We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day trip”
Review of Masca Walk

Masca Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.89*
and up
Tenerife Highlights Full Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Masca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Prague
Level Contributor
367 reviews
226 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Fantastic day trip”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

What a great day in Musca valley. I decided no to take a organize tour and do it on my own with my friend using a public bus from Puerto de la Cruz. Very easy to arrange and with Bono card very cheap. From Pto del la Cruz we took bus 325 at 8:40 (3,50€) arriving to Santiago del Teide around 10:00, at 10:30 we took bus 355 (1,10|€) to Nasca village – 5 km of winding scenic route.
Before the descent you can have some refreshment ( I recommend cactus juice) and buy home made products and fruit. From the village where you can book the boat to Los Gigantes (10 €) at the cafes you start your descent about 3 hours. Watch out as some parts can be slippery even on sunny day. The track is interesting and scenic. As the reward we took a swim in crystal clear see before the boat ride . Unfortunately we witnessed the incident when some people with valid ticket were not allowed to board the boat of Masca express as the employees gave the preference to organized tour of about 20 walkers who arrived the last ones! Not fair. The boat trip was max 40 minutes to Los Gigantes from which we took the bus 325 (4.45€) at 17:20 back to Pto de la Cruz. So if you can save 45 -50€ for a organize tour and do it on your own.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank duhoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,265
    341
    57
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Hard going, but worth it”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife booked this excursion for us on-line. Were staying at Adeje, and the operator picked us up by bus and took us up to Masca. The tour guide (Fred) was very knowledgeable, and after stopping for a quick cactus juice at the café, off we went.
The descent is quite steep, and covers around 8km. The ground is fairly stony, and there is a bit of climbing over boulders to do. You must wear decent walking gear - we had walking trainers, others had full walking boots. Hiring a stick for one euro also makes a lot of sense.
It was raining when we did the tour, and the ground was fairly slippy - this made the going en tougher! As it is all downhill, it is fairly hard on the toes, and the tops of your thighs will also take some hammer.
The views are spectacular (when we could look up from watching the ground). on reaching the bottom, we were picked up by a boat and taken to Los Gigantes, where the bus took us back to our hotel.
A great day out, but robust footwear and a decent level of fitness is required.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Agammemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Didn't really know what to expect. We hiked up the hill. Was quite challenging but satisfying when you reach the top. Took us the better part of 3 hours but we did stop once or twice. We got a boat from LG. which would cost €10. But for an extra €5 you can take a mini detour and go see some pilot whales. Great experience. Would recommend to friends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
935 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We took a one day bus tour of Tenerife and at the end we came to Masca . We were stunned by the beauty of it especially as we had never heard of it . Seemingly the road to the village has only been completed 12 years ago. If driving yourself beware it is endless hairpin bends with quite a bit of traffic. But what a view ! If you are in Tenerife don't miss it , definitely a highlight of the island . You can take a tour with Jesus tours ( along the sea front at Los Christianos and Playa de las Americas ) for Euro 20 - great value for a full day tour and beats trying to manouvre those bends in a hire car.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must Do....”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Did the trek 1 week ago and now home with such great memories of Walk.
My tip would be go early we started at 9.20am before crowds and ensure that you have suitable footwear on.
Take camera/ water and enjoy the glorious views and ensure u do it again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OLD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masca Walk also viewed

Tenerife, Canary Islands
Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife
 
Tenerife, Canary Islands
 

Been to Masca Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing