We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for a Layover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahiti Airport Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tahiti Airport Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for a Layover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Tahiti Airport Hotel one en route to Moorea and Bora Bora from Auckland and would recommend it for the convenience and price.

Walk out of the airport, through the parking lot, up the ‘blue stairs’, cross the road at the crosswalk (be careful) and follow the signs at the gate to get to reception. Anyone with mobility issues will find the incline a challenge.

Check-in was efficient. The young man at reception informed about room location and breakfast time.

I paid $140US - a good price for FP as this includes free unlimited in room WiFi and breakfast. The room was nicely decorated and the entire outside wall was all window, top to bottom, giving a great view to downtown and the coast. There was fridge and a kettle with tea and sugar (no coffee).

One complaint is the bed linen consisted of a sheet. There was a decorative piece of fabric about 2 feet by 6 feet which I used as a makeshift blanket. There was no blanket or bedspread and if you are running the A/C (and you will be) you need more than a sheet.

To get your breakfast, GO TO THE RECEPTION DESK. They will give you a tray with a small box of cereal (no choice), a bowl, plastic spoon and knife, a croissant, a decent piece of baguette, jam and butter, and a cup for coffee and a small cup for juice. There’s a self serve coffee and juice machine (the OJ tasted like they floated an orange is some water, but the other fruit juice was better). It’s not much of a breakfast, but does the trick. I didn’t see a sign to advise how one accesses the tray, so I asked the others eating. They often keep the glass reception doors closed and staff may be in the back, so it can look like they are closed.

My safe, which I opened and closed several times the night before, would not open in the morning. They sent someone up as soon as management arrived with the key. Quite efficient, but glad I wasn’t leaving before management arrived!

BRING EAR PLUGS! The roosters crow all night long and the dogs woke me up at 1AM - quite a cacophony most of the night.

I liked having the airport a five minute walk away for ATM, coffee shops and there is even a McDonalds. I caught a taxi from the airport to the ferry terminal to go to Moorea. The taxi was about $20US which is about the going rate for a ten minute ride.

I would recommend the Tahiti Airport Hotel for a stop over because of its convenient location - just bring earplugs and try to snag a blanket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    190
    201
    50
    34
See reviews for
74
333
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

When you arrive on Tahiti by plane for a stopover measured better in hours than in days and you are just desperate to catch some sleep before you go on an early flight the next morning, there is no better place to stay. The bright and shiny logo of the Motel is already visible like a beacon above the airport building, when you fly in, and after passport control and picking up your baggage it is just a three minute walk beyond the car park. The friendly staff at the 24 hour reception can speak English and gives you all the information you need and you are soon on your way to the rooms in the upper levels. Unfortunately this Motel hasn't got an escalator and you are probably already sweating by hiking up the hill, but the rooms are air conditioned and have a warm shower to wash away the travel stress. We didn't feel like sleeping immediately after arrival, so we killed some time by watching television. There were only channels in French language, but travel documentaries are even nice without understanding everything. Our breakfast hamper from the reception at 5 am was consisting of baguette, cereals, croissant, butter and jam and at the beverage station we could refill our coffee, tea and juice as often as we wanted. We enjoyed the view over the airport and Moorea at sunrise for a moment and were back on the track in no time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisebaer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is not the sort of hotel to stay for a luxurious start to a holiday or first night of a honeymoon, but if like us you are arriving late into Papeete and flying out early in the morning and are there just to sleep then this is the place for you! You can see the motel from the airport and although if your luggage is heavy you may require a taxi it is possible to walk to however it is up a hill and the temperature is hot. It is obvious they have made it as difficult as possible to walk to in order for you to get a 15 dollar taxi for a 3 min ride! The reception staff were pleasant and the rooms clean although basic. I would advise a flight to bora bora or other islands as early as possible in order to make the most of your day there -we flew at 0700 and were so glad to get there early. It is expensive for what it is however it is the most convenient and as it is the only hotel close to airport they can market themselves on this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuchessSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Modern spacious, clean with hot showers (2/3 in family room) and kettle. Prime location for Faa’a airport - very convenient if early/late flight as within walking (climbing) distance up blue steps from airport

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandhopperEAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Proximity to the airport is about the only thing to recommend this place. That and the reception staff. They were very friendly. Beyond that it is absolutely basic. The lights in the bathroom didn't work. The water pressure on the 3rd floor was barely enough to run the shower. The water was only lukewarm. The juice is so watered down it is basically flavored water. I would have rated it poor except it was clean and the AC worked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xbioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We walked to the motel from the airport, and we did not have a problem getting to and from. Do not expect anything but the basics. The reception attendants were polite and helpful. The rates are relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Convenient hotel for a stopover between flights or cruises, however if your stopover is long and want to enjoy the day in the beach or swimming pool choose other hotel such us the intercontinental which during my stay wasn't much more price difference.

The hotel is easy to find, the lights can be seen from the airport and you can walk to it however be aware there is a short but steep to get there so if you have too much luggage you will sweat a bit but in any case doesn't worth to take a taxi for such short distance.

Rooms are modern, extremely basic but clean. Breakfast (self-service) is very basic as well but does the job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpejavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.9 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Airport Motel

Property: Tahiti Airport Motel
Address: PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahiti Airport Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Comfort at reasonable prices.Located in front of Tahiti Faa'a International Airport the Tahiti Airport Motel is only at 5 minutes walk from the terminal.For a greater comfort, all the rooms as well as the corridors are entirely non-smoker and air conditioned.The establishment is ideal for transit travelers or for long-term stay. The motel provides luggage storage and parking.It is a very comfortable place which proposes 46 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tahiti Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahiti Airport Hotel Faa`a
Tahiti Airport Motel French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing