We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect match to the needs of our large...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Thyon, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
frank c
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“A perfect match to the needs of our large self-cateing family group”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

L'Etoile Polaire is centrally situated in Thyon Les Collons. It is a spacious, recently built chalet with a traditional look and feel. The airy cathedral ceiling gives a lightness to the large main living area. The chalet is well equipped and well designed and is modern, clean and in excellent condition. Excellent service and organization by the owners and the caretaker make for carefree holidays. Plenty of plumbing including 4 showers, a charming wooden bath and a sauna. Good sized bedrooms, wide terraces with splendid views on the mountains.
There were 9 of us for our annual ski-week including 4 children 9 - 14 and we all really enjoyed this lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality space
Liked least: All was fine
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSSHX
Melton Constable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Chalet, Beautiful Resort”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is a very well equipped, comfortable, cosy, chalet, exceedingly well situated for shops, ski lift, access, and lots of other amenities and has absolutely stunning views and good privacy. The local people were warm, friendly and helpful. Skiing was excellent, with LOTS of choice and ski school good too. Ski hire was really good too. We enjoyed post skiing swims @ Thyon also. Nice restaurants, It feels like it is loved, and that the owners understand your needs. I find it difficult to find anything to be critical of. Thank you so much for sharing your home, there were 8 of us, from Grandpa down to 10 month granddaughter, and we had a stunning holiday. We are looking forward to coming back in the summer too if we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: having to go home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobileiro...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best equipped rental ever and scenery to (literally) take ones breath away!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Chalet Etoile Polaire this summer and can safely say that from the first communication, the owners attention to detail and "aftercare" - coupled with an incredibly high standard of equipment and facilities - make this the best European rental we have ever stayed in.
Communication was always prompt, informative and very personable. The owners website is very professional and gives an excellent idea of what to expect - although the views and scenery have to be seen to be believed.
We were met by the local caretaker who was excellent and spoke very good English too.
We took a day to acclimatise to the altitude but enjoyed several walks through the well marked mountain trails (plenty of guides in the chalet as well as the local tourist office) - another tip to note is that the altitude also affects the length of time to cook food so add several minutes more to anything boiling on the hob!
The chalet is incredibly well equipped and had more than enough of everything we could need and a few extras one doesn't always expect - it felt very much a family home and very relaxing indeed.
We were lucky enough to arrive for the International Woodcarving Symposium and loved watching the artists transform huge tree trunks into spectacular works of art during our stay.
The owner was very prompt in returning our deposit and also went the extra mile in posting us a local souvenir we had forgotten to buy from the local gift shop (we ran out of time!) - exceptional service indeed.
The addition of free WiFi was a boon and proved useful when we had to contact the owner while we were there - again, excellent and prompt responses to a query that the caretaker couldn't answer.
Not many people think of staying in the Swiss high Alps in the summer but we cannot recommend Chalet Etoile Polaire highly enough - it's half the price of a winter ski let yet there is so much to see and do you won't regret booking.
Would we return again? - Without a shadow of a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! - the level of comfort and the stunning views.
Liked least: Leaving :-(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frau B
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful stay at best located chalet in the village”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful summer holiday at Chalet Etoile Polaire. It really is the best located chalet in the village! There are other chalets for rent at Les Collons but this is the most central one which stands just off the main street. All the village facilities are a couple of minutes` walk away (including Trabanta chairlift up to Thyon 2000)- so life is easy and chilled out staying there.
The views from the terrace and balcony (not overlooked at all) are fantastic... quite mind-blowing - it´s just like being in an aeroplane, flying high above the clouds- not that there were many as the sun shone for us every day! We were told that the weather in this part of Switzerland is as sunny as the South of France.
The chalet is extremely well equipped and comfortable with every modern amenity catered for, including super-fast WIFI (free of charge).
It is spacious but cosy as well- home from home for our family for the week.
There is no real need for a car if you are staying there, except if you wish to drive down to the valley to explore the towns: Sion with its old fortress castles and Martigny with the Fondation Gianadda and St Bernard Dog Museum would be recommended by us, together with the relaxing warm, thermal baths at Saillon.
Everything is on hand in this chalet- the local bars and restaurants, a supermarket, bank ATM, sports shop, delightful little rustic playground for children - and of course those spectacular summer walks - along the bisses and at altitude.
There is a direct train from Geneva Airport to Sion which works very well. The journey beside Lake Geneva is very pleasant! From Sion Rail Station a taxi brings you the final leg up the mountain.We had decided to drive and a car proved useful for us all but probably we won´t bother when we come back to ski here in winter as everything is so handy !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, comfort, view
Liked least: there was really nothimg about our stay that we didn´t enjoy
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and location
Liked least: ski domain
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NATHALIE...
Viroflay, France
1 review
“THIS CHALET HAS A BREATHTAKING PANORAMA”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at L'étoile polaire in July with five children.This place has everything you could ever desire. An amazing view, a complete and confortable equipment, modern kitchen, all in an authentic and peaceful surrounding.
The chalet is very well located : near a lovely children park very pleasant for young children. Furthermore you can start from the chalet very beautiful hikings.
We went several time to the outdoor swimming pool at Sion and to Brigerbad. Those places are very appreciated by the youngest.
Thank you very much Tina for your welcome and your advices about our stay.
We have all been DELIGHTED.... Young and less young

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfgang...
München
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lage, Sicht, Ausstattung
Liked least: Es war alles bestens
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing