We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights before our sail on the Paul Gauguin. We were a little hesitant before arriving considering the reviews were quite mixed. However, we were pleasantly surprised with the room, view, pool, lagoon, service, and more! It wasn't until after we stayed at the Intercontinental in Moorea for three nights post-cruise that we appreciated this hotel much more. We were extremely disappointed in the one in Moorea, and in hind-sight, wish we would have come back to this hotel instead of the three extra days in Moorea where they nickle and dimed us like no other with worse all-around service and a worse all around hotel!

Everyone was very friendly to us upon check-in: concierge service, pool/towel service, marina service, restaurant service, and the lists goes on. It was a little chaotic when we were to take the shuttle to the marina for the cruise, but there were so many people and it worked out just fine.

The options for the pools were amazing...I wish we could go back right now just thinking about it! Drinks were pricey by the pool so we mixed a lot of our own drinks from duty free and took them down to the pool. Of course we took advantage of slushy, fruity drinks a couple of times at the swim-up bar and other pool. The snorkeling in the lagoon was the best I had experienced since the Great Barrier Reef many years ago.

We were upgraded when we had a day room before we left and enjoyed some fresh fruit in our room that was waiting for us. The view was amazing to watch our last Tahitian sunset, which was a great way to end our amazing trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    1,178
    428
    147
    88
See reviews for
380
2,103
91
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is not up to the Intercontinental standards. It can be good for an overnight stay in Papeete if you have a cruise to catch or is flying back home since it is 5 min from the Airport, but that`s it. Bed was not comfortable, shower in the bathroom was a joke, needs to be updated. The staff was in general friendly and the area is beautiful, but that would be true for any waterfront hotel in French Polynesia! Would not go back unless did not have another option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Gabi E,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction is the utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincerest apology for our shortcomings you experienced during your stay and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspect. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Expedia confirmed early check in request with the front desk while i listened in, while not guaranteed the impression given was no problem. This was not honored on our first check in before the cruise, or on our second check in before the flight home. Indeed, on our second check in, a very rude desk clerk informed me that even though we had requested an early check in that we were being " unreasonable " because we were not the only people waiting for rooms !!! This in a lobby with no air conditioning on a 90 degree day ! We had too wait until 1:30 pm to check in - even though we got there at ten AM. the hotels assurances mean nothing.This hotel is old and needs a makeover badly. There is no air conditioning outside your room- not even in the bars or restaurants. There was mold in our bathroom( in both of our rooms ) and I would not stay there again unless at the point of a gun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank webegone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear webegone61,

I appreciate your feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the inconvenience experienced upon check in and if the room accommodations received weren't at par with your standards. Your comments will be relayed to the front desk so that they can continuously improve on their efforts.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I do apologize and regret that this impacted your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

There was nothing really BAD at this hotel but the level of customer service was very much lacking when compared to the other inter continentals we stayed at in French Polynesia.

We arrived Jan 12th to this hotel for 2 nights before proceeding. We reminded the front desk agent we were on our honey moon, to which he replied " yes we have many nice gifts for you", we arrived in our room, which was very pretty, but no "honeymoon gifts". We had great service at the restaurant in the morning, but again, no "gifts we were told would be coming. We reminded them on checkout, to which we were told " i can't believe that, it is in your file you are on your honeymoon, we will defiantly look after you when you come back, as we were returning for an additional 2 nights before returning home. We came back, reminded them on heck in, and nope, nothing still, later that day a wrap was delivered to the room. The gift appreciated but the idea behind it lost none the less. Visited the lounge for a drink, it was happy hour, but we asked 2x for a drink menu, order was taken by someone else, after 20 minutes, and us asking again, our drink finally arrived. The lounge seems to be very disorganized, ( i used to be a F&B mgr), there were TONS of staff, but noone seemed to know who they were looking after, noone seemed to have their set tables and just kept walking around. Needless to say we only had 1 drink. We attended the "seafood buffet", although the polynesian show was fantastic, you can also see it from the restaurant, you do not need to spend 98,000 XFP on a terrible buffet. Even if you are a seafood lover, (my husband is) he was very disappointed, there was not a great variety of local fish, we didn't want "American lobster" we want Polynesian food, when paying that much "peel your own shrimp is not appreciated, especially when there are no finger bowls on the tables to wash your hands. The desserts were, however, FANTASTIC. So $125 for fantastic dessert, not a great value in my books.

we had to check out of the hotel at 11am (no late check out would be given even after asking), our ride to the airport didn't come till 9:45 PM. The hotel could have done a great service for those stuck there all day, it was pouring rain, but instead a ton of us were on our own to hang out in the lobby for 9 LONG hours.

Le Lotus is a fancy restaurant at the resort, it is a lot of "fancy food" with small portions. If you are hungry this is not the restaurant for you. service is impeccable, great knowledge of wine, desserts are amazing.

Like i said there was nothing BIG wrong, but there is defiantly a lack of that personal touch the other hotels offered. The others confirmed out ride to the airport and left a letter in our room the evening before, we were greeted at breakfast by name, we had a honeymoon gift upon our arrival, it was just an all around different experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennipher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear jennipher11,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the overall dissatisfaction of your stay especially with the service received from our staff not being at par with your expectations. Your comments have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for continuous patronage and support to the hotel, and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful grounds, excellent pools, top rate service, fun but a little cheesy entertainment, and close to the airport. So how could they manage to do such a poor job on the food? We only ate a few time in the main restaurant, just to secure a tale for the evening shows and it was overpriced, uninspired and overall awful. Horrible ceasar salad, inedible salad composed of different kinds of raw minced fish, breadfruit fries more like wood than food. Do as we did and leave the hotel grounds, turn left and keep to the left and walk about 10 to 15 minute to the first business area and look for the green market building that is I believe called Central. Great fresh baguettes, good selection of cheeses, wines, beers and liquors, plus an astounding selection of foi gras as well as all the normal groceries. You will be money ahead and will be eating much better than in the hotel.

We did not have a bungalow, but our room had an excellent view of the gardens, one of the pools, and out to the sea. Huge deck that was comfortable even in the rain.

The hotel offers a shuttle ($5 US) each way to Papeete - reserve early as it fills up as everyone tries to avoid the rather high cab fares.

We enjoyed our stay and had no complaints with the accommodation or the hotel in general, with the exception of the food.

Room Tip: ask for a superior room if you cannot stretch for one of the over water bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAABER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
892 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

After 11 days aboard Oceania's Marina we needed a place to stay/wait until our flight. We booked for two nights as our flight was late the next night. This is a great place to recover, take walks, enjoy the pool and lagoon aquarium! The food is fine, room large with an ocean view, and the sunset last night was breath taking in it's colors! We celebrated the 27th anniversary of our first date last night, and a toast at dinner to a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here one night before an early flight back to the US. The hotel was great for that purpose! It had several restaurants and bars... the value was pretty good for Tahith and the conveneince of being so clos eto the airport but still have the exoctic feel. The staff seemed nice and while the room was in need of an update (it's just kindof tired) and small, I only stayed one night so it was adequate for that. Although I paid extra for free interent, I as never able to connect.

I enjoyed the view of Moorea and watching the sunset the last night we were in Tahiti. And of course, it's very conveneint to the airport, which is why I satyed there in the first place.

Although I wouldn't want to stay there my entire trip - it's important to get to another island in Tahiti - I think this is a great hotel to begin or finish your travels to Tahiti.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,060 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,696 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing