We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a delightful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I had read many glowing reviews of Casa Clara on Tripadvisor, which is why I booked our first night in Spain here - but I still was not prepared to find an establishment of such class and quality in a tiny medieval town. It felt like a boutique hotel. The room was sunny and tastefully decorated and furnished. Ian, our host, was most welcoming. We enjoyed dinner in the new Gallery restaurant and my only regret is that I only booked a one night stay. A highly recommended place to stay in a fascinating little town, it would be great base for exploring Figueres, Roses and Cadaques. We would happily return and bring friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie0757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We followed Joyce Tan the chef from El Tupi to the Gallery. We had a good meal in July 2010 and booked up for ourselves and my brother and his wife who were coming over from England for their wedding anniversary. My wife even made sure the booking went into their diary.
Everyone knew it was the festival weekend so our expectations were high.
When we arrived for our special meal we were greeted by the manager only to tell us that they were not serving meals that evening, only sandwiches. A real farce! The owner who was within listening distance didn't even have the courtesy to come over himself and apologise.
We went to Le Solen in Epuriabrava and had a beautiful meal.
We will not be going back to The Gallery.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Arch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a jewel of a hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed, clean, and spacious. The host, Ian, is charming and funny and goes out of his way to make you feel at home. The restaurant in the hotel is fantastic both for the local, seasonal food (yet not offering only regional cuisine, a welcome change if you're in the area for awhile) and the ambiance (it serves as gallery space as well). This was my favorite hotel, hands down, on a three week trip that included many different lodgings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

I was on leave from Iraq and met the wife in Spain. Found Casa Clara online and took a chance. Loved it. Very clean, very nice, and the owner, Ian, was very hospitable. What was to be a one night stay, turned into three nights. We ate every night at the nearby El Tupi. Great food. Breakfast at Casa Clara was standard, but tasty. Again the accomodations exceeded our expectations, and we loved the city as well. Great base, to go site seeing.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Finding it the first time
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

Our 2 1/2 days stay were wonderful. Hetty was so warm, informative and helpful. Casa Clara is a beautiful, well appointed bed & breakfast. The breakfast was well presented... the coffee, delicioso! We would come back and recommend Casa Clara to anyone, anytime. Knowing that the property is located in the heart of a medieval town is extraordinary made it very special. The town is conveniently located from significant historical monuments such as Iberian ruins, L'Empuries Greek-Roman settlement, Cadaquez just to mention few. We had the opportunity of trying El Tupi and Les Voltes, as Hetty recommended... both were very good. Thank you for a wondeful stay. Cheers fr California

  • Liked — everthing - but the coffee ... yum
  • Disliked — nothing - that we could not stay longter
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1californiatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castello d'Empuries
0.1 mi away
Hotel Canet
Hotel Canet
#1 of 3 in Castello d'Empuries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.1 mi away
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
#1 of 1 in Palau-Saverdera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.8 mi away
Port Salins Hotel
Port Salins Hotel
#1 of 11 in Empuriabrava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Carmen Hotel
Carmen Hotel
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.7 mi away
Xon's Platja Hotel
Xon's Platja Hotel
#8 of 11 in Empuriabrava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Moneda
Hotel de la Moneda
#2 of 9 in Castello d'Empuries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Clara

Property: Casa Clara
Address: Calle Fruita 27 | Castelló d'Empúries, 17486 Castello d'Empuries, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Castello d'Empuries
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Castello d'Empuries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Clara 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Clara Spain/Province Of Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing