We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of El Braserito - CLOSED

El Braserito
Price range: $14 - $29
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had one of the best steaks ever in this 'Argentinian' restaurant. The position of the restaurant is not ideal as it is not on the main street but it is worth finding. In fact we nearly didn't go in because it was nearly empty but we were rewarded with wonderful food and very helpful and friendly service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMCaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    9
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad quality Food.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, friendly Service. We ordered the BBQ for 2. Bad decision: meat, chicken, black pudding, grilled sausage, EVERYTHING has the same stale, burnt taste. To cap it all the french fries were dripping fat and far away from crispy. Maybe the steaks are better, we will not take a risk and try it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dantschpatsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TANGONDOLERO, Gerente at El Braserito, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sir /Madam while i thank You for your appreciation for the atmosphere and service on the other side i'm sorry You had an unsatisfactory experience of our cuisine. i owe You my excuses and some explainations: bbq you picked is our basic offer ,is close to everyday meal in argentinian country side, and is intended as a cheap quantity- for -money choice for low budget family and actually is our best seller but probably doesn't fit the sofisticated taste of european. We should have reccomended You to pick more selected cuts like our Beef Filet and our Sirloin steak . Really wish you give Us a second chance. You ll be welcomed. And if You won't be satisfided you 'll just walk away ...free of charge. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steaktastic”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

an un-assuming little niche in an iddylic Canarian town, we thought as we meandered through the little shanty town, we'd been staying all inclusive in a so-called 4* hotel and were craving something a little different so we dodged into El Braserito, what greeted us were walls daubed in cow print, instruments of trapping and slaughtering beast, diagrams of different cuts of beef and a thoroughly intoxicating smell of grilling meat!
we both went for the Argentinian Entrecote steak, salad and chips (not chips but sliced potatoes still in their skins and fried like chips) a glass of Rioja for me and a sparkling water for the Missus, bread was offered and although these were frozen part baked dinner rolls the homemade dipping oil served with it was exceptional, herby, chilli-y and garlicy, we didn't bother with starters, although a small choice was on offer including gambas, iberian ham and canarian cheese. which was just as well when the huge slab of char grilled beefiness arrived in front of us! it was well seasoned with sea salt flakes and freshly ground pepper and cooked with skill and affection, the meat was tender and flavousome. On a purely critical note though i felt that it could've been trimmed with the same skill and affection shown in the execution of the cooking! the salad was simple and fresh and they left the dipping oil at the table which i drenched my salad with!
we were both done in after this and didn't even look to see what was on offer for dessert.
a couple of beers and a vodka and lemon followed this and the total bill was 47 euros, this was presented along with two shots of Limoncello!
we were so impressed with the quality and of the service we returned the following two nights and ate the identical meal!
The menu is small and concise compared with other eateries with menus the size of company mailing lists!
would go back tomorrow!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not able to cook steak”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Read the reviews and was looking forward to a good steak.The starters were good and the house wine excellent,it all went down hill from there.The steaks were supposed to be cooked medium....alas they were well done,as they were not cheap we called the waiter over,he offered to change them.The next steaks were beyond rare,I had to swap steaks with my partner he had ordered fillet due to the thickness it was cold and blood soaked my t-bone was not much better.So rare it tasted more like carpaccio.Expected a chef who could cook steaks,could have done better myself.Waste of money ! The staff were friendly it's a shame.Beware !!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We enjoyed the food and service. Nice people which did not push to consume. We were told to take one steak for the 2 kids. Tenderloin were tasty, and steak for kids were perfect. We took the "vino de la casa" which was a good choice for price and quality. Not expansive at all at the end for a family of 4. We will definitely go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cenchria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Braserito also viewed

El Medano, Tenerife
 
El Medano, Tenerife
El Medano, Tenerife
 
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing