We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and Cheap...but that's about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tahiti Airport Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tahiti Airport Motel to your Saves list
Tahiti Airport Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close and Cheap...but that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive overnight stay close to the airport the Tahiti Airport Hotel will suffice, however, there are some things to consider. While it is close to the terminal, the walk over is very steep and involves lots of stairs.vvOnce you make it up the steep "driveway" there is still no easy way to get up to the 2nd floor to check in as it is only accessible via a small set of stairs. While it is not an easy trek, it can be done as long as you are in shape.

The room was clean and suited our needs but we could not get comfortable as the a/c laboring to cool the small room. Even after running on max cool all night, the room really never cooled down. We also arrived late and there are no food/snack/drink options. Your only choice is to go back to the airport and buy water and snacks there.

If we had to do it all again, we would have spent the cab fare and booked the Hotel Tahiti Nui for the simply fact we could have had dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    183
    198
    49
    32
See reviews for
70
326
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

For a budget style motel to stay at for just for one night between flights/ferries - this is the place! Highly recommended.

GETTING THERE: It's right across the parking lot and street from Papeete airport. Although not well marked, it's a few minutes walk uphill, crossing traffic without cross walks or lights. Or a US$15 cab ride to go about 3 blocks.

ROOMS: I could not believe how clean our room was! I definitely applaud that. I sleep very well here.

BREAKFAST: You get a large continental breakfast with your stay - Cereal, Croissant and Baguette. There's Tang-style juice drinks too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

first of all, its a steep incline to the hotel. not a problem for young people with little luggage, but if you have many suitcases, you will sweat like crazy.
what is the only thing you need when you arrive late? something to drink! yes, they have a vending machine but no one in the hotel can change your money for it - so for people arriving its worthless, or do you carry tahitian change with you? your only choice is to go to the airport and buy water there.
last, and worst, there are many many cockroaches all around. in our room we had 4 of them - other than that, the room was worn but clean. the room was pretty big, so that and the proximity to the airport is a plus.
for the service offered, its way too expensive.

i recommend to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Faa'a hotels

Melbourne, Aust
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Tahiti Airport Motel for a night between flights to Raiatea. We booked early and confirmed the arrangements. Two days before leaving we were contacted by the motel to change our rooms from Family to two smaller rooms which I was happy to do so. Upon arrival however at 2.00am, tried after a long flight from Australia, we discovered that we only had one room - this despite the motel initiating a call to increase the number of rooms. We ended up crashing out in the room they had and in disregard of the sensible policy not to over book rooms.
In the morning the breakfast was provided - please don't expect much, its just cereal packs and a bread roll with machine coffee and cordial. Thats ok given the prices but it really is only a place to crash if you need a bed.
On the up side the staff tried to sort it out and were friendly. Also the motel is a walk from the airport (up a bit of a hill) but it saved on taxis and meant a quicker return to the airport.

Room Tip: Just rooms close to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impavid_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you are looking for an overnight stay close to the airport this is the correct choice, otherwise go somewhere else.
Be careful that the hotel is still enough far away from the airport to walk, specially if you have luggage. So you will need a taxi to get you there and this will charge you 15-20 $ one way.
The breakfast is a joke - just a small croissant, butter and a little glass of milk

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neaOvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had t layover both on the way in and out of Papeete, and leave some luggage for 5 days. The room rate was reasonable, the storage room had everything we left in it (and we left 10 pieces for 5 days!), the rooms were basic but clean and the AC worked - although it took a few minutes to warm up.
The place is very close to the airport, a 10 min walk, but the taxi fare is $30+!! Breakfast is OK.

What made the place good for us was the friendly staff late at night and early in the morning. we arrived at 9pm with three kids and left at 5am - they were very helpful. This is not a destination, but a great place near the airport to shut your eyes for a few hours.

One major warning: Take ear plugs. Not for planes, but for the neighbour's chickens that start around 3am.

Room Tip: Family room was great for 5 of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47HamishH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Honestly if you are looking to spend 8 hours late at night before your flight to Bora or Moorea you may be just as well off taking a bench at the airport. If this is not an option for you and you have an early flight then hold your breath plug your nose and book the airport motel.

I hope you are in great shape though, cause even thoug this is right across the street from the airport you have to climb a road as steep as some mountains i have climbed! Dragging luggage behind this is not easy and if you are over 60 FORGET IT. Then when you arrive there is still no easy way to get up to the 2nd floor to check in. you have to lug your suitcases up a small set of stairs. Only then can you finally check in.

I will be fair. The check in guy was nice enough. Showed us to our room. At first glance it looked ok but after i left for a beer I came back to find the floors flooded due to no drainage for the shower and in panic the kids turned the beds up to find a hotel of spiders nests!

Nothing we could do now. We bit the bullet and tried to sleep.

There are 2 tempatures in the room. Sweating hot or freezing cold. Woke up all nioght tring to adjust the air but was never successful.

Breakfast was ok. nothing special but included in price.

Lugged the bags back down the steep slope and was glad to be the heck out of there!

Never again.

Room Tip: dont book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahitisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.9 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#1 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Airport Motel

Property: Tahiti Airport Motel
Address: PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahiti Airport Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Comfort at reasonable prices.Located in front of Tahiti Faa'a International Airport the Tahiti Airport Motel is only at 5 minutes walk from the terminal.For a greater comfort, all the rooms as well as the corridors are entirely non-smoker and air conditioned.The establishment is ideal for transit travelers or for long-term stay. The motel provides luggage storage and parking.It is a very comfortable place which proposes 46 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tahiti Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahiti Airport Hotel Faa`a
Tahiti Airport Motel French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing