We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Over water bungalow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Over water bungalow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked this bungalow with our travel agent when she booked us on the Paul Gauguin cruise ship for a before cruise stay. We loved our bungalow! The staff was excellent, they were competent, kind, helpful and tried very hard to work with us non french speaking guests. The bungalow was clean, comfortable, nicely appointed, and perfectly positioned for privacy and a beautiful view of Moorea. We wanted for nothing. The included breakfast buffet was delicious and extensive. The Poisson Cru local delicacy was delicious and very fresh tasting. Evening shows were first class entertainment, colorful and timed perfectly. The happy hour at the poolside bar was fun, and festive. Both pools were large, with great view and ample chairs for everyone. We also used the dive shop on property for a snorkeling excursion and had a great experience snorkeling for an hour and a half, seeing everything from a shark, multitudes of fish, to sunken boats and a plane. We will return, it was wonderful.

Room Tip: The bungalows to the left away from the pools we liked the best because they are slightly more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti, and thank you for having taken the time to post your comments.
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed the service and facilities provided by our property. The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    1,120
    406
    141
    87
See reviews for
364
2,004
90
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a really good and spacious room overlooking the pool and lagoon, but it was a little tired. We slept well though. The pool was absolutely fantastic, and the food first class, however when we went to pay with US$, they really wanted South Pacific Francs and their commission on currency exchange was quite high. Make sure that you have francs or a debit card loaded with franks. or else pay on credit card which takes very little commission.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Moorea and the lagoon. The over water bungalows are a good choice, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your comments on trip Advisor after your recent stay at Intercontinental Tahiti Resort.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that overall, you were satisfied with the facilities provided by our property.
We took good note of your comments regarding the exchange rate, but we can assure you that the commission we apply at our hotel is actually on line compared to the standards of the hotel industry. Nonetheless we recommend to our visitor to settle their bill by credit card where the lowest bank commissions will be applied.
We look forward to welcoming you back at our Tahiti resort.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were there May 20.

Beautiful.

There are two restaurant areas by pools. One is further down- the Lotus. Is by the swim up bar , infinity pool, and has more unusual food.

If you walk to the end, there is a nice view of Tahiti.

The poolside restaurant is where we ate. Very lovely view.

I went swimming in the Lagoonarium. I wore water shoes as the rocks were slippery. They have a couple of handrail steps. This is a nice safe introduction to snorkeling or swimming with fish.

You can swim in several pools or the ocean as well.

Beautiful grounds.

I recommend this highly.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor. We liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm regards from Tahiti.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had aout 7 hours to kill before our flight home from French Polynesia. This hotel is close to the airport, so we decided to go have dinner here. I wish we would have know that we caould have taken our luggage with us, rather then paying to have our luggage stored, oh well. This hotel also allows you to rent a room for a day for a pretty fair price. It would be a great idea to grab one for dinners, and showers before heading home. Since we did nothave that long, we opted just for dinner. The property is lovely. I will say that I had read not to spend much time in Tahiti..head off the other islands, and this did confirm that statement to be true. The vibe here is much different then Moorea, Bora Bora, or Tikehau all of which we prefered much better. The service was excellent, and the food was okay! Two of the six of us had seared tuna...which is discribed as raw on the menu, and both peices of fish were served well done..eeekkkkkk. Oh well, we sent them back and the second time they came out prefect, yet the sides to accompany the fish were not too exciting. For the most part everyone enjoyed the food and drinks, and again great service. I would suggest this as a great place to grab a room for a day, night or even brief dinner as we were happy we did!!!
By the way the view from the restaurant was beautiful!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamelaVanderHeagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your comments with us and for taking the time to let us know about your short experience at our Tahiti Resort.
The Intercontinental Tahiti is the ideal location to start or end your trip in French Polynesia. Tahiti, the big island deserves much more than a short stop and the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort & Spa include various activities (sport, fitness center, trips to the lagoon, spa, diving, etc...). We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back one day, for a longer stay may be, and thank you again for your review.
Yours sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Instead of sitting at the airport at the main island of Tahiti we decided to get a room for the day.
This is a beautiful resort. We really enjoyed the pool bar and being able to take a shower and get ready for our flight back to the USA which was leaving at Midnight. After two weeks we did not want to ruin our vacation sitting at the airport for eight hours. We were unable to get reservations at the Lotus restaurant so we ordered ala' carte at the main restaurant. The food definitely needs improvement. The resort is beautiful and it was a perfect end to a great vacation on the outer Islands.

Room Tip: Suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stockgirl102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
You're perfectly right, our hotel is the ideal location, close to the airport, to end your trip in French Polynesia instead of waiting at the airport before your late international departure flight.
We are sincerely sorry that you could not get a reservation at our Lotus Restaurant, probably because it was fully booked. Indeed our Gourmet Lotus restaurant supervised by award winning Chef Marc Haeberlin is recognized locally and internationally as one of the top 3 restaurant in French polynesia. We also took good note of your remark concerning the Food quality at our main restaurant , and please accept our sincere excuses if you were dissapointed by one dish during this service.
We look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you in the future.
Do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning another trip to Tahiti, Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Intercontinental for one night, before heading to Moorea. It was just as expected: a one-time luxurious hotel, which now is a bit worn out, built on an artificial beach, close to the airport & city center.
There are a few very positive remarks I must point out:
- The concierge did a great job before our arrival – he answered all our questions and took care of everything we asked him for (tip: you can easily take a cab from the airport to the hotel – just agree on the price in advance)
- They did us a free room upgrade just because we were Priority Club guests & were on our honeymoon – what a different treatment from Le Club!
- The room was very nice and spacious – and although it was old, it was well taken care of
On the negative side:
- Breakfast was very poor on healthy options
- There were very few pool chairs
- No actual beach
All in all, its location makes it the perfect place for a one-night stay in PPT.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtrav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for your review . We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our concierge services and room experience.
Thank you also for your remarks wich always help us to improve our service to you, our valuable guest. And to that point, in reference to your suggestion of implementing healthy options for breakfast, we are currently working on it and we hope to welcome you again and present you this additional service in the future.
Thank you again for your feed back.
Yours Faitthfully.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived in Tahiti around 10pm and were very much looking forward to getting to our hotel and resting. Our taxi cab ride to Intercontinental was very short, maybe 6 minutes from the airport.
When we arrived, we were greeted with fresh squeezed juice by a shirtless, muscular employee. It was quite warm so the juice really hit the spot.

Checking in was a breeze (they auto-upgraded us to a bigger room!) and then we walked to our room. This is a very large resort so depending on where your room is, it can be quite a trek. We were famished and walked around, hoping a restaurant on the resort was still open. The only thing open at the time was the small cafe-ish restaurant near the lobby. We ordered a panini and chips, which we shared, and 2 Hinanos. They only served beer and wine at this cafe, which we were a little diappointed about.

Waking up the next morning was glorious. The sky was so bright and the water so blue. We walked around and enjoyed looking at reef sharks in the ocean (they swim pretty close to the bridge that connects the over-water bungalows to the main pool area) and smal turtles in the various ponds on the resort grounds. The resort has 2 sand-bottom pools, which I thought was pretty cool. The best part of this resort is the lagoon. You can actually swim and snorkel in their lagoon and it has lots of beautiful fish in it! You also have the option of snorkeling and swimming in another lagoon that opens to the ocean!

We didn't eat at the buffet since we weren't very hungry and it was quite hot but we did enjoy a charcuterie plate at the adjacent lounge area.

The gift shop is small but has all of the necessities, in case you forgot to pack something: toiletries, cold bottled drinks, cigarettes, etc. They also have an ATM on site so you can take out Francs and not have to worry about going into town for money.

The drawback is that the resort is kind of isolated. You can walk places but you'll have to walk quite a ways before you get to anything, and walking in Tahiti can get a bit dangerous, especially at night.

This resort offers Wi-Fi but you have to purchase by the hour.

We would return to this hotel, but we prefer more modest accommodations. While it's nice to stay at a resort every once in a while, we prefer to hang with locals and stay in pensiones and B&B's. It's a great place to stay if you are celebrating an event of if you are staying with a large group of people who have never been to Tahiti before.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thnak you very much for your detailled review and pleased to hear thay you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hopt to welcome you back in the future.
Warm regards.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
19.1 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing