We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Resort Near the Airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Resort Near the Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent two nights of our vacation in French Polynesia at the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort. This resort is located in a semi-urban area just outside of Papeete, near the airport. The airport noise was minimal while outside and not at all distracting. We could not hear the planes while in our room.

We received excellent service at the reception desk, and even though we arrived a couple of hours before regular check-in time our room was ready and we were taken by golf cart to it. A tasty tropical drink made it into our hands at the check-in desk.

The room was beautiful, with a nicely crafted wooden bed and other wooden furniture. There was also a small fridge, which was perfect for storing water, wine, and beer. The tub was huge, and the bathroom nicely appointed with two sinks and a large shower.

They've done a decent job with the resort layout, considering its proximity to the airport and the limitations of the property. There is no sandy beach directly on the ocean, but they have
created semi-private alcoves with sand. These alcoves are under and around palm trees and most have 2-4 lounge chairs to relax in and are a few feet above the water on top of a rock retaining wall.

We ate at the less formal of the two restaurants at the resort twice. We enjoyed the food, particularly a chicken curry dish steamed in Taro leaves that came with taro, bread fruit, and
another veggie. It was one of the finest curry dishes I've had. The pizza was also good as were their salads.

One of the best parts of our stay was the assistance we received from Teiva Milz, the Head Concierge at Intercontinental Tahiti. We were looking for a very specific souvenir to take home with us, and he recommended a couple of stores where we might find them. We looked but unfortunately they didn't seem to carry them and we let Teiva know. He went to one of the stores, by his own volition, and found the items for us. We had simply missed them but are grateful that Teiva took the extra time to find them. He also provided terrific information about where to eat locally and what to see and do. His information was boundless and he is one of the best concierges that we have worked with at any hotel.

We also had a good experience with the front desk on two occasions besides check-in. A local restaurant (Le Belvedere, which I have reviewed) was having issues processing credit cards, so the restaurant's driver took us back to the resort to get a cash advance against our room. The amount we needed was about 3 times the resorts normal cash advance limit, but the front desk clerk quickly received approval to accommodate us. At check-out the pre-arranged airport transportation came about 45 minutes earlier than we had expected. The driver was irritated and rude because we were not ready when he expected us to be, but the clerk did a great job in defusing him and preventing him from driving away while we scrambled to get to the lobby.

As I mentioned in my review of one of the other French Polynesian resorts, food is expensive anywhere in French Polynesia. To help mitigate the cost of meals we brought packets of oatmeal and bags of dried fruit and nuts. Considering that breakfast is about $30/person we saved over $400 on our week-long trip to French Polynesia. There are also two supermarkets within a mile of the resort where you can purchase beer, wine, and food for less than at the resort.

Although not the most beautiful Intercontinental Resort in French Polynesia, they certainly try to do their best with the property they have. The grounds are well maintained, and there is a
walking path around the resort. We found the resort to be very relaxing and the staff friendly.

If you have a need or desire to stay on the island of Tahiti, the Intercontinental Tahiti Resort is a good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with us. From the location, room, service and ambiance you experienced the true service and hospitality of our hotel. Be assured that we will pass the compliments to our staff.
As you said IC Tahiti is not the newest resort but it is probably the property with the most authentic Tahitian atmosphere you can experience. Our team is devoted to this legendary property and is working hard to maintain it in great shape while renovation projects are presently being finalised.
Thanks again for your patronage, and please let us know next time you decide to visit us.
Warm regards from Tahiti.
Guest relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    1,068
    378
    135
    78
See reviews for
338
1,908
84
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckner, Kentucky
Level Contributor
171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The resort itself is beautiful and I highly recommend staying in an OWB. Our bungalow 508 was huge and felt very private. We loved everything about it. (There is no glass in the floor to look at the fish) We stayed 2 nights here and that was just enough time for us. I would not want to stay here for a week or more. There is no natural beach and I missed having a beach to walk on. The lagoon is so fun. We enjoyed all of the beautiful fish you could swim with.
$$$-Breakfast is $40 p/p for the buffet. You can have your breakfast included in your package. Drinks are $14 for rum punch/pina coladas..ect..Beer $4-5.
We did the Friday night seafood buffet and show $197 for 2 people with 2 beers. The buffet was not worth the money but there is nothing that tells you the price till you pay. You can still watch the show for free even if you do not do the buffet.
Make sure you pack plenty of sunscreen because it's $30 a bottle at the resort.
Tahiti is very commercial and not a great island to stay on for relaxing. I recommend staying at the Moorea Intercontinental Resort if you are wanting to spend time on one island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2DIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Tahiti !
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and also our sister resort in Moorea. We understood that you preferred by far the island of Moorea ; French Polynesia deserves a particular attention as it is a destination with very diverse islands, all of them very different In terms of landscape, atmosphere, lagoon…This is definitely a matter of personal appreciation.
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here on both ends of our trip. The resort is beautiful. The pool really nice. BUT if you are looking for white soft sand beaches...this is not it. It's great for a few days but don't stay too long. My husband left a pair of jeans in the room, no call...and when we went back at the end of the trip they didn't have them....hummmm...
They put us in a nicer room on the return but too bad we were leaving in the morning. The food was good, but expensive as it is on all the islands.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslierapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from intercontinental Tahiti !
Thank you for your review posted on trip advisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sincerely sorry to learn that our lost and found department did not ertreive your lost item ; Should there be any other details which may help us to locate it, kindly let us know and do not hesitate to contact us directly.
We remain at your service.

Yours faithfully.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a beautiful resort. Although it is obviously not a new property, I saw none of the "shopworn" others mention. The maintenance was flawless, the grounds immaculate. Unlike others we had good experiences at both restaurants.

Our room was in the wing extending to the left, towards the second pool and restaurant area. It was the end building overlooking the beautiful fresh-water infinity pool with sand beach and bottom and swim-up bar. Beyond that was the channel and Moorea. The room itself was beautifully furnished, with empty fridge for whatever you want to put there. It had a large balcony and gorgeous semi-canopied beds, which slept beautifully. The bathroom was equally beautiful, with a separate round shower stall. The fixtures were all top quality and worked perfectly. The only thing I missed was a ceiling fan.

The bar is attached to the gourmet over-the-water Lotus restaurant. We had dinner there, which was delicious. We also had Sunday brunch and a lunch in the main restaurant. Again, I differ with others. The main restaurant was fine, the food delicious. Sunday brunch is quite popular with the locals. I heard an old grouch complain about the crowd and the "mayhem". There was absolutely no "mayhem". The crowd was quite pleasant and polite. In fact, it was a treat for people-watching. Yes, the prices are high, but I absolutely do not mind paying a premium for this level of quality considering we're in the middle of the vast Pacific!

Finally, about the staff.... My partner and I agree that that we have rarely encountered such a thoroughly friendly and helpful staff. Everyone had a smile and seemed eager to please. We had been expecting the somewhat sullen attitude we've experienced in other parts of Polynesia, but not here. Every local we came in contact with, inside and outside the resort, was cordial. Even passport control!

We struck out with the weather -- it was mostly cloudy and rainy -- but this huge resort more than made up for it, with a wonderful big room, spectacular view, lush grounds and sunny dispositions all around.

Room Tip: I think others may be right about varying room quality. Obviously our room (391) was where you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Greetings from InterContinental Tahiti Resort!
Many thanks for posting your comments on trip Advisor after your recent stay at Intercontinental Tahiti Resort. What a satisfaction to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the true service and hospitality of our hotel!
Thanks again for your patronage and our team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely.
Guest relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were lucky enough to receive two nights stay as a gift in an overwater bungalow at this property before boarding a cruise through the islands. The property is lovely and our bungalow was as cute as a button!

Unfortunately there were several missteps in service from a 45 minute check-in process (which must be the norm because they came around and served us juice while we were waiting) to a failure to deliver on a pre-paid canoe breakfast (which is around $100 and hasn't been resolved yet and the hotel had the nerve to represent to our travel agent that they gave us a fruit basket instead - they didn't - and that we were "satisfied" - which we defintely weren't) to serious delays in getting a porter to check out despite calling them 2 hours ahead of time to schedule assistance. Each time we had a hitch, the guest services rep was pleasant but not helpful in resolving our issues. We were afraid this was an introduction to an "island mentality" but this was not representative of our experiences over the next couple of weeks in French Polynesia, but was just an unfortunate experience at the Intercontinental.

On the positive side, we loved snorkeling in the lagoonarium (like a huge aquarium you can swim in) as well as the swimming and snorkeling from the dock of our bungalow. Also, our room included a full free breakfast which was delicious and had a beautiful view from the restaurant. We also thoroughly enjoyed dinner at the Le Lotus restaurant on the property.

I understand this is one of the best properties near the airport, so stay here for convenience and beauty but lower your expectations for service.

Room Tip: The shallow water over water bungalows were a lovely choice - cute and quite private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spikemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor.
We took good note of your remarks regarding the check-in and porter services and please accept our sincere apologies for so many lapses and inconveniences caused. The service at our resort shall always be a valued experience for our guest: You can be assured that each of your remark has been dealt appropriately for immediate correction in order that such a situation does not occur again.
We do hope that apart from this you will keep a good memory of your stay in Tahiti.
Should you decide to come back do not hesitate to contact us as we will make sure to answer your needs in a competent, accurate and timely way.
Thank you again for your patronage.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here twice, both times in a day room capacity on arrival and departure as part of a Air Tahiti pre and post trip from the Gauguin.

The first room was wonderful, the room was comfortable, the checkin staff and porters helpful and we spent a few hours swimming in the smaller infinity pool outside our room. Compare this extremely pleasant experience with lunch.

The excursion was to include a "lunch" at the lunch buffet. Unlike the room, this resturant was AWFUL. The food was bad, there was no (I mean zero) service and I had to go get the greeter to get somebody to get us drinks. Then our non-existent waitress showed up with our check (first time we had seen her) and charged us $100 for the buffet. It got corrected when I protested.. Absolute worst experience I have ever had at any resort resturant. If you read other reviews, you will see I am not alone.

On the return trip back from Bora Bora, again - wonderful checkin, great staff and porters, smaller day room, but still acceptable albeit noisy. The furniture was a bit old, and the bathroom a tad outdated with some mold but overall - a placement experience, and a refuge while we waited to go back to the airport for our overnight flight.

For a 5 star hotel, a mixed review. Pricey food, great service oriented hotel staff (except the resturant). Would love to give them an excellent rating, but with the few issues noted - I can't.

Room Tip: DON'T eat at the main restaurant, bad food, bad service. DO ask for a room to the left of recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mabollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti resort !
We would like first of all to thank you for posting your comments on trip Advisor, and we sincerely regret that your stay with us did not fully meet with your expectations.
Your comments regarding our main restaurant have been dealt appropriately for correction with the departments concerned.
We sincerely hope that your future travelling plans will include Intercontinental Hotels group and more particularly InterContinental Tahiti Resort ; Please do let us know next time you want to visit us as we would be honoured to welcome you back and ensure you are fully satisfied.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week in French Polynesia and needed a hotel to stay on our first and last night there. We spent the 5 other nights in Moorea at another hotel. We chose this hotel based on the reviews and on the proximity to the airport (around 7 minutes by taxi as the hotel does not have a shuttle). Check in was quick and it was nice to receive a glass of juice in this hot weather. Standard room was big enough for us to open our 2 big suitcases and still have room to walk around. Bathroom was a bit outdated but overall the room was clean and quiet. We ordered from the room service on our last night and the food was tasty but expensive. If we need to stay in Papeete again for one night in the future, we will definitely consider the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor, and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look froward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards.

Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
38.0 mi away
The Brando
The Brando
#1 of 1 in Tetiaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing