We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miffed Medano”
Review of El Medano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Medano Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My partner and I decided to come here for a 7 day break for my 40th Birthday, just to relax and get some sunshine. This is exactly what we achieved on this break.
There are pros and cons regarding this hotel and I'll start with the negatives.
Firstly, my partner e-mailed a month in advance to the hotel to explain that we were coming over to celebrate my 40th birthday, and asked if it could be made that little bit more special with a room upgrade or a room facing the sea. We were bitterly disappointed when she received a reply to say "for €16 extra 'per night' we could have a sea view. We decided against this as the holiday was expensive enough without forking out more, and we thought that the room would be ok anyway....big mistake. We arrived at the hotel, checked in, arrived at our room to discover that we were at the back, right above the waves crashing of the rocks, most people would find this therapeutic, but believe me, it was like a car crash every 5 seconds. We had to keep the windows closed as this was keeping us awake, but then again, so was the heat....we had no option to get use to this as the hotel was fully booked.
They advertise 'free WiFi'....far from it. You can't pick it up in the rooms, and if you want any connection, you have to sit at reception (still extremely slow).
Anyway, onto the positives. The reception staff, maids and catering staff could not have been any nicer. They all seem to love their jobs which makes you feel your in a decent hotel. The food at breakfast and dinner was vast and delicious. The sunbathing decks on all floors were fantastic.
All in all, a very clean hotel with great staff, lovely food and spacious rooms....just beware what room you end up in !!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 412 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

We've been to Tenerife many times but like to try and avoid the hustle and bustle of Los Cristianos etc so this time booked the El Medano Hotel in El Medano. We'd visited the town before and liked the fact that it's mainly Spanish ie not too many tourists and just needed a quiet week in the sun. We arrived to find it was festival week, first thoughts were eeekk so much for the peace and quiet, but we were here now so decided to make the most of it.

It was great fun, processions through the streets and around the bay, live latin bands, lots of stalls selling mojitos and dancing in the streets - so much fun that we've booked again for this year. This time though we've made sure we have a room at the back of the hotel. We did have a relaxing time too.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the sea and sundeck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our holiday in Tenerife at Medano was pretty good.

Our family of three spent a week in El Medano over Easter 2014. We independently booked the Hotel Medano on-line having spent a little time in the delightful small town on a casual adventure whilst on a previous holiday in Tenerife. The wonderfully situated 3* hotel caught our eye immediately but it was instinct and speculation that made our late decision for an Easter break. Our order was on a half-board basis; I don't remember that there was any other option.

Overall in summary, it was a pretty good choice and I think we would return - therefore a fairly good rating. However, there are a few issues worth noting.

Firstly, one cannot access the hotel directly by car and therefore there is no car park. However, that isn't actually a big deal but it would have been nice to have known beforehand and understand the easy remedies as well. Street parking close by is straightforward within the white lines.

Upon arrival and once family and belongings arrived in the foyer, the reception was excellent - friendly and multi-lingual. Our room was allocated promptly even though we had arrived slightly ahead of schedule. Two rather small lifts of choice took us to a third floor room that was a bit giddy from the modest balcony and facing onto the town square.

In the midst of unpacking the bags, we received a telephone call from reception suggesting an upgrade to a superior room, one that I believed we had booked. This was on the second floor and was altogether a big improvement - more spacious, more storage, a fridge, and a safe - and with a larger sea-facing balcony with great views due south. Everything was very clean, well kept, but rather bland and simple. However, it is not surprising how easy it is to adapt to new surroundings over time and we became very satisfied with the accommodation.

A hotel inspection followed our arrival - a matter of habit for us. We had previously read on Trip Advisor that the catering was questionable so a trip to the restaurant and bar were a first stop for us. A trip to the swimming pool was third but that was certainly not in any way impressive, in fact it was a waste of space.

The restaurant and bar spaces were spotless but utterly bland, lacking any sense of atmosphere. There were three very adequate sun terraces, the main one at ground floor level, and two others higher up, the latter two not being promoted by the hotel.

Trip Advisor's earlier reviews noted that food was uninspiring; this remains the case in our experience. Of course, we tried everything at the first opportunity - dinner on evening #1 and breakfast on morning #2. The previous reviews indicated that Hotel Medano's chef needed to understand the superior offerings from a considerable range of better eateries within a very short walking distance, the majority of which offered better food at less cost. It is no wonder that the restaurant is seriously lacking with all too few takers; breakfast was particularly poor - unappetising and uninteresting.

The bar area at ground level was also disappointing although it appeared to serve clients on the adjacent sun terrace and did that quite well. But in those critical hours of the evening, it was dead. Even mid-week when there was a critical Spanish football final, the TV was off and thus up to 100 'blokes' in the hotel went elsewhere to get their football fix. The local bars and restaurants made the most of their big screens and the vast majority of them were crammed onto the streets.

Whoever is in charge of marketing Hotel Medano needs a kicking if not the sack. It is so sad to see a lovely hotel in wonderful surroundings so under-used. This transmitted through the staff who were generally good but were demotivated by a lack of custom expected at this hotel's level.

Wi-Fi, as advertised, only seems to operate in a few square yards of the foyer. I assume that for a small investment that this could be extended to a wider area, preferably the entire hotel more or less. Connection these days appears critical to average tourists all of which are glued to their particular gadget of choice; when it doesn't work for them, irritation forces them elsewhere. This is a major complaint for us.

Hotel Medano's staff were generally brilliant, especially those who looked after the rooms. Those in the bar, for example, were clearly demotivated for the reasons mentioned above. My observations are not staff-related; it is the management change that essential to make the most out of a very nice hotel in a beautiful location with very little investment indeed.

Atmosphere = zero; potential is enormous.

Serious recommendation for Tenerife is a trip to Mount Teide; unmissable. The landscape and the views are outstanding - maybe best at sunrise or sunset. You can get lost quite easily!

Room Tip: South facing with a decent balcony; you can't go wrong,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael-cozens1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were at Hotel Medano virtually the same time in 2013 having not been back there since 1989. We returned for a week in October 2013 and have now had another week there in early March 2014. There were at least two other couples (Scandinavian or German) who were there last year as well. Says it all really.

Read the reviews, most are accurate and supportive. Don't come here if you want or expect 5* all inclusive, you won't get it. Don't come here if you want cordon bleu fine dining, you won't get it. Don't come here if you want a spa and pampering, you won't get it. Do come here if you want to relax in comfortable unpretentious surroundings with friendly staff. Don't come here if you need to be entertained, the most you'll get is the 'hippies' juggling in the square and playing flutes and guitars like a throwback to 1967. (yes, I was there then) The Saturday artisans market wasn't quite as good this time, too many stalls selling fake Dr Dre headsets and watches, but the English woman with the hand made kiddies clothes is still doing well. Couple of English style Charity bic a brac stalls also.

Hotel Medano and El Medano won't be to everyone's taste, we didn't like Los Christianos but many people do, so enjoy the small town charm, nice café bars and the beach.

Room Tip: Always book a sea view and balcony. The views and sunsets to Montana Roja are worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just returned from a week in the Médano Hotel.
Had requested a sea view, but the hotel was full so did not get one.
Room
Basic with plenty of storage. We had a balcony that overlooked the side alley. Unfortunately, the alley acted as an amplifier and, at times the noise was horrendous. I had taken ear plugs with me so managed a good night's sleep.
Powerful shower and water was always hot.
Towels were changed daily and bedding changed mid week.
Think this room had been updated as everything was pristine and very white.
Meals
As other's have commented, canteen style service. Set your own table, then go for your food. Some queuing at breakfast, evening meals were timetabled depending on what time slot you had chosen on checking in. We chose 8.00pm slot and often went in a bit earlier - finding a table was never a problem.
Food was edible and there was plenty of choice most mornings. Cold buffet selection was always good. Hot dishes are now labelled in the evening so you now know what is on offer. The cooks made fabulous stews and casseroles. Always best to chose local dishes.
Drinks in the dining room cost almost double that of the bar, so be careful.
View from the dining room was incredible.
Hotel
Is well looked after, very, very clean and not run down at all.
On most floors there is a sunbathing deck. Ground floor deck has access to the sea and the hotel bar. There is no pool. All the decks were sheltered, which was just as well as it was extremely windy for the first 5 days we were there.
Staff
There is not a lot of staff - but they all work very hard to make your stay pleasant.
Resort
El Médano is a Spanish town, with a selection of bars and restaurants. We ate out just once at the Argentinian Steak House - excellent.
There is a fruit & veg market on Wednesday in the square facing the hotel. A typical market [clothes/gifts] is on Saturday morning at the same place.
Lots of locals evident in the evening & at weekends creating a very different atmosphere from the rest of south Tenerife.

We enjoyed our stay and will probably return.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room before you go....ones facing the town beach have the best views and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UkMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Officially a three-star hotel, but it deserves another. Our rooms with balconies were super and with direct views out over the Atlantic. Cleanliness was excellent and the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff can't be beaten; they were always smiling and happy to chat or share a laugh in English or Spanish and everyone made us feel very welcome.

Special thanks to Sheila and Lorena for the world's best barraquitos and to Aranxa for producing a wide variety of good, wholesome food and with so much choice and always tasty. Yes, the system for dining maybe a bit like school lunches, but it works and with super views from the dining room, who cares?

We shall certainly go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing holiday in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Yes it's only rated 3star but the overall cleanliness, staff friendliness and accommodation is better than most 4 or 5 star hotels in Tenerife except for the very tired and un imaginative food served in what resembles a school canteen. I can't imagine what the Management are thinking. Half board is a total waste of money and we ate out more than in. They need to rethink!
You get a proper full English Breakfast across the way for 4 euros and "menu del dia" for around 8 euros.
Chef must try harder!

Room Tip: Try and book room 211......sun on the balcony all day and worth the extra supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
2,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
#3 of 5 in El Medano
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carel
Hotel Carel
#5 of 5 in El Medano
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
#1 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,271 reviews
4.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,093 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Grande Surf Hostel
Casa Grande Surf Hostel
#2 of 9 in El Medano
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Medano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Medano Hotel

Address: Calle Picacho 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range: $93 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Medano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Medano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Medano Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing