We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

InterContinental Resort Tahiti is a large hotel, with two swimming pools, several reataurants and bars and small lagoonarium. Also is located in close proximity to busy airport which means that most of the time is full of people transferring to other islands or to cruise ships. Our situation was the same, we were spending there just one night before our flight home. And it was nightmare. When we arrived, the reception was full of people, we had to spend one hour standing in the queue as there was no chairs available at all. After that we went for lunch and spent another half an hour just waiting for a free table. Then, exhausted, all we wanted was cool down in the pool. The bigger one was out of questions, as a wild crowd was in and around the pool, with no place to sit down. But fortunately there was another one, smaller, but so much more relaxing, with pool bar. But it was already late afternoon, and what was supposed to be lazy, take-it-easy day, turned out to be total misery. It seems to me like the staff or hotel amenities were not prepared for that amount of guests to make everyone stay enjoyable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Justeen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, more particularly your overall check in experience which was not quick and efficient.
Indeed we try our hardest to satisfy all our guests' requests however, on high occupancy days such as your check-in date was , we cannot sometimes comply our guests' wishes within the shortest possible time and do apologize for the inconveniences caused.
We sincerely hope that your future plan will include Tahiti and should you come back, please let us know as we would be more than happy to welcome you back and show you the true hospitality of our Tahiti Resort.
Yours faithfully.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    1,120
    404
    141
    87
See reviews for
364
2,003
90
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

What to say about my stay there??? I will start with the good part as it will be quick : thank you Teiva and Heitaina for their support during my stay as they made feeling really home despite all the bad experiences I faced during the stay!!! Speaking of which, I absolutely recommend to avoid this hotel for several reasons : very old rooms very far away from Intercontinental usual standards; the activities are so out of ages, and still the same year after year; the hygiene is really worrying as i found hair and insects few times in my food; the attitude of staff and managers is really unexpected as they always tried to deny first my concerns before admitting them facing my evidences. JUST ONE ADVICE: do not come to this property!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruben U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you very much for taking the time to writte your comments. Your review appears to be from a stay more than one year ago. Since then, our hotel has undergone many upgrades of our rooms and public areas. Our hotel is indeed in excellent shape and we are delighted to invite you back to our property.
To ensure your complete satisfaction, please contatc us at intercontinental.tahiti@ihg.com so we may obtain additional details about your last experience.
Thank you again for your comments.
Yours Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a long layover in Tahiti on a flight from New Zealand to the United States. This is the closest hotel to the airport. The airport is small and open-air, so we stayed at the hotel to relax, shower, and take a nap.

If you stay at this hotel, I recommend that you request a room that is as far away as possible from the jazz band in the bar.

I was not aware at the time of any noise issues, so I took the room that I was assigned. It was near the bar. Our efforts to relax during our short layover were hindered greatly by the noise from the band.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank JustPassingThrough22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Greetings from Tahiti !
Thank you for your review on your stay.
We are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction due to the noise and be assured we will review this point to avoid similar situation in the future.
Please accept our apologies on this issue, and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.
Sincerely Yours.
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford.UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for four nights in a Panoramic Room.Balcony overlooked a sandy pool area with swim up bar.Just what the travel brochures describe as 'South Pacific'
The hotel is well run and we found the staff very helpful.Meals were taken in theTiare Restaurant which we found very comfortable.
We will be back again next January for a visit and dinner.
A very nice spot for some R & R

Room Tip: Second floor Panoramic Rooms away from the main pool overlooking the pool with sandy beach and swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OldseadogOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
ia Orana and thank you for your nice review.
We are very happy to see that your stay was a positive experience.
By reading your comments, we understand that you will be back in January ; Please let us know the dates of your next sojourn by contacting us at intercontinental.tahiti@ihg.com (referring to this correspondence) as we would welcome the opportunity to meet you in person and fulfill your wishes.
Yours sincerely.
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed there for 3 weeks. Was a great experience. Very friendly staff. The food was great. The only downturn was the beach since there was none. But the pools where great.
The restaurant's offered great food.
What I found out is that this hotel was mostly used as a hub for stopovers to other islands. But I really liked it.
One downturn was the close airport. Could be noisy for people which are very noise sensitive.

Room Tip: If you are not in a hut on the water I liked my room 318. Great balcony to chill out and enjoy the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonDerDiggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest:
Ia Orana from Tahiti and thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely yours.
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Coming from Brazil, the easiest way to reach Papeete (Tahiti) was via Santiago (Chile) in the LAN Chile flight. Our plane landed in the Faa'a airport around 1am (Sep 10th). After a short wait for immigration and customs procedures, with a few local musicians playing some folk songs, passing the exit door we were greeted by the representative of our travel agency, as we had been warned. We chose to purchase international air ticket via the LAN site, and got a custom package and flights between the islands via a local agent, the easytahiti /travel one.

After waiting another couple who had also come under the same travel agency, we headed to the Intercontinental Tahiti where we would stay only one night. There is no regular transport (boat or plane) between the islands at night.

The lobby was full, including a group doing their check in. Being old clients and members of IHG Rewards Club we could be met immediately at the priority counter. Our reservation was correct and our papers ready. We were blessed with two upgrades in relation to our original booking. After registering our credit card, we were transported in a small car to our apartment. Our apartment was number 285, one King Bed Panoramic View.

The room was great, large, clean, comfortable, and the bathroom is also large with a jacuzzi. The decor and conservation were impeccable. The next day we saw the beautiful view from our balcony.

The staff always attentive and never fail to greet guests. As we were going to take flight to Moorea in the 11:55am flight, we had little time to enjoy the great hotel pools, which is located overlooking Moorea. The breakfast was excellent with many varieties and far superior to what we had in the other IC sisters (Moorea and Bora Bora Thalasso).

The check-out was extremely fast and soon our transport took us to the airport where we checked in to Moorea (the flight itself takes about 7 minutes, but it was included in our passes for use between the islands). Māuruuru roa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Odarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Ia Orana from Tahiti and thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you feel you receive great service, as it's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.
Thanks again for staying with us. As a Priority Club Rewards member, we truly appreciate it.
Sincerely.
Pubic Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a fantastic resort. The rooms are amazing and the grounds and pools are great. The staff are good and it has all of the luxury amenities that Intercontinental can offer. It really is the perfect way to begin and/or end a trip to Bora Bora or the other islands

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c827g637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for this wonderful comment and glad to see you bring good memories from your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely Yours.
Public Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
19.1 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing