We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'll take the view and the late evening by the bar overlooking the pool/water.
(non-bungalow) room was a little small and dated but reasonable. Short ride to the airport.
This is a great introduction to French Polynesian life. Start here for a day or two before hitting one of the smaller islands.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicoGreybeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    1,189
    431
    148
    89
See reviews for
387
2,126
93
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 1 night only at the end of our trip on 2/14/13. It was our anniversary, and our travel agent had it in the record. On arrival, the from desk acknowledged and told us happy anniversary and upgraded us to an overwater bungalow. A gift was waiting for us in the room. Bellman took us quickly to our room with luggage. All the staff we encountered was friendly with a smile. We arrived at 8PM and were gone by 7AM in the next morning so can't comment much on the resort. Room service menu was extensive and enjoyed a meal in the bungalow. Breakfast was included and was a large spread that we were able to take advantage of since it opened at 6 AM. The PPT airport is less than 5 minutes. The pool area looked nice but no time to take advantage. Great view of Moreaa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank primediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading many bad reviews about this resort (e.g: rude staff, slow service, etc) we came well prepared. We were surprise to find friendly staffs and the service at the bar, restaurant & reception are pretty good. Although foods are quite average.

We stay 3 nights at Panoramic room on 1st floor, was quite disappointed at first as I thought I won't get a beautiful view. But oh boy, I was wrong. Our room close to the infinity pool, so we have direct access to the pool and the view of pool & ocean/moorea combined. Unbeatable, especially during sunset.

They also have a laundry room for guest to use. Room service was immaculate. They decorated the table with fresh flower on our last night, what a nice touch. Panoramic rooms are spacious. We will definitely come back :)

If you stay in Tahiti for more than 1 days, you must visit Papeeno Valley via Ciao Tahiti tour (will do the review separately). It was the highlight of our stay in Tahiti. Papeete, the town centre was abit disappointing, remind me of dirty Kuta-Bali.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yessy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The grounds of this property are beautiful. Though the rooms are dated they are very clean. The pools are beautiful including the lagoon sand bottom pool. The views from every angle of the property sweep the bay towards moorea. Make sure to catch a sunset.
Our only issue is their lack of non smoking rooms. We were originally given a beautiful panoramic view room on the third floor but it was a smoking room. Later we noticed on our floor there were smoking rooms between non smoking-- how does that make sense--since every room has a balcony or patio. This afternoon we had a smoker above us and right next to us--so we had to close the sliders so has not smell the stench!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank opcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here on our layover from Papeete to Moorea on our honeymoon. They complimentary upgraded us and we loved the room. It had a beautiful bathroom as well! The breakfast buffet was amazing so I'm sure their food was great. We walked around the grounds and took a lot of pictures. The lagoon was very pretty and the swimming pools were as well. Wonderful hotel in our opinion!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ourselves and another couple we were travelling with arrived at the hotel around 7 a.m. on February 1st after being on the go since 3 a.m. the following morning. It was very hot and humid when we arrived, my husband said not to complain as we were coming there to escape the cold weather back home. Went to check-in they provided us with a glass of juice, the gentleman advised us that check-in was not till 2 p.m. but he then told us that he would try and expedite an earlier check-in possibly around 11 a.m. We used their facilities to freshen up, they stored our luggage and we went to the marketplace in Papeete, wandered around, had some lunch and headed back to the hotel for 11 a.m. My husband went to the desk a young woman behind the counter started to check us in again, my husband told her that we had already checked in and were told a room maybe ready, she then very rudely informed him that a room would not be ready till 2 p.m.

We stayed in the lobby area for 4 hours, not once did they say they were sorry for the inconvenience or to offer us some water to drink, I guess that was because there was a bar by the lobby and if we wanted something to drink we could pay BIG $$$ and the hotel gained by that. A couple of us fell asleep on the couches as we were exhausted, at that point I did not care that we were taking up space for people to sit. At 1:50 p.m. my husband and his friend went back to the check-in desk to see if our rooms were ready, we were then given our keys. We advised them that we were travelling together, then we found out our rooms were at opposite ends of the hotel.

I understand that hotels have policies and I have no issues with that, but this hotel could really use some polishing up on their Customer Service. If we ever went back to Tahiti or know of anyone going there, we would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madviking58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear madviking58,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason your comments are troubling and will surely be looked into. Please accept my sincere apology for the dissatisfaction you have experienced during your stay and if your stay was negatively affected by the poor customer service you received from our staff. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for. Just one night in January 2013. We found the resort to be beautiful. The grounds were well maintained, and the landscaping was beautiful. The hotel room was classy with a huge balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Te food in the restaurant was delicious and the Friday night dance performance, included with the cost of your dinner, was very well performed. I would recommend this resort for a stay on Tahiti.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,060 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,726 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing