We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We booked our stay at the lC Tahiti 5 months prior to our trip and, after reading previous reviews of this hotel, my wife and I were terrified on what to expect… Well, we are happy to report that we were pleasantly surprised by the IC Tahiti!

I am really not sure where other people’s terrible reviews come from, but our Panoramic room was comfortable and clean, the grounds of the hotel were beautiful and well kept, the food was good, the workout room was the best we saw in all FP, the view from the hotel was gorgeous and the service was good (especially by the very lax FP standards). After staying in 3 different hotels in Papeete during the last few years, I honestly think this is probably the best hotel the island of Tahiti has to offer.
Perhaps people should stop judging this hotel by five star standards, which is not, and should also try to overlook some of the “commercialized, cheesy” aspects of it as most other hotels in this island are also focused on selling you the tourist idea of FP. This hotel is what it is (a great stop over hotel while in your way to other FP islands), but I would probably not make the 10 hour trip down here to make it my final destination.
Hope this helps! Good travels

Room Tip: Definitely request a Panoramic room!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank WrldTrvlr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    1,189
    431
    148
    89
See reviews for
387
2,126
93
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the InterContinental Tahiti for 2 nights before heading to Moorea. Although I don't care much for the island of Tahiti, this resort probably is the best that Tahiti has to offer. Yes, there are choppy waters in Tahiti, and yes, the island is not that pretty compared to Bora Bora or Moorea. But that is not the resort's fault. Just don't pay for the overwater bungalows and you won't be disappointed.

We stayed in an oceanview room facing Moorea. I have Ambassador status so I got upgraded on arrival along with fruits, bottles of water, and a birthday gift. The rooms are comfortable to get through a few nights before heading over to any other island. It's no overwater bungalow type of luxury, but it's still a high class room with all the amenities that you need. There are balconies in every room for you to enjoy the view and sunsets too.

I love the pools and the lagoonarium. First there are many pools so you don't feel like you have surrounded by tourists. There are waterfalls, sandy beaches and swim up bars surrounding the pools. There are shallow wading pools too for people just lay in to cool off. I have to so that the lagoonarium is the best part of this resort. There are tons of fish in there for you to snorkel around. There's no need to go into the choppy waters to snorkel when you have access to your own aquarium in the resort. Bring some bread from the cafe and the fish will come fast!

If you book this hotel as part of a package, make sure you include the breakfast because it's got great variety. You can even order poisson cru if you would like. There are made to order stations, all types of meats, asian breakfast items, and assorted fruits and yogurts. I never felt the need to eat lunch because there's always so much food there. Dinner at the hotel is great too and not that expensive. Leaving the resort in a taxi to town is very expensive so it's much cheaper to stay and relax.

The resort does offer rides into town during the day, but the service ends at 5pm. Either go earlier in the day and stay in town for dinner or don't bother. It costs $22 each way to go downtown for dinner and that's not including the meal itself.

Room Tip: Get Ambassador Card to get instant upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern cal
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Overall unhelpful Reception and Evening Concierge staff, clueless restaurant and bar wait staff, and non-existent sound insulation between the rooms in the Panorama wing made for a very disappointing stay at the Beachcomber.

Food, like most places in French Polynesia, was ridiculously priced but the quality of it was beneath any that we've experienced. Over-cooked pasta, bolonese sauce tasting like it came straight from a can, dried out bread, mystery meat hamburger, under-cooked frittes......and a 30 miinute wait for a bottle of wine did not make us happy diners.

The room, though clean and tidy, was subpar for the price. Kudos to Housekeeping for their efforts to make an outdated, desperately-in-need of a rennovation room habitable. But nothing helped with the noise from the room next door.....if we wanted to wake up at 6 am and 3:45 am, we would have set the alarm clock!

Broken glass and cigarette butts in the grass, broken lounge chairs, and unsupervised children running amok did not make for a relaxing time around either pool areas.

Compliments to Teva in Reception and Kevin and other young man (sorry, your name slips our minds at the moment!) at the pools....you are shining stars. Too bad other employees don't follow your examples in providing exceptional customer service.

SAVE YOUR MONEY and stay somewhere else! Next year it will be the Sofitel or Le Meridian where we stay as we end our visit to French Polyneisa. Apparently we're slow learners about this property as it was our 5th stay here but it was most certainly our last!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Following our over-water villa in Bora Bora, we were ready for a more conventional hotel and the Intercontinental did not disappoint. We were upgraded without asking from a Lagoon View to a Panorama View with a fantastic view of Moorea. This is a large hotel with over-water villas if that is your preference. The Panorama room was spacious, generously appointed and the housekeeping service was exceptional. We tipped the housekeeper early on -- I believe it was only 1000 fpf -- and she took great care of us...fresh flowers in our room every day and turn down service every evening.

The "beach" pool and the main pool are very clean and well maintained...and there are plenty of staff circulating if you need a drink and a snack. We found the food to be surprisingly good and the service in the main restaurant was friendly and faster than most other Tahiti dining spots. They served the best fish & chips I've ever had, anywhere. If you wish to bring in some food, there is a refrigerator in the room and there is a Carrefour (European equivalent of a Wal-Mart) about a 15-minute walk down the road just past the Maeva Beach Resort. The carryout is excellent, there is beer and French wine at reasonable prices. You may also find some relatively cheap souvenirs.

We dined at Le Lotus, the on-site 5-star restaurant that is over the water. Great service, English is spoken and the dining lived up to the rating. If you are going to have one big night-out dinner, this is highly recommended...expensive but worth it.

We went to the water sports center and boated out for a helmet dive. The guide was great with my wife who is not a water afficionado -- she enjoyed it very much as a sting ray and some black-tipped sharks swam by. The cost was about $150 for the two of us and we would gladly spend that again for this 2+ hour experience. There is scuba available and the staff clearly is experienced and highly professional.

The dance troupe that entertained was not the typical hula/Hawaii type entertainment. This was a Marquesa troupe and their routines were dramatic and war-like rituals. They invite audience participation and end with photo ops if you wish. We've experienced several of these both in Tahiti and Hawaii, and this was far and away the most dramatic and entertaining. I was reluctant to attend another one of these, but am glad I did.

We asked for a late checkout as our departure from Faaa was at 10pm. Cost was an additional $110 or so and we found it well worth being able to beach and dine all day with our luggage in our room. The bellman came to drive us to checkout, handled our luggage and was visibly moved by being tipped...bowing and smiling several times.

Be aware, there likely will be many French in the hotel...they are not engaging. On the upside there is complimentary laundry facilities and the hotel shop has detergent.

The statue in the lobby is worth taking a photo!

Room Tip: Ask for a Panorama Room -- great view of Moorea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anasoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed one night here at the end of our honeymoon, coming from Bora Bora and had an early flight to catch the next morning.

THANK GOD it was only for one night - it was disgusting. I dont know how this is a 4 star hotel - motels are in much nicer condition. I was disgusted to pay $500 for an overwater bungalow that was dirty, very very old and outdated. The photos on the internet are not what it looks like - the rooms are tiny, and the waves crashing against the rocks so loud.

The whole resort is very outdated, and boggy! we ordered room service and were both ill the next day. The water outside off the 'balcony' is filthy and murky and no fish - its not nice.

Tahiti in general was awful... if your wanting a nice hotel and nice island - go to bora bora. We were very disappointed with the place for the amount of money we paid, and wish we stayed the extra night in bora bora.
And on top of that - the two bottles of water in the room (which are normally complimentary) we had to pay $5 each for.

And we went to be at 8pm - as we had a 4am flight to catch and the heavy loud music and bongo drums from the restaurant were SOOO LOUD... we could not get to sleep.

Disappointing.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tashacromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We arrived on a late night flight from Auckland and when we pulled the curtains back the next morning, we were stunned ... the beauty of Moorea in the distance and the most attractive hotel pools are a sight to behold. We had two nights at the Intercon pre-cruise and one afterwards and were more than happy with our panorama rooms. The third floor room did have a more expansive view than the 2nd, but no complaints either way. They're decorated in a traditional island style and the beds and linen were extremely comfortable.

We also had one of our loveliest meals EVER at the over-water Jasmine restaurant on our last night in Tahiti. I only hope we can return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This Intercontinental is probably the best hotel in Tahiti, but that isn't saying that much. When fly to Tahiti you are expecting beautiful beaches and clear water, but I think that is more typical of Bora, Bora than Tahiti so it is disappointing to say the least. They have over water bungalows, but the water is not clear nor appealing for swimming. The hotel is very dated and there are bugs in the rooms. The food was ok, but there was a fight in the restaurant when we were there. I would not go here as a final destination point, or to Tahiti in general, but it is ok to stay in between flights. 2q

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
2.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
13.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
3.9 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,060 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,726 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing