We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location, Accommodations ready for the refurbishment just started”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Accommodations ready for the refurbishment just started”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently stayed in an over water bungalow at this resort. A beautiful view and a once in a lifetime experience. Once we got to our room, it was quiet and secluded and a great experience. Accommodations were clean but a bit dated and they have started a modernization project to update the bungalows. The resort itself never felt crowded, but we were there for a cruise ship arrival and departure day where the cruise line had booked pre- and post- cruise packages at this resort. So, Reception was overwhelmed and had a lot of people looking to check in at very very early times.

Pool area was very nice. Staff was quite helpful, but English was a second or third language for most. A great place for about a two night stay both for the experience and to see the island of Tahiti. It was not comparable to similarly priced resorts say in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Breakfast is really good but really expensive, by pre-paying we were able to get breakfast included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti !
Thank you for your review and nice comments.
We look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    1,138
    412
    141
    87
See reviews for
374
2,029
90
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there only overnight. Hotel looks quite old and the rooms even worse. The pool areas and beaches seemed very nice. We had room service which was efficient and good was good. Staff is very nice and helpful. But the hotel itself is in great need of a makeover.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IstanbulSenator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti !
Thank you for staying with us and for your review.
By reading your comments we understand that the service at our Tahiti Resort met with your expectations. We appreciate your comment referring to the fact that the Intercontinental Tahiti is in need of refurbishment : for your information renovation projects are presently being finalized and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on another ocaasion.
Yours faithfully.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

They promise and charge like a 5* resort, but the room looks more like a 2* hotel in Paris: old wooden worn-out furniture and the bathroom looks like my grandmother's house. The outdoor facilities are nice, but overcrowded, if you don't show up first thing in the morning to claim a deckchair, just forget about it (unless you enjoy lying in the sun without any shade). We had lunch in one of the restaurants, the burger was very average, while the pizza was just gross (seemed to be microwaved). Service also very bad, for example no assistance whatsoever with our luggage.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RogerChengdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your review.
InterContinental Tahiti Resort and Spa does say itself nor advertise on being 5stars as it is a four star property. Without pretention, just trying its best, it has been rewarded each year in various travel magazines and very well rated within the Pacific.
We took good note of each of your remarks and please accept our apologies for the lack of service you have suffered and inconvenience caused.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to serving you in the future to show you how great is our hotel, as so many of our visitors can attest.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice the past week.
The first stay was pleasant. Given an upgrade to a nice room. Hotel a bit shabby-chic, but fine.
Returned for the stay from hell.
At check-in was assigned a horrible room with a bathroom right out of a youth hostel. The room was OK but loud from the bar music nearby. Went back to the front desk to ask to move rooms. Was actually told this would be fine and would be upgraded to an overwater villa, which was nice. When I got to the front desk the Assistant manager told me he had no idea what I was on about. I explained and the guy was so rude he actually told me I was confusing him.
I explained I was coming to get key to a new room, and he demanded I explain why...in front of other guests, which was quite rude and unprofessional. I told him the room was old fashioned and loud. He said "no it is not"......ok so we were at an impasse. I considered checking out immediately and heading for the superior Le Meridien.
I asked for a new room again and he now told me they were suddenly sold out of overwater villas...which was wierd as my wife pulled up availability live on the internet and they were selling 2 more rooms that very night on the IHG.com website....He said it was wrong and they were demolishing all the rooms....very odd and a lie, but ok.
I still could not sleep in a room with bar music though so asked for any other room [I really didnt care what kind of room], and was told the 288 room hotel was FULL [which was weird since it was empty and....ALL the rooms were again for sale on ihg.com for that night]. Another lie.
Just when we were about to checkout, he suddenly "found" a dirty room and it needed 45 mins to clean it. When we said, fine we will wait he suddenly said "its now clean" ....wow nice to see yet another lie.
We immediately went to the room, which was fine, and there was no sign of any housekeeping staff anywhere in the hotel...odd how they just cleaned a whole room in 30 seconds then hid all the carts and staff... all in all this pretty much sullied the whole trip.
I forget the assistant managers name as he was very forgetable, but if you meet a really rude guy who has no time for non-french guests..he is your man!
so please stay here if you like the 1970's, you like the lack of airport shuttle bus even though the hotel is literally a 5 min drive (or US$25 taxi away) [they seem to be in a kick back relationship with a few cab drivers], and you love being yelled at in front of other guests. If that sounds like rubbish to you, please go elsewhere.
Its funny how rude staff can ruin a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RichardCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest;
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are sincerely concerned to learn that your short sojourn with us did not meet with your expectations but as explained to you, as we have corresponded with you last week by mail, your main concerned comes from the fact that you would have preferred to be upgraded to an overwater bungalow lagoon junior suite.

We do value our IHG Platinum Members, and on that respect, you have been offered on a complimentary basis a double upgrade from garden view room to our deluxe panoramic room.
When you stated that we had overwater bungalows left on the inventory and according to our records, we do only have one left and on high day of occupancy, we can take the right to keep our bungalows on sale. In addition our Front office clerk did not lie to you as indeed, our overwater bungalows motu are closed for sale for renovations.

As for our Front Office Clerk attitude, we are truly disconcerted by your experience and surprised by your comments as this is probably the hotel most complimented employee.

Last regarding airport shuttle please note that local regulation in Tahiti do not allowed us to operate airport transfers ; Transfers must be pre-arranged before your sojourn by a ground operator or you may book a taxi on last minute which may involved a long wait if massive wave of departures.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to serving you in the future to show you how great is our hotel, as so many of our visitors can attest.

Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed there for an overnight stay to catch our flight back to LA. The room was clean, but old type, Holiday Inn style but correctly maintained, except for the shower which was in a pretty bad shape. The restaurant was quite poor, in a style gone 40 years ago. We had a dinner, which was quite poor in quality, overpriced, with bad service. The pool and artificial lagoon was quite nice and well maintained. There`s virtually no usable beach at this hotel. Important factor in choosing this hotel is the proximity to the airport (5Km) and 20$ taxi ride.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take the overwater bungalow with gives a very good view on the ocean and Moore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPIECOTE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your review.
The matters you have raised particularly regarding the service at our restaurant had been sent to appropriate Head of department.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary steps to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
If you ever decide to return to Tahiti please do let us know referring to this correspondence as we would like to extend a special attention to you and demonstrate a much better level of service.

We remain at your service.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a first rate place and I recommend it. The day we were there the electricity was shut off from 7 am until noon but we had to leave at 5:30 for a flight so it didn't matter. The restaurant had the best onion soup I've ever had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybetsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your comments.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused by the electrical outage beyond our control and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here overnight to catch a flight out the next day to Bora Bora. The rooms were clean and in good shape. The restaurant was nice and the buffet breakfast was excellent. We had a few hours to roam the grounds which were very nice and tropical. The hotel and grounds all seemed in good shape. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had no complaints about anything and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dino077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from InterContinental Tahiti !
We would like first of all to thank you for posting your review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us to improve and provide the best guest experience possible.
We are glad to read that on this occasion you had a good experience at our Tahiti Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
19.0 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing