We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahiti Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental on Tahiti just overnight before our trip to Moorea, but it was beautiful and service was great. Ate at the restaurant there and food was perfect.It was a perfect place to stay while waiting for our flight out the next day to Moorea.

Room Tip: I would recommend on your retun portion of the trip if leaving from Bora Bora so you dont have to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler4880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and you appreciated the service and the food in our restaurant.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 3,350 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We flew in from New York and decided to spend 2 days in Tahiti....based on reviews, our expectations were mild.

We were pleasantly surprised - very welcoming upon arrival at 5:30am with a day room to shower and freshen up. I'm an ambassador member, worth the $200 / year, and was able to get my room at 10am.

Personally, this is not the place to do the over the water bungalows. We stayed on the third floor ( #375 I think ) and had a beautiful panoramic view of the ocean and island of Moorea. Perfect. Rooms are nice and fitting of the location.....this is not a trendy hotel in New York, so it shouldn't be decorated that way.

Breakfast buffet was great - tons of options and good food. All other meals were very good as well....my wife is a strict vegetarian and she had options.

Tip - skip the main pool area and go to the smaller infinity pool near the Lotus Restaurant. The view is to die for and it's not crowded! We spent all day here in awe.

Room Tip: Skip the bungalow - go for a 300 level room furthest from the main hotel section. Lotus pool is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tgoeltz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its services!

We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Tahiti!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for two days at the beginning of our trip and one full day (but not overnight) at the end of our trip. We were treated very well; as Priority Club members we were given an upgrade and a welcome cocktail. The restaurant food is average and the service is slow. We had only booked one night in an over-the-water bungalow but were upgraded to two nights (as Priority Club members). The hotel is convenient to the airport and although Papeete is a fairly large city, the resort felt isolated and quiet. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you don't want to pay extra for over the water, the garden view rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melsgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you overall liked the hotel and that you would come back! We have taken good note of your comment about the restaurant, thank you for having highlighted this, it helps us in trying to improve!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Intercontinental Resort Tahiti is a great Hotel with a nice service, but only to stay one or two nights, in our way to the islands. It's worth to go to Papeete downtown to see the market and nothing else is realyy special. The main problema of the Hotel is that it doesn't really have a beach. A swimming pool and a Lagonarium is not enough! Rooms are ok (4 stars) and breakfast is really good1 The staff is very helpful and nice! I definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Room 182! Really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel, we are happy to see that you would recommend it to other travellers!

Hotel access to the beaches in Tahiti is not common, due to the nature of ths island in itself; the IHC Tahiti offers a huge pool and lagoonarium over the ocean and an infinity pool next to our Lotus restaurant, which are quite appreciated by our guests.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform readers that Tahiti has a lot to offer and it would be worth staying more nights to explore the wild nature of the mountains, the volcanic black beaches, the three cascades, the "trou du souffleur", the "presq'ile" and much more!

Thank you again for having stayed with us and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Incredibly beautiful hotel with the most incredible view across to Moorea. When we checked in the view from the reception area blew us away. Staff very polite, and perhaps a little aloof but you have to keep in mind that it is French Polynesia. Room was lovely, view out over the water was divine, and the balcony was a great place to watch the sun set in the evenings. Bed was a little hard for my liking, and only a shower over the bath, but the room was still comfortable and clean. Totally recommend the restaurant for breakfast, best croissants ever! A perfect hotel to recharge your soul.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwimike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to express your satisfaction with your stay in our hotel, this is sincerely appreciated! We are very happy that Tahiti has contributed to recharge your soul! Looking forward to having you again on a future trip.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had for once to spend the night near Tahiti Papeete Faaa airport and so due to an early departure with Air France.

My initial choice was the closest to the airport and found the Tahiti Airport Motel. Great location, lousy access by going through steps all the way with luggage*. The other turn off point was the price. (*The Luggage lockers only open at 6 Am at the airport, too late for my 4:45 Am check in) .
I spent the cost* of the locker for a taxi to the Intercontinental resort and Spa (*1500 CFP)

i found that for a similar cost i could stay in the 5 * resort of the Intercontinental Tahiti.. Just a few minutes away from the airport and a world apart from the motel !
The welcome was the warmest with the best fruit cocktail upon arrival.

The view is simply spectacular with the sun slowly descending behind Moorea ( the last impression is always the best )

The resort spreads around an exclusive area by the ocean. The hotel provides transfers via Mini trucks to your building
The rooms were tropical in the feel and decor.
Great large bath tube, shower with a window looking through the room so not to miss a second of the light show offered by the sun.

The room offers all the modern amenities with available Wifi for a fee ( your name and room number would open the access once you accept the charge ( 900 CFP). US style plugs are available at the desk and bathroom counter ( I suggest to purchase a travel USB hub to plug in one device with 3 or 4 USB plugs to recharge the cell phone before your trip, the camera and Ipad and whats nots. Great choices of TV channels are available in French and English

Most uncommon with many hotels, there are 2 complimentary bottles of water on the counter with a nice flower display in a true polynesian welcome.

The Resort offers 2 pools with a Lagoonarium, Multiple dining option from the pool bar to the deluxe top rated restaurant on the island the Lotus.

We used the pool for artistic purposes only at sunset ( see photos). Make sure to book some spa time in advance, the place gets busy especially at the end of the afternoon.

The wake up service was right on time and a friendly porter showed up at the door less than 5 minutes after the call. quick mini truck trip back to the front counter and managed a quick check out.

Mae sure to arrange before hand for a taxi at the off business hours.
My enterprising taxi driver "Fifi" offered to share the cab with another couple ( for 1000 CFP ) .

A definite great choice to spend a last night in Paradise!

Room Tip: when booking an Overwater bungalow, ask for the overwater bungalow suite ( that is the size of the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meherio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your the very nice comments. We hope you enjoyed your trip in French Polynesia and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in one of our Intercontinental hotels.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was the second year in a row that we stayed at InterContinental Tahiti. It was the starting stay and finishing stay (each of 3 nights), on our French Polynesian journey.

On the main island of Tahiti, Intercontinental is hands down the only choice! The property is gorgeous from all areas and all rooms. I highly recommend staying in the overwater bungalows. We have stayed in both varieties, both lovely but with different floor plans. Very important, the beds at all InterContinental properties are heavenly. They even offer a pillow menu, which includes my favorite ergonomic neck pillow.

Both pools are gorgeous. The swim up bar infinity pool is my favorite. Maina is our favorite bartender, who remembered my drink from our last visit a year ago. (Grey Goose Mojito... she makes it perfect.) The Lagoonarium is a simulated local reef area, for guests to snorkel with many varieties of local fish and sea life. My only suggestion, for peaceful intentions, is for the pool areas is better monitoring of keeping the children only at the kid friendly pool. There were very few children at all of our stays, at all locations... which was a bonus.

The restaurants and bars have amazing food and drinks. Howe

The InterContinental Gold Ambassador Card was our best purchase in the past year. Thank goodness we purchased it last year, and were able to take full advantage of it's benefits on 3 islands. The card gives guests an immediate upgrade to the best room possible for all nights of your stay. All but our very first night, our very first IC check it, we have stayed in various overwater bungalows for the price of $180 or less per night. Amazing! Plus, we received a gift certificate for a free night stay in any room, which we used on this trip.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the overwater bungalows. Both varieties have great private patios and little stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaPerryCrawshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about our hotel, it really made our day! Your kind words are the best reward for our team's work and help us in trying to give better and better service.

Thank you for your loyalty to Intercontinental hotels and we hope to see you again next year!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
5.7 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
301 reviews
18.9 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range: $375 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing