We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed in!”
Review of Los Amigos Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Amigos Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had a really great time staying at Los amigos hostel. The staff are all so friendly and made me feel really welcome:) its really clean and feels very homely. The outdoor area is so nice to relax in the evenings watching a movie or meeting new people.
The only thing I can fault is the location, it is a little far from anything but if you don't hire a car the buses are really easy to get to anywhere you need to go.
I definitely will stay again next time I go to Tenerife:)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meganjane90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 260 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

This Hostel was Awesome. So much so that i left to find a place in the north and I was back the same day to stay longer. The Staff were great, as were the facilities and the overall vibe of the place. The Staff are always sociallizing with everyone, and if they're not they are cleaning the place, so it is always spotless. This place is up there with some of the best hostels I have stayed at.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for affordable accomodation staying in Tenerife. And if I get the oppourtunity to go back to Tenerife, I wouldnt think twice about staying here again!
I would suggest to get a car because it is Inbetween El Medano and Los Abrigos which is a 10 min ride on one of the hostels bikes, but really, anywhere in Tenerife you want a car anyway because theyre very cheap to rent and makes life alot easier getting around

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlakeMuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I liked a lot hostel Los Amigos, it is very colorful place. The staff is great, very kind and helpful and also all the people that come are really cool. The atmosphere is relaxing and great. It is quite good conneted to other places with bus and it is near to Medano, the beach and the Airport. It is clean and good organized. I would choose this hostel again and I recommend it to all that look for a nice, sociable place to stay and meet new friends and live new experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was a great experience.
We just spent 4 days, but we could easily fit in with all the staff working there.
The place is wonderful and I loved the swimming-pool and the wee outdoor living room: perfect to relax and watch movies after a nice day out and about!
Good location, easy to find, great environment and lovely people...just perfect!
Thank you guys.
L & V

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorenzo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This absolutely the best hostel I have ever been to. I originally went there for just 1 or 2 nights, then I went to another village but Los Amigos was so great I returned to there and spent the rest of my time in and around the hostel. Everything is very clean, the atmosphere is great, the people that work there became more friends than that they were "just" staff in the hostel. It looks like it is a bit in the middle of nowhere but there are many busses and the villages around are just a nice walk away. Also the beaches are so beautifull, there are natural swimming pools closeby and great waves to surf everywhere.
The accomodations and facilities were also great. There are 3 bathrooms, a really nice swimming pool to refresh and it is a cosy and stylish place to relax and regain new energy thanks to all the good vibes hanging there.
Breakfast was really great various and the beds were very comfy.
Also there you can rent a bike there for 2 euros a day and they take you on daytrips and evenings out accordingly to what things there are to do. Even for Free!

Keep on doing whatever you are doing there, thanks for the lovely time I had with you guys.

A

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anneliesva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The youth hostel is near the airport so it is very convinient.
Nice people to meet in this place.
Good moods and vibrations.
Great value for the money.
Also nice playas La Tejita and El Medano

I had a great time there

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cloclotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I only stayed for one night at Los Amigos, but would recommend it highly to anyone travelling on a budget in Tenerife, including solo travellers like myself. Its small and busy, yet still keeps a very friendly personal vibe, thanks to the 2 guys who own it & their excellent multi-national/multi-lingual staff. I can see why several people had originally come for a few nights, and had stayed for much longer! The main dorm room was full when I was there, but there was plenty of lockable storage space, and it was surprisingly quiet & restful. The whole place was spotlessly clean. All bedding & towels are provided, as is an 'eat-all-you-can' breakfast. There is a spacious sunny yard with a small plunge-pool, gym equipment, mountain bikes for hire (2 euros per day), plus a large shaded area with plenty of comfortable sofas, chairs, etc. There is free internet access, although when I was there the availability was variable so I wouldn't rely upon it. There was a BBQ the evening I was there that anyone could join in, although there was also plenty of storage space & facilities if you wanted to make your own food. Snacks, beers, water & some cooking basic foodstuffs were also available to purchase - which is important if you don't have transport as its a long walk to the nearest shops/bars in Los Abrigos or El Medano.

The place is in a very small hamlet called La Mareta, about 5km from the nice small seaside town of El Medano. It's very close to Tenerife's main airport (known as Tenerife Sur/Reina Sofia) - in fact you can hear the planes all day, and even see them landing & taking off from the upstairs bathroom! I didn't find the noise an issue in the rooms however - they must be well sound-insulated. The beach at La Mareta is 50m away from Los Amigos, with a larger beach at La Tejita about 1km. The whole area is excellent for windsurfing, kite-surfing, etc, due to the constant powerful winds (be prepared to find every orifice in your body still full of fine sand, even after a shower!). There is a bus service from El Medano/Los Amigos to the hostal (roughly every hour) which stops in La Mareta, although from what I heard it doesn't always turn up so again, I wouldn't rely on it if you need to get somewhere in a hurry. The hostal will do airport transfers if you arrange in advance for the same price as a local taxi (15 euros).

A few tips:-

1) there is no sign for La Mareta on the main road, so I drove past several times trying to find it! If you're coming from El Medano to Los Abrigos, go past Playa Tejita & the red mountain by the sea, past the 2 new housing urbanisations, and La Mareta is the small hamlet on both sides of the road just before you get into Los Abrigos - Los Amigos is up the only road on the right, on the corner.

2) the main dormitory is mixed (ie. male and female). I didn't have a problem with this, but it might not suit everyone.

3) there are only 3 showers/toilets, so either get up early or be prepared to be flexible on shower-times! There was always hot water though, which is great.

4) if you want shops & restaurants Los Abrigos is the nearest, but El Medano has a much better range of shops, with some excellent & relatively cheap restaurants (such as Avencio Astillero, Restaurante Familiare, etc.)

Enjoy/que los disfrutes!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mcr-traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
2.4 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
420 reviews
26.5 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#20 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
401 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Casa Grande Surf Hostel
Casa Grande Surf Hostel
#2 of 9 in El Medano
66 reviews
24.2 mi away
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
#2 of 15 in Icod de los Vinos
295 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Amigos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Amigos Hostel

Address: Calle Giralda 9 | La Mareta, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in El Medano
Price Range: $18 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Amigos Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa on the beach (200m) where we live: globetrotters which the aim to create a meeting point for openminded travelers and friends (so "los amigos")Proximity the airport, wifi, swimming pool, lounge area garden with BBQ, full equipped kitchen, artistic deco, full info for visiting the island, is just a part of what we would like to offer you...mainly our smile and warm welcome to Tenerife!Join our Hostel and become a member of our group of Los Amigos :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Los Amigos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Amigos Hostel El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing