We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tatty Thalero” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalero Holidays Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thalero Holidays Center
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lygia
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tatty Thalero”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Thalero Holiday Centre, consisted of what looked like cell blocks, artfully hidden amongst mature olive trees. I doubt that the outside had been painted this year, and the railings...never.
Apart from very little storage space, and only one spare plug socket, the inside wasn't too bad.
For the first time ever in Greece, the toilet bin was only emptied every other day, which we feel is not acceptable in Summer temperatures.
The beautiful pool was spoiled by all the weeds growing out of the crazy paving surrounding it, and the staff could have spent their time addressing this, instead of sitting in the shade by the pool bar chatting. (As nobody apart from my wife and I spent any time or money here, they weren't exactly overworked).
With a different business plan, and more attention to detail, this could be a desirable holiday destination, instead of somewhere we couldn't wait to leave.
This was a holiday package booked through Monarch, which turned out to be seconded to Cosmos. Accommodation apart, the service received from Cosmos has left us in no doubt that we will not deal with this company in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossterry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Clean, big rooms, lots of trees, beautiful swimmingpool with a bar which is open all the day. Away from the noice. We were there for 10 days, and we didnt have to use AC at all, cause the villa is surrounded with olive trees and pine trees and the nights are nt hot. The owners changed the towells and the sheets, everything was clean, and it was real pleasure staying there.
Only down side is the town itself, Ligia has small rocky beach, 2-3 restaurants and bars and thats it! Not a place where you can spend more than 2 days!! But if you have a car, it should not be a problem then!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are ok, but I would choose ground flore or the 1st flore, cause on the second flore you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolasl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I started out at the hellish Hotel Lefkas (last minute "smart deal" with Olympic Holidays, not so smart. They shoved all single travelers here. Rude and unhelpful staff, room stank of urine and door lock unsafe. I've traveled extensively and have stayed in cheaper and better rooms in deepest India). As Olympic tried to fob me off with tales that moving would take days and money, decided to get out of dodge and find my own accommodation.

Thalero is charming, quiet and most visitors here are Greek. The rooms are simple but equipped for basic cooking and have a balcony. Staff are friendly, the pool is a decent size and not busy. The small charming beach is a five minute stroll away as is Lygia harbor.

If you want to get away from the package tour crowd and want something chilled out with views of the mountains, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank She R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My friend and I have just spent one week at Thalero Studios, we found it peaceful, friendly, clean and relaxed. Regular change of bedding and towels with friendly staff. Close to the beach and local restaurants , one of which served the best fish I have experienced. We would without doubt book again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fionabrolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We read the previous revues for the hotel and were almost put off by the two negative ones which were a mile from the truth.This hotel has comfortable rooms,friendly staff and a great position near the main town.The swimming pool was first rate and had a great atmosphere for relaxing with beautiful old olive trees surrounding it.This is a well run family business and we would definitely return.For the price which we paid it would be hard to beat for value!
A1 first rate and little cracker.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank philfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

said last year i would probably return, as a friend had started a sailing business out there we decided to return a bit sooner than we thought. the hotel had been missing from the cosmos site but re-appeared for september which was very fortunate.
Maria has made some nice changes with some new doors and mozzie screens in the apartments, plus what felt like new matresses. rooms were well cleaned by her staff every other day and contrary to our recent greek contributers floors were mopped and sheets changed, bins were done each day. Very nice pool and well tended gardens, the bar was well stocked and provided decent bar food and was open a little later than our previous visit which is good, we were so busy we didnt get to use it in the evening sorry!! the hotel has a contract with cosmos for next year which is fantastic as brits were a bit thin on the ground this year.
probably be back , maybe not next year though, but who knows?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rocdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

The hotel consists of several houses with appartments. All have balconies a small kitchen. The rooms are clean and well-kept. Especially nice is the big swimming pool, surrounded by Olive trees. Parking is free in front of the hotel. Lygia is a small village but has a nice harbour area with some nice restaurants and bars. Only down-side is that the hotel is maybe a little hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georg0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lygia
0.9 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
3.5 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#8 of 78 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Christina Studios
Christina Studios
#5 of 7 in Lygia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Casa Di Nonna
La Casa Di Nonna
#6 of 11 in Nikiana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Ligia
Hotel Porto Ligia
#4 of 7 in Lygia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalero Holidays Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalero Holidays Center

Property: Thalero Holidays Center
Address: Lygia 31100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Lygia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lygia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thalero Holidays Center 2*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thalero Holidays Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalero Holiday Hotel Lygia
Thalero Apartments Lefkas
Thalero Holidays Center Lefkada/Lygia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing