!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CeeVees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 750 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

When I booked this hotel, I knew it was not a luxury hotel. I selected it since it was close to the airport and we needed a hotel room to get a few hours of sleep between flights. We arrived after 11pm so we took a taxi from the hotel to the airport since I knew there were steps and hills and we had a couple of large luggages. The 3 minute taxi ride cost us $23. When we arrived at the hotel, the lady at the check-in was very nice. She quickly checked us in. Our room was on the third floor but there are no elevators. There are a series of ramps that can be difficult if you have large luggage or any health issues. The hallway light is suppose to be motioned sensor. However, the light only stayed on for a couple of seconds. It wasn't enough time to make it to your room. Multiple people, including ourselves, used our cell phones to light the way. I didn't feel very safe walking in the long dark hallway. The room was clean but minimal and dated. You cant buy water at the hotel so make sure to buy some at the airport, if needed. There is a club nearby with load music so that may impact your sleep. The following morning, breakfast (which we didn't have) consisted of 2 boxes of cereal and milk sitting on the counter. We decided to walk to the airport in the morning and it wasn't difficult going downhill. Although some parts of the road are gravel which can be hard to pull luggage.

This hotel was ok for a couple of hours sleep but I wouldn't stay here any longer. If I had to do it again, I am not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night between our flight arriving in Papeete at 10 pm and our flight out to Bora Bora at 8 am. It was exactly what we wanted: cheap (for French Polynesia, still $150 US per night), clean, and very close to the airport. We were worried about finding it but it is easy to see as soon as you leave the airport. There is a huge neon sign visible from the airport that says "Tahiti Airport Motel". Yes, you have to climb a set of stairs and a hill to get here but rumors of how strenuous it is have been greatly exagerated. It is not a "mountain" as some people wrote here (seriously, climb an actual mountain - it is not the same thing). I agree that it is not fun with large luggage but anyone in normal physical condition should be able to do it without issue and if you have very young kids, are elderly or are not physically fit you can pay a taxi to take you there.

Our room was very cozy and not grungey at all. Anyone who thinks this hotel is a dump has never actually stayed in a dump. I'm generally something of a cleanliness freak and I thought it was completely fine (I've seen much worse in European hostels I stayed in when I was a student). We saw no bugs at all. Breakfast is included but is basic (baguette, croissant, juice) and not all you can eat (you receive a tray with your food). There is free wifi and it worked well in our room. The staff is friendly, and they let you cancel for free up until a couple days before unlike most resorts which have a 2-week cancellation policy. There are really nice views of sunrise over Moorea from the hotel because its high up.

Don't be discouraged by the negative reviews on TripAdvisor. If you read them carefully you will see that most people are complaining about: 1) the fact that it is not a glamourous luxury resort (that is correct, it is an AIRPORT MOTEL and is approximately 1/8th the price of a resort), 2) the hill (again, not an issue if you are physically fit and don't have excessive luggage) or 3) other random things like the fact that they do not have US-style outlets (seriously? you are not in the United States!! BUY A CONVERTER). Overall, this is obviously not a place to stay if you are visiting the island of Tahiti but is a great place to stay if you are just passing through for a night, as many people do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ahm5885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived very late with Tahiti Nui flight. The location was perfect, you can easily walk 5 min from the airport to the motel. There is a small hill, so it can be challenging with big luggages.
The bedroom was ok for one night. It is located next to a club, so expect loud music during the night.
Breakfast is included and they serve you croissant, bread with jam and butter, fresh fruits, fruit juices, hot beverage, and you seat on the terrasse with a nice view on Moorea.Very convenient location to take the next connection flight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL_Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The airport is located a few hundred meters from the airport which is really convenient for early morning flight to the islands.
However there's nothing else to enjoy from this hotel; basic room, basic comfort.
If you are staying in Tahiti for longer than a night, then find another place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came off a cruise ship early morning and our onward flight was at night, we needed a place to place our luggage to spend the day in Papeete. Good that we took a Taxi from the port to the Hotel since it is high up on a road and as someone mentioned in another review that would be difficult to carry suitcases UP. Even when more luggage than one it is difficult to go downhill with it. We did take a Taxi to the Airport too. The staff was friendly, yes, "no lift" was a bit inconvenient , so they kept one suitcase of each of us in a storage room. The room was VERY pleasant, good size , nice Tahitian prints on bed cover , oversized window and good curtains to block out the light when resting in day light.Correct, not the cheapest accomodation but really worth it for the convenience to be so close to the Airport!

Room Tip: not too high up since "no elevator"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1aprilfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the Tahiti Airport Motel on the night of 8/1/2013. I arrived on an Air Tahiti Nui flight at night and needed to stay over near the airport to catch the plane the next day to Bora Bora. The Tahiti Airport Motel is clearly visible as you walk out of the Tahiti airport and can be easily reached with a 4-5 minute walk. This is a MOTEL so don't expect very much -- just a very well located place to get some sleep before you fly out the next morning.

I would not stay at this hotel for any other reason.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rattner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.9 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
2.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
300 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Relais de la Maroto
Relais de la Maroto
#1 of 2 in Pirae
26 reviews
1 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Airport Motel

Address: PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range: $117 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahiti Airport Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Comfort at reasonable prices.Located in front of Tahiti Faa'a International Airport the Tahiti Airport Motel is only at 5 minutes walk from the terminal.For a greater comfort, all the rooms as well as the corridors are entirely non-smoker and air conditioned.The establishment is ideal for transit travelers or for long-term stay. The motel provides luggage storage and parking.It is a very comfortable place which proposes 46 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tahiti Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahiti Airport Hotel Faa`a
Tahiti Airport Motel French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing