We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The first step in writing a good review is to understand expectations of hotels in different countries to your own is always going to be impaired. So here goes!

We stayed here for an overnight stop over to/from Bora Bora, it was good for a 12 hour stay.

The welcome at reception on arrival was fantastic and fairly straight forward. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Once we had our room we advised the porter who took us to our room.

Breakfast in the morning was hit and miss with most of the hot food actually luke warm or cold which did nothing for the taste, thank goodness for sauce! However, the restaurant and food was set up well. But easily congested around the buffet with a few people.

Now for the room. Very well appointed with a vintage polynesian feel to it. The bed was a bit creaky, however comfortable for a nights sleep after a long day of travelling. The bathroom left alot to be desired however with mould growing on the roof due to a lack of ventilation and the shower seemed somewhat hap-hazard. After showering the bath mat was soaked with water due to the way it is set up. That was my main issue with the room, otherwise it was a good place to stay.

We stayed in a garden view room which was actually right on the water so that was a nice surprise.

Stay here for the transit night as it's only a short 5 minute drive from Fa'a Airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodgyvalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your time in expressing your feedback about the Intercontinental hotel in Tahiti and for your fairness in your initial consideration.

We are very happy to hear that you had a positive welcome experience at front desk!

Thank you especially for your remarks about breakfast; even though the food was set up well, it should always be hot, so we are looking into this to understand why this happened, as we do not consider it acceptable.

Regarding the room, your comments give us the possibility to reconsider what should be changed and how should we improve our product, and we will definitely take in consideration your remarks.

Thank you again for your review and we hope we will have the possibility of welcome you again in Tahiti or in another Intercontinental hotel around the world!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    1,140
    412
    141
    87
See reviews for
375
2,030
90
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for four days on the back end of two weeks hopping between the various islands. It was a great way to wind down before the system shock that is return travel from Polynesia. We stayed in one of the overwater bungalows on the far side past the swim-up bar, which was very private with virtually no foot traffic. The bungalow itself was a little dated furniture-wise, but otherwise was completely lovely. The main restaurant was fairly mediocre, but you can always opt for dinner at Le Lotus overwater restaurant, where the food was excellent. The spa was great in its own right, but paled in comparison to its sibling at the Intercontinental Bora Bora. The second, smaller pool is preferable to the larger one in my opinion. I'm a sucker for a sandy bottom pool anywhere, and it is also where the swim-up bar is located. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating. They found us a car service to take us into town to do some shopping and comped whatever it might have cost, and were very responsive to any and all requests we had. They gave us a late checkout such as I have never seen before in my life -- we had the room until 10:00 PM because our flight was not until midnight. The bar area is cute, lively and fun, and the cocktails were great.

My one complaint was with the main restaurant. In addition to having mediocre food, I will say that the staff was somewhat disorganized and, at times, rude. For instance, they kept trying to seat us in the same area every day, after our repeatedly informing them that we did not want to sit in that area (there was some deck construction going on nearby, and despite an open restaurant with literally 90% of tables available, they kept insisting on trying to seat us next to it. I eventually realized that they were doing this to pretty much everyone walking in, and waiting for someone to be too polite to complain about it. They also took a reservation for us on behalf of the Lotus restaurant one time, assuring us that they would convey it to that restaurant, and never did, and consequently we were nearly turned away from dinner on our last night. The one night we ate there for dinner, our entrees showed up before the wine ever made an appearance. I would suggest to any future visitors that you reserve the main restaurant for breakfast/quick lunches, and avoid it for dinner, opting instead for Le Lotus or one of the hotel's recommendations for off-resort restaurants.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the overwater bungalows, opt for one on the far side. They are much more se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your detailed review about your stay at the Intercontinental hotel in Tahiti and for your kind words about your general positive experience with us.

We have taken in careful consideration your remarks about the Tiaré restaurant; we always try to give excellent service in all the hotel's outlets, which was evidently not the case in our main restaurant.

We understand from your comments that there is still work to do regarding our staff attitude here and we thank you for having shared this with us, as this gives us the opportunity to improve.

Thank you also for your good feedback about our Lotus restaurant, this makes us really proud!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in one of our hotels around the world and we extend our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a perfect resort for a 1-3 nights stop over. It gets noise from the airport, which is very close and food in the restaurant was mediocre, but other than that it's a great value for Tahiti. Our room was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed swimming in both pools and lagoonarium was nice. The grounds were pleasant and view to Moorea was great.

I would recommend it for a stop over in Tahiti.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILYA_PACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest :
Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for your review, and we are happy to hear that on the whole, you had a positive experience at our Tahiti resort.
We took good note of your remark regarding the quality of the food at our "Te Tiare" Restaurant ; Maybe culinary preferences are dependent on personal tastes ; Be assured anyway that your comment will be communicate to our executive Chef as we continually seek ways to evolve our level of service and guest experiences.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Warm regards from Tahiti !
Guest Realtion Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed for four days/nights as part of a Round the Word trip and loved every moment. We flew into the island from New Zealand and as we exited the arrival hall received a typical Tahitian welcome with a garland of Tiare (sweet smelling Gardenia like white flowers). When we reached the hotel we were welcomed with a beautiful cocktail before being taken to our over-water bungalow which was beautiful and everything we hoped for. Every morning and evening the bungalow was bedecked with fresh tropical flowers on the bed and in the bathroom. The bungalow had fridge, TV, sunbeds on the deck, robes etc and lovely toiletries.

Breakfasts were a feast of tropical fruit and anything else you could ever wish for. Avery meal was delicious and especially dinner in the thatched restaurant overlooking the water.

The pools were wonderful, one with tame tropical fish you could swim with. One infinity pool surrounded by a sandy beach and another for more serious swimmers.

The gardens were beautifully kept and the views across to Bora Bora were amazing.

The local bus took us into town to explore which was fun.

We had the happiest time there and would so recommend a short stay as it is close to the airport but one never sees or hears the airplanes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTFDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Intercontinental Tahiti Resort !
Thank you for this wonderful review, and be assured that our entire team will be very pleased and proud by your comments.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day and should your travel plans bring you back to Tahiti, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our French Polynesia trip.The hotel is less than a 10 minute drive from the airport. It was already dark when we arrived so we couldn't really see much of the resort. We were given fruit juice on check-in and were offered an upgrade to an overwater bungalow in front of the lobby which we declined, as we had to get up at 4 a.m. for our flight and didn't want to be bothered by noise. We were satisfied with the deluxe panoramic view room we had booked, which was clean and well-maintained. The front desk assisted us in arranging transportation back to the airport, since our transportation booked by our travel agent was a no-show on our arrival. Dinner at the restaurant was just ok. I can't comment on the hotel overall as our stay was so brief.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tiffany8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear tiffany8862,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent 3 days at Intercontinental Tahiti in June 2013 before we transit to Bora Bora and 1 night on the way back.

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We were upgraded to a Panoramic Room which was directly opposite the infinity pool with the swim up bar. Lovely view.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

I wasn't overly impressed with the seafood buffet, actually very disappointed for the price. It was the only seafood buffet that I've been to that didn't have fresh cooked prawns, oysters, mussels, fish. It did have a few lobster medallions that were overcooked.

It is a great hotel for a stopover and for the price I thought was very reasonable.

On our way back from Bora Bora we were upgraded to an over water bungalow, which was lovey.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can splurge a bungalow is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzbabyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest :
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for posting your review and for letting us know of your experience further your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed our seafood buffet which is often praised by our guests.
We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your upgrade to our overwater bungalow upon your second stay and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here on way to Bora Bora - easily worst part of the trip. The hotel is old and run down and the service is slow/poor even adjusting for 'island time'.

Upon checkin they put us in an absolutely horrible room. We mentioned our baggage hadnt arrived and that we need dental kits etc, went to our room and 30 mins later hadn't shown up. We called for toothpaste/brushes and they somehow heard fruit plate(at least it gives us a good story). Finally much later we eventually got the dental kits although they couldnt get any contact solution (our next hotel was able to as the baggage still ahdnt arrived)

A bit annoying is this is the only hotel of the 4 we stayed at during our honeymoon which didn't do anything special given it was our honeymoon (hard to complain abut not getting something free but every other hotel in FP gave champagne, desserts, wines multiple times!) I e-mailed the hotel in advance like I did all the hotels we stayed at.

The room wasn't even 3 star in my view -- just old, musty and the bathroom was on the disgusting side of things.

Ok if you need a place to rest your head near the airport but this felt more like a glorified Ramada in my opinoin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfredthereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

We have read your review and we are extremely sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction about our hotel.

We do not have the details of your stay with us, so we would be grateful if you could contact us directly in order for us to answer appropriately.

Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
19.0 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing