We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality in a beautiful guesthouse”
Review of Elixirion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elixirion
Ranked #1 of 8 Oitylo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

It was our first time at Elixirion and it will definitely not be our last! The guesthouse was beautiful, and mrs. Maria and her family made our stay unforgettable! It is located in a wonderful little bay opposite Limeni and you can access nearby villages and beaches easily with a car. The guesthouse, which is built in the style of traditional Mani towers, was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Above all we enjoyed mrs. Maria's cooking for breakfast and dinner and her lovely spirit. The breakfast was one of the highlights for us, as it went far beyond our expectations! Every day was a different selection of delicious homemade goods (pies, cakes, etc.), served by the sea, enjoying the lovely view. Generally we would recommend it to anyone going to that part of Mani.

Kyria Maria to glyko tou koutaliou me ta moura itan yperoxo! Euxaristoume poly!
Petros & Evi

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 185 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is my second time at Elixirion. Four years ago I happened upon this amazing place and this time I just had to show my wife the paradise that Dimitris and Maria have created. The guesthouse design is beautiful, artistic and truly personal. The host family pampers you. Mani is magic and the location in the Itilo Bay is breathtaking. Marias' cooking makes you not wanting to leave and please do not miss Dimitiris' huge biological gardens where everything served at Elixirion is grown. We can't wait to stay at Elixirion again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here Sept 2012 for a week. It was just perfect! The hotel is extremely pretty, with traditional Mani architecture and very well decorated; the personal touch of the owners is obvious. Our economy room was cute, clean and very relaxing. The little balcony/garden was very pleasant and we had nice view of the sea, although only on the first floor. If u want undisturbed view get the 2nd floor. The hotel was populated by very nice couples, the village is tiny very relaxing, plenty of parking space. The surrounding area has an amazing selection of beautiful villages with excellent food and fantastic looks. Make sure you eat fresh fish when u get there!! The Mani landscape, views and sea are breathtaking. You need a car to fully enjoy the fantastic beaches of Mani and fall in love with its villages. The breakfast was totally fresh, home-made. The owner was making and serving few home made stuff, different each day. The owners were very very nice and pleasant. We will go back again!!

Room Tip: First floor perfect but second floor has better view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 586alexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Everybody knows that when God made Greece he threw all the rocks into the Mani, so, with the exception of nearby sandy Stoupa, everywhere is boulders, rocks, pebbles and more rocks. But the views in the Mani are fabulous and so too that at Elixirion. The nice rooms and terraces are close to the seashore and the sound of lapping waves in the still of the night was such a welcome change for us, being more used to the sound of traffic. Breakfast on Maria's terrace is a wonderful, typical Greek, home cooked special! A marvellous way to start the day. One can also be served on one's own terrace, which we enjoyed on the Sunday. There are lots of interesting walks around and two great tavernas, one near the hotel called Faros and the other a hike away on the otherside of the bay. I imagine that the sea is quite nice and warm to swim in mid June, but we were there in May and only some Russian guests were brave enough to jump in before breakfast in what, from judging their shrieks, was an ice bucket! Of local ineterest are the nearby unique caves at Diros and the Saturday market in Aeropolis, where we bought the famed local honey and olive oil.

Room Tip: all face the sea and the bay...too many large pebbles to be ideal for small kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Words are not enough to describe nor the place or the people running the guesthouse.
Amazing location, breathtaking views from the balconies, smily people ready to do
the best they can, just to make our stay even more extraordinary.
Great, spacious and clean rooms, well equipped and of high standard with a fab view at the sea and
with extra comfortable beds for a lovely sleep in nature...
Delicious breakfast with homemade jams, fresh fruits straight from the guesthouse's farm.

The last day of our stay though was the best. Maria and Dimitris (the owners) took us along at the guesthouse's farm. The farm was unique and you could find everything you could imagine. Developed on a hillside with many small levels, owners cultivate everything ... from herbs, lettuce, tomatoes, carrots until blueberries, aronia, strawberries. The picture of the farm completes the olive grove and vineyard with several varieties of grapes.
Alex went crazy with the antique tractors that were on the farm...
We joined them at the collection of strawberries and needless to say how many we ate...amazing flavour and taste!
For Maria and Dimitris goal is to be able to offer their guests pure products of their own production but also the experience to live close planting, watering ... in a word back to nature!


We will definitely return and look forward to it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in May 2013 and had a very warm welcome. Maria is the soul of the place, very attentive to our needs and she made us feel at home straight away. She prepares a nice breakfast, whatever you want. The rooms and bathroom are very clean and practical. Nice terrace with a lovely view.

Room Tip: Take some mosquito precautions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Where to begin? Be sure you have the correct Karavostasi as there is more than one in this region. You will know you have the right one by the warm smile from Maria and her husband Dimitri. Right from the beginning we felt our presence was welcomed.
This is a lovely beachside location with the buildings made in the style of old in this region, and the effect is quite charming. The beach is pebbly so you will need your own sandals, chairs and an umbrella from Maria.
The rooms are decorated charmingly with Maria's own artwork and other clever choices. The rooms are not large but they are more than satisfactory.
Across from the sleeping block is the dining room and balcony seating. Maria will cook dinner for her guests with a few hours' notice and I strongly recommend it. We loved her traditional cooking with many of the ingredients grown themselves on their small garden farm nearby.
You may have the pleasure of being charmed by Dimitri's newly restored David Brown tractor parked out front of the dining room. Or if that's of no interest to you, go back to the sleeping block and climb the steps again just so you can admire the flowers and smell the honeysuckle growing in the entrance corridor.
There is not much to do at this village except rest, swim, walk and eat. If you are weary from modern life, go here and restore your soul with the gentle rhythm of the ocean, Maria's easy hospitality and some cheering food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolMum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oitylo
0.1 mi away
Porto Vitilo Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Limeni Village Hotel
Limeni Village Hotel
#1 of 2 in Areopoli
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Itilo
Hotel Itilo
#2 of 3 in Oitylo
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pirgos Mavromichali
Pirgos Mavromichali
#2 of 3 in Limeni
162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vasilios Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elixirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elixirion

Address: Karavostasi, Oitylo 230 62, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Oitylo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Oitylo
Price Range: $78 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Studio in a traditional stone house with typical style of the region of Mani. 5m from the beach. The studios and rooms have a secluded terrace with stunning sea view and lovely selected furnishings. A homemade breakfast is available at no extra cost. Opposite is the New Stone House.. Elixirion Delicius Dishes in front of the sea 5 meters.. Maria the owner cooking local delicious dishes... " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Elixirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing