We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good food, friendly and affordable”
Review of Hong Kong

Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 90 Restaurants in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food, friendly and affordable”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

It is usually very hard or impossible to find a decent Chinese restaurant outside Asia.

We were surprised by the low prices and the good quality of food in this restaurant. We had two meals there. The Chinese dishes were wonderful. The ingredients were authentic and fresh and the sauces were close to perfect.

We also tried some Thai dishes and we weren't impressed. The soups did not even resemble their original versions and the main dishes contained no typical Thai ingredients. Anyway, the food was edible and you could easily mistake it for an unusual Chinese dish.

The prices are low. For example, a hot plate with beef in a black bean sauce cost less than 6 EUR.

The service is friendly and the location is perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlech
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good quality and price”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pretty typical of Chinese restaurants I've been to, but enjoyed every course. Good atmosphere sat out in the evening breeze. Helpful and friendly staff. Very nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best chinese food for a really good price!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Having traveled to more than 50 countries I visited Chinese restaurants in many different places. This Tenerife Chinese restaurant right next to the ocean reminds me of a small Chinese restaurant in the town of Hagen in Germany where I went to school. I enjoyed the very tasty food for a low price, but it closed down because the building was needed for something else. So my wife and I had to wait more than twenty years until our uncle, who still lives in Hagen, discovered this gem of a Chinese restaurant called Hongkong right in the centre of El Medano on the wonderful island of Tenerife. Whenever it is possible we come here and enjoy incredibly tasty food for a very reasonable price, and it reminds us of the good old times.The service is extremely friendly and the view is one of the best panoramas we ever experienced in a Chinese restaurant. Give it a try and you will definitely want to come back and show it off to your best friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolf_Schoenrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Typical Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Standard Chinese menu with some Thai dishes as well have gone here for years and the menu has stayed the same for years can't complain about the food but would be nice if they put on a specials board for variety it's ideal for solos or large parties otherwise its the decide on when no one is sure where to go to go you know it's safe

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong also viewed

El Medano, Tenerife
 

Been to Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing