We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great management”
Review of Los Amigos Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Los Amigos Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canarias, Spain
2 reviews
“Great place, Great management”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hi All,
Just wanted to make clear that this is the best hostel I have ever been. It is not only about the hostel atmosphere and the staff, this is a place in which you will find much more, something that I can't really explain by words. Thank you again to all the guys involved in this hostel and I see you soon.
Dario Superina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
So many praises,
We feel humbled after all these words :)

Thank you so much for visiting our place
and of course we are waiting for your return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    56
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
38
127
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great staff, nice place, great location (away from all the busy tourist locations). Definitely a good place to stay for those on a budget. Just make sure you rent a car to get around! It is close to mount roja which was a really cool mountain to hike up. El Medana was also a really nice city to visit and have dinner at. All in all a really pleasant stay. Would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to the island and wants an authentic experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyD_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Nice that you had a pleasant stay with our group :)

We really planned our location to be away from the mass
tourism area, so it really would make a difference in the
atmosphere also.

Do come and visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hostel is amazing! I was meant to stay here for 4 nights, but missed my flight and had to delay my stay by 3 days - they were so helpful in changing my reservation free of charge. When I got there everyone was so helpful and friendly, all the staff introduced themselves and became good friends instantly. Free wifi, free all you can eat breakfast, clean rooms, close to the beach. It is the perfect hostel and a great place to meet lifelong friends. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nae123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Really nice to hear such nice words.

We do try to make a quality and friendly service
for everybody and as best as we can.

Remember to visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was only here a few hours but they dealt with this really well. First I arrived really late, maybe 10pm. Next I had to leave for an early flight at 03:30. They did a really good transfer for me - with tea and biscuits in the car on the way in the middle of the night. Helped me with my bags. Faultless.
It seemed like an extremely clean place when I was there. Very well organised and beautiful. Well laid out. Internet worked fine for me. If the bed sheet doesn't fit try another.

Very calm and patient owner. I hope to go back purely just to be around such a calming person.
If you don't have a car then you could cycle to Medano for the water sports as that route is fairly flat. Other than that a car can be as little as £14/day.

Definately a favourite here, you won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Maybe a tent is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jago25_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Great that you liked our place,
even when you were here for a short time :)

When you have more time, just come on over again
to visit us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean, nice, friendly, owners are very nice and environment is cosy. Its is very close to great beaches and water sports. You have a kitchen to cook your own food and a nice outdoor area to hangout. The staff is very helpful and interested in getting to know you and have you familiarized with the island.

Room Tip: Should rent a car to get off an around though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAmigosHostel, Manager at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Excellent that you enjoyed your stay with us :)

We try our best to make everyones stay nice and memorable.

We are missing you here already,
so don´t forget to come and visit us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Difficult to reach when you don't have a car, but the hostel has a really nice atmosphere at all. I spent a perfect week there getting to know the island!! (Tip: rent a car and you will enjoy your time in Tenerife better). Staff was very helpful!! Thank you a lot!

Room Tip: Private room is 100% better (even more if you are 2) but you have the option of the outside tents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maluk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco L, Owner at Los Amigos Hostel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We also had a great time having you here , and you are welcome back at any time ! :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifswald, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The crew in the Los Amigos Hostel is super friendly and they do everything to help you enjoying your time there and on Tenerife. The whole accomodation is great - the bathrooms and dorms are always clean and the free breakfast offers unequaled opportunities. You can meet a lot of fantastic and lovely people there which is important when you're travelling alone. You'll always find someone who'll give you a lift or join your trips. You have your own locker in the dorm as well as a separate light and plug next to your bed.The hostel is close to the airport and the beach is only 200m away.
Me and my friend spent our first 5 days on Tenerife there and when we came back after 6 more days it really felt like coming home for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClauD183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
3.1 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,608 reviews
2.4 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
#3 of 5 in El Medano
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
24.2 mi away
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
#4 of 15 in Icod de los Vinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Amigos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Amigos Hostel

Property: Los Amigos Hostel
Address: Calle Giralda 9 | La Mareta, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Amigos Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa on the beach (200m) where we live: globetrotters which the aim to create a meeting point for openminded travelers and friends (so "los amigos")Proximity the airport, wifi, swimming pool, lounge area garden with BBQ, full equipped kitchen, artistic deco, full info for visiting the island, is just a part of what we would like to offer you...mainly our smile and warm welcome to Tenerife!Join our Hostel and become a member of our group of Los Amigos :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Los Amigos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Amigos Hostel El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing