We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find...”
Review of Chalet La Luge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet La Luge
Ranked #1 of 3 La Tzoumaz B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have just spent a very enjoyable week at Chalet La Luge. We were two families with teenage children, in total twelve of us. The Chalet is very comfortable and very well maintained. Dan and Mini are outstanding. They both have a sense of real karma. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with style and great service. We've stayed in a number of top Ski Hotels and Chalets in the Alps and the US and none come close to Mini's cooking. Her cooking is inventive, original and above all very tasty. The bedrooms are comfortable and each has its own bathroom. The location of the chalet seems initially a bit far out from the centre of Tzoumaz but the buses are very regular and easy to get to plus Dan is very accommodating in getting you to the slopes. Tzoumaz is a find. We stayed in Verbier last Easter and we often spent 40 minutes in the morning queues to get up the mountain. In Tzoumaz we got from the Chalet to the top of the mountain in Verbier in less than half an hour. We got to the best of the Verbier skiing much faster than friends staying in the centre of Verbier setting off at the same time. And it's going to get better with new lifts to come over the next year. Chalet la Luge and Tzoumaz are real finds. Dan and Mini are a great combo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floristonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Chalet La Luge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 91 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here a while ago but writing this due to only just finding this page. I'd never skied before this and was very nervous. After a day in ski school recommended by Mini+Dan i was confident with the basics. They helped me up the hill and gave great tips on skiing and routes to take, they are both very strong skiers and are more than happy to help you out.

The chalet is a very nice, cosy and welcoming environment to be in, the food/cooking is fit for a professional chef and is un-faultable. A lovely TV room with bean bags and a Wii add too the kids pleasure. Also great bedrooms and views complete with a hot-tub.

Excellent hosts and an excellent experience!
Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are *just* back from a couple of nights with Dan and Mini at Chalet La Luge. The other reviews pretty much sum up our stay: beautiful, well thought out chalet, thoughtful hosts, extremely pleasant evening meals and a view that is breath-taking. It is really the little touches that will make your stay here particularly lovely from the bath products, bathrobe, swiss chocolate & pen that await you in your room, to cake & always available hot water for tea, Dan lighting the candles & fire every evening before dinner & the readily available piste maps and advice on how to get where you are going - you won't be disappointed. The location is a bit off the beaten track, La Tzoumaz really is a small town but the access to the pistes/trails was easy (but expensive) and it was much quieter than Verbier which we appreciated. Mini really is a talented chef - the meal each night was well thought out and there was never a shortage of good, local wine! We didn't have good weather while we were there but hey, that's the mountains. Never-the-less, Mini and Dan were wonderful hosts, full of information & really helpful without being intrusive. We are looking forward to staying with them again in the summer, hopefully we will have better luck finding the trails!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Our room was a little small but very comfortable. Hosts are great and very helpful. Food is fantastic. We had a great time and will definitely want to come back next year. Location of chalet could be better but overall it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I went to school with Mini and we had not seen each other since leaving. When I discovered that she and Dan owned a ski chalet we felt we had to go and visit. We gambled on a week before Christmas hoping that the snow would be OK - and we were definitely not disappointed!

Mini and Dan are perfect hosts. Mini's cooking is second to none and nothing was too much trouble for Dan. Great meals every night topped off with excellent choices of wine and cheese!

As it was early in the season the ski bus was not running, but Dan drove us to the slope each day making life very easy. The chalet is fabulous. Very comfortable, lots of little extras and the perfect place to relax after a days skiing. If you are looking for a luxury chalet you couldn't do any better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Chalet La Luge is a great place to stay, the chalet is well thought out making it easy to organise your ski kit, all the bedrooms are lovely so no one draws the short straw, the sitting area is large and cosy and a big square dining table makes meals very sociable. Mini and Dan have thought of everything down to toiletries, bathrobes, plastic glasses for your G & T in the hot tub and loads more. We didn't bring our kids but it would work well with kids. The food was outstanding too! Thanks Mini and dan for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Chalet la Luge is a lovely place. The setting is amazing with views from almost every window. Its a short walk to the bus to reach the slopes but all pretty quick and easy. The rooms are all of a decent size with lots of storage and were spotless with lots of lovely extras (very fluffy dressing gowns, piste maps, toiletries and slippers). The food and wine was delicious, Mini is a very capable chef. Mini and Dan were fabulous hosts with brilliant local knowledge and made us all feel very welcome. I didn't use the hot tub myself but enjoyed listening to the hoots of laughter coming from it! Looked like great fun! Would also love to stay in the summer. Thanks Mini and Dan for a perfect week.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meems20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Tzoumaz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#2 of 3 in La Tzoumaz
74 reviews
3.0 mi away
Les Fougeres Hotel and Harrys Bar
0.4 mi away
La Tzoum' Hostel & Chalet
La Tzoum' Hostel & Chalet
#1 of 2 in La Tzoumaz
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet La Luge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet La Luge

Address: Les Esserts, La Tzoumaz 1918, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > La Tzoumaz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Tzoumaz
Price Range: $251 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet La Luge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catered chalet with stunning views, all rooms ensuite, Hot Tub, sauna, separate TV room with UK TV channels, Wii & DVDs; Media PC for guests' use, wifi throughout, excellent links to Verbier and 4 Valleys. Open summer and winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet La Luge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing