We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real greek hospitality”
Review of Hotel Avra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Avra
Ranked #1 of 6 Lygia B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real greek hospitality”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in this beautiful hotel. It is very quiet but located near to shopping facilities. The garden is well-kept and a good place to relax. Very good restaurants and the little harbour are in walking distance. Our room was very cosy and clean with a large balcony. Very exceptional is the hospitality of the owners. They are taking care of everything and are very friendly and helpful. Lygia itself is a good choice if you like to stay off the beaten track. By the way, the evening light at the sea is very lovely.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank w353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent three nights on Lefakada as a short break from our own property in Kefalonia, booked only two weeks before our visit, on Booking.com. Not knowing the resort it took us a while to find the hotel, down a small road in a wonderfully peaceful part of Lygia. Set in pretty gardens, with free WiFi in the reception, the hotel was perfect for our needs. The bedroom was spacious enough, a double bed and a single bed, small kitchen area (not that we intended cooking!!) and a fridge (ideal for our juices and Sprite). The shower room was good, plenty of hot water and spotlessly clean (as was the whole room). The balcony was big enough, complete with sun canopy, the room also had very efficient A/C included in the price.
Breakfast was continental, good choice of bread, pastries, eggs, ham, cheese, juice, fresh coffee and fresh fruit, eaten in the garden, lovely.
The best thing about this hotel was the staff, the owners daughters I believe, so friendly and helpful, an asset to the establishment. We would have no hesitation in returning for another stay, in fact we probably will in the not too distant future as accessingthe island from Kefalonia is very easy via the ferry from Fiskardo to Vassiliki.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rewsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very nice, cousy little hotel. The owners and hotel stuff were more than polite and kind. We were for the first time in Lefkada, and we get from them, all info about everything we wanted to see. The cleanliness of the room was great ( bed linen and towels are changed in three days ). We were in the room minimum time (all day we were at the beaches), so at the evening we only wanted a nice terrace, and we had that. We extended ouar stay from 10 to 14 days, we recommend (we were over venere.com)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoranSavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked in advance 8 nights in double room for this hotel with a deposit of more than 100 eur. At the arrival we found a very nice reception (clean & good taste) but the room was verry dissapointing. The kichinette and the bathroom were very old and the perception was that is dirty (for example the refrigerator was 10 years old and not cleaned for a long time). The reply from the stuff when I asked why is this huge difference between reception and room was that the government didn't gave them money for this. In conclusion we decided to leave and to find another place. They didn't want to gave us the passport if we are not paying 50% of the rest of the nights (they said that this is the law in Greece). We refused saying that the deposit is enough to cover only one night but they threat us that will call the police. In the end we paid for one night 173 eur and found after that a beautiful studio, verry classy, clean and spacious with 325 eur per 7 nights.
We asked many Greek people after this experience abou this regulation (Greek law) but all of them were saying that is not true.
For sure we will not come back and I will not recommend to anyone!
Bad experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank crisnichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lygia
0.3 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.1 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
0.1 mi away
Christina Studios
Christina Studios
#5 of 7 in Lygia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#6 of 76 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Konaki
Hotel Konaki
#4 of 7 in Lygia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.8 mi away
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Nidri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avra

Property: Hotel Avra
Address: Ligia Lefkas, Lygia 311 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Lygia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lygia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Avra 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the marvellous village of Ligia in a distance of five minutes from the capital, we find the hotel Avra.The hospitality of the family hotel along with the unique natural beauty of Lefkada guarantee for unforgettable holidays.All of them are fully equipped with refrigerator, kitchen, air condition, TV and private balcony. Breakfast is provided and there is also a private parking. In a distance of 100 metres from the hotel there is a mini market, bakery and gas station. In less than 300 metres in the picturesque port of the village there are traditional fish taverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Avra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Avra Lefkada/Lygia, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing