We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "airport" hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great "airport" hotel”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from Bora Bora before catching our flight the next morning to Los Angeles. Arrived around 8pm and left at 6:30 am the next morning so not too much to say other than this was a convenient place to stay for a short time. It's much nicer than an average airport hotel -- very clean rooms with comfortable bed and nice bathroom. We were hungry when we arrived as it was dinner time and sorry to say the food was not great. It was dark when we got in so we really couldn't see much of the grounds, however early the next morning we explored a little bit - beautiful pool area (too bad we couldn't stay to enjoy) and bountiful buffet breakfast (which was included in our room rate). About 10 minutes from the Papeete airport and about a $16 taxi fare.

Room Tip: If you're staying for convenience try to get a room in the main building. If you're staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Trvlshuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for posting your comments on trip Advisor after your recent stay at Intercontinental Tahiti Resort. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that overall, you were satisfied with the facilities provided by our property.
We hope to see you again in the future, for a longer stay...
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    1,196
    437
    148
    89
See reviews for
397
2,139
94
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Situated near the Tahiti FAA'A Airport, that's the 1st step to rest after 24h flight. Big resort but I enjoyed the atmosphere, the sand made swimming-pool looking at the sunset on Moorea Island. Restaurant Service is great and proposes a large choice for breakfast. Twice a week customers have the opportunity to see the Polynesian show and eat Polynesian buffet. Great over view on Polynesian heritage! The bed and matress are the best have ever tried. Great decoration of the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelphineDty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest:
Ia Orana and thank you for your review.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and your positive feedback will be shared with our Team.
Indeed to give to our guests an authentic taste of Polynesia, we present a program of dinner shows during which dinner is followed by an exciting performance of the unique Tahitian dances:Each Wednesday: "Marquesas Night" with the legends and powerful Marquesas Islands dances & a Buffet featuring Polynesian and Marquesas specialties ; Each Friday: "Soirée Merveilleuse" with «Les Grand Ballets de Tahiti" who presents their Grand Polynesian Revue on exclusivity at our Resort.
Our Te Tiare Restaurant team does its best to make these evenings an unforgettable moment where the The restaurant is transformed into a real theater for magnificent dinner shows which allow our guests to discover the Traditional Polynesian culture.
Thank you for choosing the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort & spa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Public Relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in a panoramic view room (397) from 6 to 10 Nov before heading to Bora Bora and it was terrific. Room was large, as was the bathroom, clean and well appointed. The bed was up the expected IC standard and was serviced daily. Our view was great, Lotus Pool out to Moorea. We had no problems with the air traffic and can't understand how anyone could complain. Highly recommend that room type. Our return trip on 15 November was in a Lagoon View room and the only good thing was the view. The AC did not function well enough to cool the room, the bed was very old and hard and not at all what we expect from IC properties. The bathroom tiny and although the shower was a trickle at best, it managed to saturate the entire bathroom floor making it quite dangerous. I do NOT recommend that room type. It is an older style property but it has absolutely everything you need for a great stay. The dive centre staff are brilliant and there are heaps of free activities to choose from. The only staff who let the IC down were a couple at check in but overall the staff were outstanding, particularly the restaurant team who dealt wit rude and demanding guests so well. I comment the IC on their staff. Room service was delivered quicker than they said it would be and both times were on nights when they had the restaurant show and buffet on as well. The food was always well presented, hot and generous in portion. The only negative were the weird scrambled eggs each morning that were hard lumps in runny cream like sauce. Not good but everything else was superb. The pool boys ( I hate calling them that) are a credit to the IC and made our stay wonderful. They were attentive but not intrusive and had to deal on a daily basis with obnoxious rude and loud unwelcome visitors from cruise ships in dock. For some reason they thought they cold just walk in and use the facilities and annoy everyone then leave. The boys handled them brilliantly with the support of we guests who did not want their loud mouths around us. I think the IC needs to address this problem as one was a particularly loud and rude group of female Americans fro a cruise who wanted to party and pretty much refused to leave the property. I don't think IC should leave it up to staff. The pools are fantastic and beautifully maintained. We spent our time in the Lotus Pool down near the Panoramic rooms and cannot recommend it highly enough. Plenty of lounges and towels and much quieter than up at the main pool for adults. Iris in the swim up bar makes the best cocktails and they service from the boys was fantastic. Overall the property was extremely well maintained and the staff welcoming warm and friendly. Tahiti has a lot of Europeans and they can be so very rude at times but the Polynesian people we met were absolutely fantastic. We are ambassadors and checkin and out the first stay were great but the second stay, we were ignored while one team member checked in group after group who arrived after us. When they finally called someone to help us she was apologetic and efficient. We had an early flight home and the hotel arranged a light breakfast of toast, juice, coffee and muffins on the deck of the lobby bar. It was served within about 60 seconds of presenting ourselves and we loved it. I would recommend this property to anybody considering a trip to Tahiti, even if it is just a stop over before heading out the islands, The staff and property really make this IC but the older style rooms let them down a bit. I would have given 4 stars if not for our return visit. Well done IC Tahiti, we cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: Panoramic View Rooms are the way to go, avoid Lagoon View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your detailed review about your stay at the Intercontinental hotel in Tahiti and for your kind words about your general positive experience with us.
We have taken in careful consideration your remarks about the reception staff; we always try to give excellent service in all the hotel's outlets, which was apparently not the case upon your second stay due to heavy massive waves of arrivals
Thank you also for your good feedback about our restaurant staff; this makes us really proud!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in one of our hotels around the world and we extend our best regards.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sour Lake, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

All the places in Tahiti are expensive so just know that before you go. You are going to paradise so take that into consideration. This hotel is beautiful and well located. It is near the airport so when you arrive usually late at night you are close to getting to bed. The staff was helpful and what's wrong with having handsome shirtless Tahitian men carry your bags. The room was nice and very clean. The view of the ocean was awesome. The pools were beautiful and clean. There are lots of water activities at the resort. The restaurants had good service and the breakfast buffet was adequate but at $50 it was pricey. The food was just okay which was surprising for a resort this nice.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking ocean. If you can afford an over the water bungalow that is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti !
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely yours.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Tahiti is gorgeous and amazing, but it is wonderful to stay at a hotel that is a paradise unto itself. The natural lagoons, views of Moorea and the fab food and drinks, makes this a "must see" location for anyone traveling in the South Pacific. I felt that this is how the entire world should be!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view of the water and the island of Moorea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti ! Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you had a perfect stay at our Tahiti Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely.
Guest relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is overall a beautiful and relaxing place with gorgeous views. The staff are friendly and try hard to be of assistance. However, it is very expensive and everything is an extra cost. Very few people spoke English although they seemed to understand it. Overall service in the restaurant was extremely slow but food was delicious. We had a very difficult time getting water as I'm sure their preference was for us to order drinks. We had a very late flight when leaving and asked to stay in our room for a late check out. They wanted to charge us for this and offered a "changing room" for our use when we left. After packing everything up, going to desk to check out and reluctantly opting for the changing room they did agree to let us stay in our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyKC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Tahiti ! Thank you for visiting us and for your review.
In reference to your comments regarding excessive prices, we can assure you that the margins we apply in French Polynesia are actually lower than the international hotels practice ; Tahiti is a remote island and for example, most of the food is being imported from overseas (often by air for fresh food and vegetables), they are also heavily taxed and the cost of raw material in general is extremely high thus incomparable with prices practiced in most countries unfortunately.
We will definitely take in consideration your remark regarding the service at our Tiare restaurant : thank you for this feedback which will help us to improve our service to you, our guests.
Thank you again for your review and we hope we will have the possibility of welcoming you again in Tahiti or in another Intercontinental hotel around the world!
Best regards,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The BeachComber is a very good place to stay when traveling to Tahiti. The hotel is close to the airport which is very convenient. The offer offers many facilities like one large swimming pool, on sand made swimming pool, a diving center (TopDive)... Polynesian shows happen on Wednesday and Friday. I love so much the firm mattresses. However, the wifi is incredibly expensive ! Even gold members have a free restricted access (only 2 devices per room).

Room Tip: Choose a room with Lagon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti !
Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Tahiti and for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we also took good note of your remarks. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in one of our hotels around the world and we extend our best regards.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,061 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,749 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing