We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel in a quaint medieval town”
Review of Casa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel in a quaint medieval town”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I've made over 20 trips to Empuriabrava, previously always staying in Empuriabrava itself. This time I decided to stay in Castello d'Empuries, a beautiful town only 5 km from the modern Empuriabrava. I read the reviews on here and decided on Casa Clara, I spent 10 nights in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff and owner were really friendly and helpful. The owner Ian even lent me his personal phone charger for my last 3 days. And Sara who sets up the delicious breakfast buffets gave me a Spanish language lesson every morning. The room itself was a good size, the bathroom was modern and the mattress was very comfortable.

I had an absolutely brilliant stay at Casa Clara, I really recommend a stay at this quaint hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    31
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
73
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at Casa Clara for seven days while on a hiking trip. We loved the hotel. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. After a long day of hiking it was nice to back to such a welcoming place. We ate at the Restraint (in the hotel) almost every night. It was some of the best food I have ever had. I miss this people I met there. It was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi - France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Looking for somewhere to break our journey between Albi France and Barcelona we were directed to this Hotel. We couldn't have had a better stay. The family room we stayed in was really well thought out - proper doors between the two rooms, luxury bathroom, simple but beautifully chosen decor. We were given a really warm welcome by the owner and had an excellent meal in the restaurant at a very reasonable price. The village of Castello d' Empuriès was enchanting - we stayed a night and wished it was a week;

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albi_FranceJulesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a walking tour of the area with Catalan Adventures. The proprietor, Ian, was very welcoming and always had time for a chat. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast more than adequate before setting off on a day's walk. Ate both nights in the new Gallery restaurant and the food and service were both excellent. Would go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I had read many glowing reviews of Casa Clara on Tripadvisor, which is why I booked our first night in Spain here - but I still was not prepared to find an establishment of such class and quality in a tiny medieval town. It felt like a boutique hotel. The room was sunny and tastefully decorated and furnished. Ian, our host, was most welcoming. We enjoyed dinner in the new Gallery restaurant and my only regret is that I only booked a one night stay. A highly recommended place to stay in a fascinating little town, it would be great base for exploring Figueres, Roses and Cadaques. We would happily return and bring friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie0757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We followed Joyce Tan the chef from El Tupi to the Gallery. We had a good meal in July 2010 and booked up for ourselves and my brother and his wife who were coming over from England for their wedding anniversary. My wife even made sure the booking went into their diary.
Everyone knew it was the festival weekend so our expectations were high.
When we arrived for our special meal we were greeted by the manager only to tell us that they were not serving meals that evening, only sandwiches. A real farce! The owner who was within listening distance didn't even have the courtesy to come over himself and apologise.
We went to Le Solen in Epuriabrava and had a beautiful meal.
We will not be going back to The Gallery.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Arch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is a jewel of a hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed, clean, and spacious. The host, Ian, is charming and funny and goes out of his way to make you feel at home. The restaurant in the hotel is fantastic both for the local, seasonal food (yet not offering only regional cuisine, a welcome change if you're in the area for awhile) and the ambiance (it serves as gallery space as well). This was my favorite hotel, hands down, on a three week trip that included many different lodgings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castello d'Empuries
0.1 mi away
Hotel Canet
Hotel Canet
#1 of 3 in Castello d'Empuries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
5.1 mi away
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
#1 of 1 in Palau-Saverdera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Silvia
Hotel Silvia
#2 of 11 in Empuriabrava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ampuria Inn Hotel
Ampuria Inn Hotel
#8 of 11 in Empuriabrava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.1 mi away
Carmen Hotel
Carmen Hotel
#3 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Moneda
Hotel de la Moneda
#2 of 9 in Castello d'Empuries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Clara

Property: Casa Clara
Address: Calle Fruita 27 | Castelló d'Empúries, 17486 Castello d'Empuries, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Castello d'Empuries
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Castello d'Empuries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Clara 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Clara Spain/Province Of Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing