We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A ne pas manquer ;-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Amigos Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Amigos Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A ne pas manquer ;-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

A Nice place, really! Great organisation with staff and volunteer. You feel fine imediately when you arrived, fun and friendly atmosphere. A lot activities are available if you hope join group excursion. Some helpful equipment could be rent: bike, beach sports..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieFRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Ciaooo :)
Great that you enjoyed our company so much.
It was really good times here (well, that is what we aim to for always :) )
Do come back soon :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    54
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
37
123
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's definitely the best hostel I have ever been to.
Very friendly, staff very nice and helpful.. many things going on: tapas night, football night, go to a bar on a beach, pasta night...
Also, because the hostel is small you get to know everyone there, meet new friends, arrange trips together and so on. Perfect for people travelling alone (and also as groups).
Even though the hostel is not near the bigger towns, you still have nice beaches around, bus stop very near hostel, the hostel would also organize some trips around the island (e.g. village Masca or volcano). However, in Tenerife, rent a car is highly recommended.
What is good is that you have a kitchen, so you can cook, rather than eat outside.
Beds are nice, comfy; everyone gets their own lamp, plug in and a big locker.

Overall, it has been a great stay, I would definitely recommend it to anyone - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn19Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Owner at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks so much Lena! We loved having you here. See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

It was one night but all the stuff were friendly u feel like home,
Guys I lived all 2012 in 5 stars hotels in Istanbul, not rich :)
Just i was sent by my country to take care of the injuried people after the revolution in "Libya"
And I swear Allah in los Amigos i felt much better, they treat every1 as VIP.
I will not say the best hostel but I will say the best Hotel ever:)!!
Thanx los amigos
Im
Coming back in November

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We try our best to
make everybody feel like at home :)

Fantastic that you felt so great even when
you stayed for just one night.
It is very important to us that people see
and feel our place like their home :D

Whenever you got time, do come and see us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great hostel, really friendly staff and excellent if you're a solo traveller as there's lots organised by the hostel itself and the people there are really sociable so it's easy to make friends. Stayed here for one week- just back in fact! There's usually something organised in the evening like a tapas crawl, or movie night and if you fancy doing something a bit different during the day and there are more than 2 of you the staff will organise to take you and most of the time it's free! It's close to a couple of beaches (one of which has an excellent pirate bar that serves good tapas and beer) and some nice villages where you can go for something to eat and drink, but it's about a 20-40 minute car drive from any of the popular tourist destinations. Didn't have trouble sleeping at all, the beds are really comfortable and the breakfast is fab for a hostel. No complaints at all, would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmafinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We enjoyed your company also :)

It was so great that you visited us and
we all had such great time together :)

Do come and visit us again any day :D :D :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canarias, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hi All,
Just wanted to make clear that this is the best hostel I have ever been. It is not only about the hostel atmosphere and the staff, this is a place in which you will find much more, something that I can't really explain by words. Thank you again to all the guys involved in this hostel and I see you soon.
Dario Superina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
So many praises,
We feel humbled after all these words :)

Thank you so much for visiting our place
and of course we are waiting for your return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great staff, nice place, great location (away from all the busy tourist locations). Definitely a good place to stay for those on a budget. Just make sure you rent a car to get around! It is close to mount roja which was a really cool mountain to hike up. El Medana was also a really nice city to visit and have dinner at. All in all a really pleasant stay. Would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to the island and wants an authentic experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyD_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Nice that you had a pleasant stay with our group :)

We really planned our location to be away from the mass
tourism area, so it really would make a difference in the
atmosphere also.

Do come and visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hostel is amazing! I was meant to stay here for 4 nights, but missed my flight and had to delay my stay by 3 days - they were so helpful in changing my reservation free of charge. When I got there everyone was so helpful and friendly, all the staff introduced themselves and became good friends instantly. Free wifi, free all you can eat breakfast, clean rooms, close to the beach. It is the perfect hostel and a great place to meet lifelong friends. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nae123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Really nice to hear such nice words.

We do try to make a quality and friendly service
for everybody and as best as we can.

Remember to visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
3.1 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,473 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
2.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
24.2 mi away
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
#3 of 13 in Icod de los Vinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Amigos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Amigos Hostel

Property: Los Amigos Hostel
Address: Calle Giralda 9 | La Mareta, 38618 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Amigos Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa on the beach (200m) where we live: globetrotters which the aim to create a meeting point for openminded travelers and friends (so "los amigos")Proximity the airport, wifi, swimming pool, lounge area garden with BBQ, full equipped kitchen, artistic deco, full info for visiting the island, is just a part of what we would like to offer you...mainly our smile and warm welcome to Tenerife!Join our Hostel and become a member of our group of Los Amigos :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Los Amigos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Amigos Hostel El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing