We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tahiti Intercontinental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tahiti Intercontinental”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay in a bungalow over the water. Every morning we would have our complimentary breakfast delivered. They were amazing. We had everything we ordered plus extra plus all the beautiful flowers.

After breakfast we would feed the fish left over breads. There were so many and very beautiful.

The town of Peepete was a business town, not a resort town. We were in Tahiti for a total of 3 days, but it was not our favorite island.

Room Tip: Try and book the over the water bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParadiseValey_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    1,162
    418
    144
    88
See reviews for
377
2,070
90
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
horsham
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped at this Hotel for four nights before embarking on a cruise to Hawaii.
We found our garden view room very disappointing and badly in need of renovation.
We also found the breakfast restaurant old fashioned with food which was mediocre with staff that were unhelpful .
Having said that the grounds and pools were fantastic .
Other positives were the gym with a good layout and modern equipment and it's proximity to the airport and cruise port.
As part of the Intercontinental Group I am surprised that they have let their usual high standards slip and I would recommend that they make the investment to bring this hotel up to standard in terms of rooms,food and staff training.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the superior rooms and try to avoid check in or check out when the large cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorshamMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear HorshamMoosehead,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this property for one night before we boarded a cruise and were disappointed in the sleeping rooms. They are in major need of renovation. The rooms were clean, however, just beat up and tired. The furnishings were from the early 90s. Other than that, the service was great and the food was good (although a bit pricey). Overall, not a bad place to stay on your way to somewhere else but I wouldn't want to stay here for a prolonged period. Pool and outside areas were nice and very clean.

Room Tip: If you don't select an overwater bungalow ask for a panoramic view room instead for the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetingplannerinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear meetingplannerinkc,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking time to help us continually improve our guests services.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't find our sleeping rooms to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction you had and for any negative impressions you may have had.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was to be a trip of a lifetime, but thanks to the rudeness of the staff it turned into a nightmare. The over water bungalow was what we expected and very nice. The swimming pool was extraordinary. The fitness center had new equipment. The food was mediocre at best and overpriced. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurants were rude and were not customer service oriented. My husband slipped and feel down wet concrete steps and broke a rib. Once the EMTs were called, we were left to fend for ourselves in a French speaking country; we do not speak French. NO ONE from this 5 star hotel ever called to check on us or ask if we needed assistance. If you want to spend big bucks and get little for your money, this is the resort for you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlpa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest:
We are very sorry that your husband slipped and hurt himself when in the hotel and please accept our most sincere apologies if the level of assistance received was not up to your expectations.
We have taken good note of your comments and recommendations in order to continue improve our service to you, our valued guests.
Yours sincerely.

Guest relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Conveniently located near the airport we chose the Intercontinental for our stays upon our arrival and in between flying to outer islands. Tahiti was our first stop in french polynesia & we found the hotel to be very beautiful with lush landscaping and creatively designed pools.

Our first room was a garden room that we stayed in 2 nights & was clean and nicely decorated with a view of the water. On our second week of our tour we stayed again and opted for an overwater bungalow. Ours was located apparently in the newer section and was just fantastic. Really enjoyed being able to snorkle right off the back deck. We were traveling with a group and some of our party were not as pleased with the rooms that they received as there are older parts of this hotel that really need some interior updating apparently.

Overall the staff at the hotel front desk, concierge were all very friendly., the male baggage handlers were all decked out in traditional sarongs covered in tattoos & were really courteous & helpful.

The biggest enigma that we discovered was the difference in attitude & service between the main restaurant and bar versus the LOTUS restaurant. We had the pleasure of eating 4 times in the LOTUS and found the food to be exquisitely prepared & service top notch. However in the Main Restaurant & bar, all the women servers were just downright rude, very slow & seemed genuinely resentful to be there. It was a bizarre. Staying there multiple times over a 3 week period I was hoping to find a change but no. Each time we ordered food whether it be breakfast, lunch or a snack at the bar the service was PAINFULLY slow.. They have a large breakfast bar which extremely overpriced so I opted to just order and omlette.. When the food finally arrived it was kind of thrown at you with a look of disdain, the omelet was cold & didn't even have any of the items I ordered in it? One evening we ordered in the bar and the woman lied and said the kitchen was closed when it was not, when we asked at the front desk where we could get food they sent us back down to the bar? When we returned to the bar the server then begrudgingly handed us a menu which consisted of 2 items, essentially a ham & cheese or grilled cheese sandwich.. we were starving and a captive audience at this point & ordered but when the sandwich came it was so terrible we couldn't finish it. Bad overpriced food was the only thing we found in the main restaurant & bar which was kind of shocking for a property of its supposed caliber. The LOTUS was very pricey but at least the food & service were on point.

Overall the property is a convenient stop due to its close proximity to the airport, the pools and grounds were lovely. If the food & service had been better I could have at least given it "average" when it comes to value. Additionally in the "Value" department after our stay we looked at the points we earned and found that it is Intercontinentals policy to only give you a certain max number of points per stay and treated all our nights regardless of the fact that they were separated by weeks as counting as one stay?

If we would have spent the same money at another similarly priced chain we would have earned points dollar for dollar which made us feel overall our stay was a poor value & will look at other properties next time.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Garden rooms facing the water are nice because you can walk right out and dont have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chromegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear chromegoddess,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I appreciate the kind words for some of our hotel staff. On the other hand, please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered at the main bar and restaurant. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
255 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package offered by Paul Gaugin cruise line. The rooms are large, including the bathroom which had both a walk-in shower and two person tub. The grounds are well laid out and very attractive. There are two infinity pools. Breakfast is complete and was included. Staff are helpful and speak at least some English. The evening dinner shows are great but the seafood buffet is overpriced at $115 USD per person.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here twice before and after our cruise. We arrived on a Saturday morning after an overnight flight and had the use of a room until our pickup for embarkation. The room was clean and service was efficient as well as quick luggage delivery. After our cruise we extended our stay in a lagoon overwater bungalow. We experienced a quick check in and ride to our bungalow. The bungalow was quite spacious with a lovely deck complete with lounge chairs which we enjoyed during our stay. The grounds were beautiful and easy to navigate. We attended the evening show on Saturday which was good. We had great customer service during our stay and Reihei was always quick with an answer for us. Great place to stay and we would return.

Room Tip: The lagoon bungalows are a little more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the2Dacys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
19.0 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing