We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended 100%”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2007

I was delighted with my stay at the Intercontiental Tahiti. Good service, very nice people. Always smiling and friendly. Good breakfast buffet, nice swimming pools. We enjoyed very much the lagoonarium.
Rooms are really nice and with a beautiful view at the Panoramic rooms.
Simply loved it. Wish I would have decided beforehand to stay a few days more.
The island is lovely and there are many things to see, before you visit the other islands.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank IaOranaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,165 - 2,171 of 3,350 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2007

We just returned from a 2 week trip to Tahiti, staying our first 3 nights at the Intercontinental. We do not regret our decision in choosing this hotel. Day one we slept in, later took a cab to the nearby Museum of Tahiti and its people, and spent the afternoon at the 2 hotel pools. Day 2 we did the Around the Island tour . Even though we are from the NY metro area we found the traffic to be very heavy and confusing on the main island so we preferred to have a guided tour. The staff of the hotel is friendly and accomodating and the location excellent. The Polynesian show is very professional and highly rated. There is a 2 mile fitness trail on the premises and a fitness center is being constructed at this time.This is a good place to start your tour of the islands. Yes, we had the rooster crowing right under our windows for hours, so if you are a light sleeper be prepared!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stonewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Contrary to our travel agents advise, we decided to stay on the island of Tahiti for 3 nights so that we could go to the Gaugin Museum and to do some shopping. (Advise: it is much cheaper to buy gifts such as vanilla, monoi oil and black pearls in Papeete than on the other islands). After reading the Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to stay at the Intercontinental Hotel. We loved it! It is close to the airport, it has 2 very good restaurants, a huge fresh water pool, and best of all, a seawater lagoon that is stocked with tropical fish. You can snorkle in the lagoon, and as I found out later after going to Bora Bora, this lagoon is the best place to see the largest variety of fish in one spot. Be sure to bring your underwater cameras!

The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Upon check-in we were given a room that appeared fine except later in the evening we realized that we were near the bar, which played music late into the night. The next morning, staff gave us a great room. The rooms have beautiful views of Moorea in the distance. The sun sets over Moorea, so we made sure our plans would bring us back to the hotel for sun set. It is the best view on the island of Tahiti.

Food in Polynesia is expensive, so we weren't shocked to see that the breakfast buffet cost 31,000 fpf per person (approx. $35). The variety of food was good, fresh and they even had wine! So, we had a very relaxing breakfast, skipped lunch and then had dinner at their restaurants. Excellent food. On Friday and Saturday nights they have a buffet with a polynesian dance show - both the food and the show were excellent. We would love to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank NormalHeightsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Intercontinental for our Honeymoon. We stayed in a Panoramic Garden Room #199. We stayed from July 9-11. We took a direct flight from JFK to Papeete. For any of you who are nervous about flying direct for 13 hours DONT BE. Tahiti Nui was awesome. We flew coach going there and business class coming home and the service was wonderful. From the second you take off they immediately give out little comfort packages, a menu, and drinks. Alcohol is free. The meals were basic in coach but was pretty good. We landed in Papeete around 1:30am and got to the Beachcomber about 2 and into the room about 2:15. Our room was all the way down on the end and was very quiet and peaceful. We has a little patio right across from the restaurant with the swim up bar. We were very impressed with the airport/hotle transfers. They had our name on a board and was waiting for us. I have to say they were pretty effecient. Since we badically stayed a day and a half we did not have a meal plan. We ate breakfast the first morning and it was expensive, about $50 US. So eat up so it lasts you through lunch time. We found out there was a market about 10 minutes away walking distance where we were able to buy some snacks, wine, and botled water. The concierge was very helpful in setting up an island tour and dinner reservations. We went to a restaurant called La Bouge which was very good. The restaurant actually comes and picks you up but it was $50. On other islands like Moorea the transportation was free. Be prepared to buy bottled water for every meal. It adds up. The hotel is very clean and the lay out makes it feel rather large. On the island tour we went on the taxi driver said it was one of the best hotels and he prefers it over others. They have ocean access, 2 pools, and a lagoon where you can go snorkeling. We loved it and would definetely recommend it to anyone else planning on going.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Islandgil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

The InterContinental is by far the best run hotel in all of Tahiti. The food is better than any other hotel on any island (we have been to five islands and stayed at over 14 hotels in visiting Tahiti ten times since 1986).
The overwater bungalows are great, but this is not the best island for swimming so they really don't have to be booked to enjoy your stay here. A normal room at this property will suffice as long as you "try" an overwater unit on some other island.
The staff of this hotel are trained for service and friendliness. They do their jobs more professionally than any other venue we have ever stayed in.
This hotel is close to the airport, but far enough away so that airport noise doesn't ruin your stay.
The only bad thing about this hotel is having to leave.
We cannot say enough good things about this jewel in paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cacdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

My partner and I stayed here for 5 days on the way to USA and Europe. We found the hotel to be the ideal spot for a relaxing stopover. Two great swimming pools, one infinity, with a sand bottom and the other large enough to cater for the number of guests using it whilst we were there. Also there is a lagoon pool surrounded by small beaches and you can swim in it with the fish and stingrays swimming around you.The grounds and gardens are beautiful and well laid out for strolling around.
The room we had was in need of some refurbishment but was comfortable and had a walk out balcony overlooking the large pool, and the sea breaking over the reefs with the island of Moorea in the distance.
We only ate in the main hotel retaurant and found rhe food adequate for our needs .
There is a hotel courtesy bus service also available to take you into Papeete which is about 5 kms from the hotel and there are small shops and a supermarket about a 15 munute walk from the hotel.
The only complaint we had was that the room we had was not what was pictured in the travel brochure ( a frequent occurrence we find), however apart from this we enjoyed our stay and would return.

7  Thank portmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

Almost a year later I'm writing this review, but hope it will help. I don't feel the OWB is worth the price, but if it's once in a lifetime experience - Why Not!! We stayed here around Aug 26, 2006 after our cruise on the Tahitian Princess. Air, cruise, and here were arranged through Princess. Due to storms the water off our OWB was cold and cloudy until the day we left, then it cleared up and the fish I saw off the deck was amazing. A real bummer to leave just when things were getting good. The clouds did make for some beautiful sunsets with Moorea. It is true that everything is very expensive and if you're from the States it's even worse due to the falling value of the dollar. We were celebrating our 50th so we went with a devil-may-care attitude towards price. We really wanted to try the Le Lotus restaurant, but were unable to get reservations. We were there Friday and Saturday nights. We had the dinner buffet (seafood) on Friday night and the a la carte menu Saturday night. There was a show each night. The seafood buffet I thought was a joke. Split, cold lobster (taste was not worth the work in removing the meat) and a white fish. But everything else was great. The duck legs in orange sauce and the roast beef in mushroom sauce were wonderful. I must have gained 50 pounds from the dessert table alone. Saturday night were had steak sandwiches and cokes ($22 each). Choosing the buffet will get you better tables to view the show. The first night the room was swarmed by termites, thousands. Our choice was to spray the bugs and ourselves or turn on the outside lights and open the doors. We picked the latter. It'd take more than a few bugs to ruin this anniversary. The resort has basically two sections: an old part (motu OWB and airport side rooms); and a new section that has the newer hotel rooms, the sand pool, and the larger, more expensive OWB. If you look at the aerial picture from the IC web site it's easy to see the split. Maybe with the Tahitian Princess not sailing in FP in May - Sept they will offer specials to bring down the price and purchasing the Ambassador Club to upgrade the room, then maybe the OWB will be worth the price. I would stay at this resort, but not in the OWB, unless it is a very special occasion.


  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cruisenut2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
5.7 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
301 reviews
18.9 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range: $375 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing