We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tahiti Airport Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is not the sort of hotel to stay for a luxurious start to a holiday or first night of a honeymoon, but if like us you are arriving late into Papeete and flying out early in the morning and are there just to sleep then this is the place for you! You can see the motel from the airport and although if your luggage is heavy you may require a taxi it is possible to walk to however it is up a hill and the temperature is hot. It is obvious they have made it as difficult as possible to walk to in order for you to get a 15 dollar taxi for a 3 min ride! The reception staff were pleasant and the rooms clean although basic. I would advise a flight to bora bora or other islands as early as possible in order to make the most of your day there -we flew at 0700 and were so glad to get there early. It is expensive for what it is however it is the most convenient and as it is the only hotel close to airport they can market themselves on this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuchessSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Tahiti Airport Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 703 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Modern spacious, clean with hot showers (2/3 in family room) and kettle. Prime location for Faa’a airport - very convenient if early/late flight as within walking (climbing) distance up blue steps from airport

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandhopperEAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Proximity to the airport is about the only thing to recommend this place. That and the reception staff. They were very friendly. Beyond that it is absolutely basic. The lights in the bathroom didn't work. The water pressure on the 3rd floor was barely enough to run the shower. The water was only lukewarm. The juice is so watered down it is basically flavored water. I would have rated it poor except it was clean and the AC worked.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xbioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We walked to the motel from the airport, and we did not have a problem getting to and from. Do not expect anything but the basics. The reception attendants were polite and helpful. The rates are relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Convenient hotel for a stopover between flights or cruises, however if your stopover is long and want to enjoy the day in the beach or swimming pool choose other hotel such us the intercontinental which during my stay wasn't much more price difference.

The hotel is easy to find, the lights can be seen from the airport and you can walk to it however be aware there is a short but steep to get there so if you have too much luggage you will sweat a bit but in any case doesn't worth to take a taxi for such short distance.

Rooms are modern, extremely basic but clean. Breakfast (self-service) is very basic as well but does the job.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carpejavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The motel was close to airport, because we were warned of all the steps & wild dogs roaming around the area we took a cab to the motel, very expensive $20 for so close. But being so tired I was glad we opted for the cab, once arriving at the motel we had to walk up stairs to get to the room, which was a workout with luggage! overall the motel was clean, the room was nice, air/con, nice bathroom. Breakfast was free & gets you by. I found the staff to be nice as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachblondegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have been to Polynesia twice; once in November 2010 and in February 2012; both times arriving via Honolulu at around 11PM at night. Both times, we elected to stay at the Tahiti Airport-advertised as "across from the airport." It was hot and humid both times and we elected to take a taxi at the "across from the airport" description left out that it was up on a hill with the road zig zagging up the hill to the airport. The $25 taxi fare (you don't need local currency) was well worth it. On the way to the hotel, you will see dogs along the way waiting for the touristas that decided to be cheap and hump the difference-bad move.
The dogs favorite past time is barking at the sweating tourists lugging their luggage up the hill. When these hot and sweaty tourists arrive-they tend to blame the hotel for false advertising despite the fact that any traveler can see the motel is "up the hill, opposite the airport." After getting through the dogs, the tourists find themselves walking down a steep road to the lobby of the motel, only to find their rooms are on the third floor-back up the steep drive. There are no elevators. I feel sorry for so many with very heavy luggages forced to lug them up stairs in this very hot and humid place. On the plus side, the air conditioning works and the staff is very friendly. On our first visit, one of the front desk crew took my wife's luggage back up the hill to our third floor room. The rooms are basic-but clean. We had our doubts on the airconditioning cooling our room but it did. The room comes with a very good continental breakfast.

On both visits, while we were waiting on the taxi back to the airport, we would see the same tourists walking down the road with the dogs at the ready to bid them goodbye.

Even with the $50 transportation costs, this motel is worth it for one night. You would pay the same fare or more to go to the Intercontinental Tahiti or other hotels which charge about three times what you pay at this motel.

Travel Observation: On our February 2012 trip, we noticed a couple with at least 4 Louis Vuitton bags they were carrying with them. This resulted in extra attention at the arrival at Papeete Airport (xray machines) and when catching a domestic flight the next day. Moral of the story-if you have many L.V.'s-expect to be searched.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floor (near the lobby) so you don't have to walk up the hill to g...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.9 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
2.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
281 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,066 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Airport Motel

Address: PO Box 60113, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range: $113 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tahiti Airport Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Comfort at reasonable prices.Located in front of Tahiti Faa'a International Airport the Tahiti Airport Motel is only at 5 minutes walk from the terminal.For a greater comfort, all the rooms as well as the corridors are entirely non-smoker and air conditioned.The establishment is ideal for transit travelers or for long-term stay. The motel provides luggage storage and parking.It is a very comfortable place which proposes 46 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tahiti Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahiti Airport Hotel Faa`a
Tahiti Airport Motel French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing