We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$120
$104
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FareHau(Faa'a)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
$188
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$167
$128
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$178
$171
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$346
$256
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $313/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$365
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $453/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$71
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,476)
Filter reviews
3,476 results
Traveler rating
1,411
1,320
479
162
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
1,320
479
162
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus restaurantfishle lotusoverwater bungalowbora boraswim up barfrench polynesiaclose to the airportpanoramic roommain restaurantother islandsmain poolinfinity poolbreakfast buffetour honeymoonan upgradepaul gauguin
Filter
Updating list...
1,831 - 1,836 of 3,476 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and unfortunately the staff and other little things did not meet expectations. Check in was slow, there was no water in the mini bar, i wasn't told that the English version of menu was on the tv (nothing in the room book guides are in English!!) but when we tried to order, 3-4 things they wernt available. I asked for dinner at 6 but it arrived at 4. Just all the little things led to disappointment. We were able to get late check out for 1, probably only good thing...but wernt told about storage so sat with our luggage for 2 hours in the lobby!! On the plus side, the standard room is a very good size and is literally 5min to airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nari_Makena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused due to the slow check-in and others aspects of the service. We make our very best to ensure that our team is dedicated to help and do its very best to offer our valued guests the best experience possible. We are sorry to read we did not fully succeed on that occasion, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future as we will be more more than pleased to demonstrate the true hospitality of our resort.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Sincerely.
Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent two nights of our vacation in French Polynesia at the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort. This resort is located in a semi-urban area just outside of Papeete, near the airport. The airport noise was minimal while outside and not at all distracting. We could not hear the planes while in our room.

We received excellent service at the reception desk, and even though we arrived a couple of hours before regular check-in time our room was ready and we were taken by golf cart to it. A tasty tropical drink made it into our hands at the check-in desk.

The room was beautiful, with a nicely crafted wooden bed and other wooden furniture. There was also a small fridge, which was perfect for storing water, wine, and beer. The tub was huge, and the bathroom nicely appointed with two sinks and a large shower.

They've done a decent job with the resort layout, considering its proximity to the airport and the limitations of the property. There is no sandy beach directly on the ocean, but they have
created semi-private alcoves with sand. These alcoves are under and around palm trees and most have 2-4 lounge chairs to relax in and are a few feet above the water on top of a rock retaining wall.

We ate at the less formal of the two restaurants at the resort twice. We enjoyed the food, particularly a chicken curry dish steamed in Taro leaves that came with taro, bread fruit, and
another veggie. It was one of the finest curry dishes I've had. The pizza was also good as were their salads.

One of the best parts of our stay was the assistance we received from Teiva Milz, the Head Concierge at Intercontinental Tahiti. We were looking for a very specific souvenir to take home with us, and he recommended a couple of stores where we might find them. We looked but unfortunately they didn't seem to carry them and we let Teiva know. He went to one of the stores, by his own volition, and found the items for us. We had simply missed them but are grateful that Teiva took the extra time to find them. He also provided terrific information about where to eat locally and what to see and do. His information was boundless and he is one of the best concierges that we have worked with at any hotel.

We also had a good experience with the front desk on two occasions besides check-in. A local restaurant (Le Belvedere, which I have reviewed) was having issues processing credit cards, so the restaurant's driver took us back to the resort to get a cash advance against our room. The amount we needed was about 3 times the resorts normal cash advance limit, but the front desk clerk quickly received approval to accommodate us. At check-out the pre-arranged airport transportation came about 45 minutes earlier than we had expected. The driver was irritated and rude because we were not ready when he expected us to be, but the clerk did a great job in defusing him and preventing him from driving away while we scrambled to get to the lobby.

As I mentioned in my review of one of the other French Polynesian resorts, food is expensive anywhere in French Polynesia. To help mitigate the cost of meals we brought packets of oatmeal and bags of dried fruit and nuts. Considering that breakfast is about $30/person we saved over $400 on our week-long trip to French Polynesia. There are also two supermarkets within a mile of the resort where you can purchase beer, wine, and food for less than at the resort.

Although not the most beautiful Intercontinental Resort in French Polynesia, they certainly try to do their best with the property they have. The grounds are well maintained, and there is a
walking path around the resort. We found the resort to be very relaxing and the staff friendly.

If you have a need or desire to stay on the island of Tahiti, the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort is a good option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with us. From the location, room, service and ambiance you experienced the true service and hospitality of our hotel. Be assured that we will pass the compliments to our staff.
As you said IC Tahiti is not the newest resort but it is probably the property with the most authentic Tahitian atmosphere you can experience. Our team is devoted to this legendary property and is working hard to maintain it in great shape while renovation projects are presently being finalised.
Thanks again for your patronage, and please let us know next time you decide to visit us.
Warm regards from Tahiti.
Guest relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The resort itself is beautiful and I highly recommend staying in an OWB. Our bungalow 508 was huge and felt very private. We loved everything about it. (There is no glass in the floor to look at the fish) We stayed 2 nights here and that was just enough time for us. I would not want to stay here for a week or more. There is no natural beach and I missed having a beach to walk on. The lagoon is so fun. We enjoyed all of the beautiful fish you could swim with.
$$$-Breakfast is $40 p/p for the buffet. You can have your breakfast included in your package. Drinks are $14 for rum punch/pina coladas..ect..Beer $4-5.
We did the Friday night seafood buffet and show $197 for 2 people with 2 beers. The buffet was not worth the money but there is nothing that tells you the price till you pay. You can still watch the show for free even if you do not do the buffet.
Make sure you pack plenty of sunscreen because it's $30 a bottle at the resort.
Tahiti is very commercial and not a great island to stay on for relaxing. I recommend staying at the Moorea Intercontinental Resort if you are wanting to spend time on one island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2DIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Tahiti !
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and also our sister resort in Moorea. We understood that you preferred by far the island of Moorea ; French Polynesia deserves a particular attention as it is a destination with very diverse islands, all of them very different In terms of landscape, atmosphere, lagoon…This is definitely a matter of personal appreciation.
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here on both ends of our trip. The resort is beautiful. The pool really nice. BUT if you are looking for white soft sand beaches...this is not it. It's great for a few days but don't stay too long. My husband left a pair of jeans in the room, no call...and when we went back at the end of the trip they didn't have them....hummmm...
They put us in a nicer room on the return but too bad we were leaving in the morning. The food was good, but expensive as it is on all the islands.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslierapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for your review posted on trip advisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sincerely sorry to learn that our lost and found department did not ertreive your lost item ; Should there be any other details which may help us to locate it, kindly let us know and do not hesitate to contact us directly.
We remain at your service.

Yours faithfully.
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a beautiful resort. Although it is obviously not a new property, I saw none of the "shopworn" others mention. The maintenance was flawless, the grounds immaculate. Unlike others we had good experiences at both restaurants.

Our room was in the wing extending to the left, towards the second pool and restaurant area. It was the end building overlooking the beautiful fresh-water infinity pool with sand beach and bottom and swim-up bar. Beyond that was the channel and Moorea. The room itself was beautifully furnished, with empty fridge for whatever you want to put there. It had a large balcony and gorgeous semi-canopied beds, which slept beautifully. The bathroom was equally beautiful, with a separate round shower stall. The fixtures were all top quality and worked perfectly. The only thing I missed was a ceiling fan.

The bar is attached to the gourmet over-the-water Lotus restaurant. We had dinner there, which was delicious. We also had Sunday brunch and a lunch in the main restaurant. Again, I differ with others. The main restaurant was fine, the food delicious. Sunday brunch is quite popular with the locals. I heard an old grouch complain about the crowd and the "mayhem". There was absolutely no "mayhem". The crowd was quite pleasant and polite. In fact, it was a treat for people-watching. Yes, the prices are high, but I absolutely do not mind paying a premium for this level of quality considering we're in the middle of the vast Pacific!

Finally, about the staff.... My partner and I agree that that we have rarely encountered such a thoroughly friendly and helpful staff. Everyone had a smile and seemed eager to please. We had been expecting the somewhat sullen attitude we've experienced in other parts of Polynesia, but not here. Every local we came in contact with, inside and outside the resort, was cordial. Even passport control!

We struck out with the weather -- it was mostly cloudy and rainy -- but this huge resort more than made up for it, with a wonderful big room, spectacular view, lush grounds and sunny dispositions all around.

Room Tip: I think others may be right about varying room quality. Obviously our room (391) was where you want to be, unless you must have the privacy of an over-the-water bure. I suggest the end building, in a "panorama room," overlooking the beach/pool and the Lotus restaurant, perhaps room 380 or higher.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti Resort!
Many thanks for posting your comments on trip Advisor after your recent stay at Intercontinental Tahiti Resort. What a satisfaction to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the true service and hospitality of our hotel!
Thanks again for your patronage and our team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews