We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had two rooms sharing a bathroom (it was us and our 9-year old son) and this was fantastic. Looking out our window we had a view of the church in this medieval town. The beach is 5km away, but we are we glad that we opted to stay here.
The hotel has a fantastic restaurant and otherwise there's a variety of other restaurants 2 corners away. Stroll around in the evening and pick one.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. After the first day they know your preferences of where to sit what you like and they just deliver - thank you!!
We want to go back to the Costa Brava and this will be a definite stay over again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    31
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My teenage son and I stayed here while doing a Catalan adventures holiday for a week (really good would recommend that too). The accommodation, whilst not luxurious was clean, comfortable and spacious - a suite of a double and twin bedrooms with a shared bathroom. And the bedrooms had the quietest air conditioning I've come across.

The staff were friendly and could not be more helpful - Sara made us a packed breakfast one day when we had to leave v early and so would have missed breakfast otherwise.

The restaurant, The Gallery, had really good food, for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. They do their best for children but not ideal for kids that only do pizza and chips. However Castello has a great Pizza place Las Voltas and Les Cols does great patatas bravas so there are other alternatives in the village.

Only criticism I can think of would be that there wasn't really anywhere to dry clothes in the room - an essential for an activities holiday - fortunately Sara came to the rescue.

Perhaps the litmus test - would I stay there again? and would I recommend it to a friend?
- yes on both counts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I've made over 20 trips to Empuriabrava, previously always staying in Empuriabrava itself. This time I decided to stay in Castello d'Empuries, a beautiful town only 5 km from the modern Empuriabrava. I read the reviews on here and decided on Casa Clara, I spent 10 nights in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff and owner were really friendly and helpful. The owner Ian even lent me his personal phone charger for my last 3 days. And Sara who sets up the delicious breakfast buffets gave me a Spanish language lesson every morning. The room itself was a good size, the bathroom was modern and the mattress was very comfortable.

I had an absolutely brilliant stay at Casa Clara, I really recommend a stay at this quaint hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at Casa Clara for seven days while on a hiking trip. We loved the hotel. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. After a long day of hiking it was nice to back to such a welcoming place. We ate at the Restraint (in the hotel) almost every night. It was some of the best food I have ever had. I miss this people I met there. It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi - France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Looking for somewhere to break our journey between Albi France and Barcelona we were directed to this Hotel. We couldn't have had a better stay. The family room we stayed in was really well thought out - proper doors between the two rooms, luxury bathroom, simple but beautifully chosen decor. We were given a really warm welcome by the owner and had an excellent meal in the restaurant at a very reasonable price. The village of Castello d' Empuriès was enchanting - we stayed a night and wished it was a week;

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albi_FranceJulesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a walking tour of the area with Catalan Adventures. The proprietor, Ian, was very welcoming and always had time for a chat. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast more than adequate before setting off on a day's walk. Ate both nights in the new Gallery restaurant and the food and service were both excellent. Would go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I had read many glowing reviews of Casa Clara on Tripadvisor, which is why I booked our first night in Spain here - but I still was not prepared to find an establishment of such class and quality in a tiny medieval town. It felt like a boutique hotel. The room was sunny and tastefully decorated and furnished. Ian, our host, was most welcoming. We enjoyed dinner in the new Gallery restaurant and my only regret is that I only booked a one night stay. A highly recommended place to stay in a fascinating little town, it would be great base for exploring Figueres, Roses and Cadaques. We would happily return and bring friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie0757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castello d'Empuries
0.1 mi away
Hotel Canet
Hotel Canet
#1 of 3 in Castello d'Empuries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.1 mi away
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
#1 of 1 in Palau-Saverdera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Silvia
Hotel Silvia
#4 of 11 in Empuriabrava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ampuria Inn Hotel
Ampuria Inn Hotel
#8 of 11 in Empuriabrava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.1 mi away
Carmen Hotel
Carmen Hotel
#3 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Moneda
Hotel de la Moneda
#2 of 9 in Castello d'Empuries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Clara

Property: Casa Clara
Address: Calle Fruita 27 | Castelló d'Empúries, 17486 Castello d'Empuries, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Castello d'Empuries
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Castello d'Empuries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Clara 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Casa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Clara Spain/Province Of Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing