We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and big room for a layover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahiti Airport Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tahiti Airport Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and big room for a layover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a good hotel if you come in late or have an early flight away from Papeete. I guess this is their business model. I don't completely know what people are complaining about in this hotel. Of course, if you are looking for a nice resort to lay down in Tahiti, this is not the place to be but I guess everybody knows that this is not the place for that kind of purpose.
The room was clean and is big enough for a layover. There is enough space to open 3-5 bags if you want to. From construction point of view, I don't understand the floor in the shower as it's not flat but there are several small holes, where the water will stay as long as it dries. I'd imagine that this is not the best from hygienic point of view.
The staff will help you if you ask them but they won't tell you too much additional information if you don't ask unlike in some friendlier places. The stuff clearly seems to be only working and doing their minimum performance.
The path to the hotel can be confusing especially when it's dark but you should be able to find your way through stairs. Small signs after crossing the street from the airport might be something you miss but if you find them you are able to get there. It's a steep hill and you need to be in some sort of fit in order to avoid taxi. It's only like 300m but you may need taxi if you cannot carry your bags up there. The hotel doesn't have an elevator and they have four floors so some more carrying in there. Especially in the night if there is only one front desk person who won't help you. During the day, we were offered help in getting our big bags into our room.
Although this is a good layover place, I'd hope they had slightly lower rates as ~115e is a bit much even in Tahiti standards. You can get quite nice accommodations with that money in Moorea where we stayd for 3 nights.70-80e per night would be more reasonable on this hotel no matter how clean the room is as there are no other facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranttis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    190
    201
    50
    34
See reviews for
74
333
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Tahiti Airport Motel is very convenient to the airport at Papeete. That's the good news. You then walk up a steep slope on pock-marked driveway to check in to a SPARTAN room and a pretty cheesy styrofoam service breakfast. It's a short 10 minute uphill walk fro. The airport...that is all we can say good about this place.

Room Tip: Don't get a high floor...you have to walk there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikej21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Faa'a hotels

Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

if you want to go safe and happy and pretty inexpensive, stay here. we FIRST went to some guy's "pension" called DaMyr Pension ($85 a night) and he was a drunk guy who showed up with no shoes or shirt basically yelling jibberish at us in french. when we got to his place it was FRIGHTENING. we wouldn't have left our dogs there!
so we got back to the airport and walked up to this hotel. it actually has amazing views with giant windows in your room, a great bed and blessed air conditioning. it has free wifi but i couldn't get it to work in my room. i had to go downstairs to the lobby to get connection. they give you free continental breakfast ($135 a night). there is no elevator and that's the only crumby part and its kind of in a weirdish neighborhood, but it works.

The pensions on tahiti itself are scary. ive heard lots of horror stories and we just lived one. spend the extra 70 bucks and be happy!

Room Tip: try to get a room on the FIRST floor so you don't have to CLIMB STAIRS in the heat and you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive overnight stay close to the airport the Tahiti Airport Hotel will suffice, however, there are some things to consider. While it is close to the terminal, the walk over is very steep and involves lots of stairs.vvOnce you make it up the steep "driveway" there is still no easy way to get up to the 2nd floor to check in as it is only accessible via a small set of stairs. While it is not an easy trek, it can be done as long as you are in shape.

The room was clean and suited our needs but we could not get comfortable as the a/c laboring to cool the small room. Even after running on max cool all night, the room really never cooled down. We also arrived late and there are no food/snack/drink options. Your only choice is to go back to the airport and buy water and snacks there.

If we had to do it all again, we would have spent the cab fare and booked the Hotel Tahiti Nui for the simply fact we could have had dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

For a budget style motel to stay at for just for one night between flights/ferries - this is the place! Highly recommended.

GETTING THERE: It's right across the parking lot and street from Papeete airport. Although not well marked, it's a few minutes walk uphill, crossing traffic without cross walks or lights. Or a US$15 cab ride to go about 3 blocks.

ROOMS: I could not believe how clean our room was! I definitely applaud that. I sleep very well here.

BREAKFAST: You get a large continental breakfast with your stay - Cereal, Croissant and Baguette. There's Tang-style juice drinks too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

first of all, its a steep incline to the hotel. not a problem for young people with little luggage, but if you have many suitcases, you will sweat like crazy.
what is the only thing you need when you arrive late? something to drink! yes, they have a vending machine but no one in the hotel can change your money for it - so for people arriving its worthless, or do you carry tahitian change with you? your only choice is to go to the airport and buy water there.
last, and worst, there are many many cockroaches all around. in our room we had 4 of them - other than that, the room was worn but clean. the room was pretty big, so that and the proximity to the airport is a plus.
for the service offered, its way too expensive.

i recommend to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Aust
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Tahiti Airport Motel for a night between flights to Raiatea. We booked early and confirmed the arrangements. Two days before leaving we were contacted by the motel to change our rooms from Family to two smaller rooms which I was happy to do so. Upon arrival however at 2.00am, tried after a long flight from Australia, we discovered that we only had one room - this despite the motel initiating a call to increase the number of rooms. We ended up crashing out in the room they had and in disregard of the sensible policy not to over book rooms.
In the morning the breakfast was provided - please don't expect much, its just cereal packs and a bread roll with machine coffee and cordial. Thats ok given the prices but it really is only a place to crash if you need a bed.
On the up side the staff tried to sort it out and were friendly. Also the motel is a walk from the airport (up a bit of a hill) but it saved on taxis and meant a quicker return to the airport.

Room Tip: Just rooms close to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impavid_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.9 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Airport Motel

Property: Tahiti Airport Motel
Address: PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahiti Airport Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Comfort at reasonable prices.Located in front of Tahiti Faa'a International Airport the Tahiti Airport Motel is only at 5 minutes walk from the terminal.For a greater comfort, all the rooms as well as the corridors are entirely non-smoker and air conditioned.The establishment is ideal for transit travelers or for long-term stay. The motel provides luggage storage and parking.It is a very comfortable place which proposes 46 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tahiti Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahiti Airport Hotel Faa`a
Tahiti Airport Motel French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing