We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in El Medano!”
Review of Villa Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Las Dunas
Ranked #1 of 1 El Medano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in El Medano!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed one night at Villa Las Dunas before spending a week on a sailboat. Jill and Nigel were helpful with restaurant recommendations, advising us of how to get to the marina for our sailing trip and they were just generally great hosts...available for any questions.

The property is as described and was perfect for us, we were very tired for a 30 hour plane flight into Madrid a couple of days prior so we mostly rested there. It was an easy walk into town and we went into once for dinner and then the second time for lunch and a SUP (stand-up paddle board rental!)

All in all, I would highly recommend Villa Las Dunas...its exactly as described, the hosts are very helpful and the welcome basket in the room with wine, tea and biscuits is great for a weary traveler! If you are looking for something relaxing, calming and away from the crowds then definitely consider booking with Jill & Nigel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AleesaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    40
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
111
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I suggest villas las dunas for a short weekly holidays in Tenerife: you can rest in the silence of the Teide mountain and hear the wind and the sea before sleeping, not so far from the beach and the village and the high way to Santa Cruz is only five minutes by car, people are very kind and you can enjoy your breakfast every morning as in your house, Jill & Nigel are the soul of B & B, they can help you to find the best way to visit all kind of best places in Tenerife.
We stay in a room with mountain view and Romeo and Jiuliet balcon, but we have evrything necessary for a coffe or cup of tea or glass of cool white wine.
After seven days we are very happy, best price and good comfort with all type of services we need and large freedom to visit the island: thank you Jill & Nigel for your sincere smile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank galligiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We had a very relaxing week here just before Easter after seeing reviews on tripadvisor. Very quiet and safe location. A walk of around 15-20mins into the town of El Medano but that meant we could work off the local cuisine (which was excellent).

We stayed in a sea-view room. It was clean and well appointed - it was particularly nice to have a fridge, and the complimentary wine/milk/biscuits went down well!

Breakfasts were a highlight - full english cooked to order if you wanted it and all-you-can-drink coffee, as well as cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, etc.

Jill and Nigel were great hosts, always quick to come up with suggestions for places to go and things to see. They also helped us organise some scuba diving locally, which was fantastic.

We had a car for the week, which we'd recommend to see the best of Tenerife, but if you just wanted beach, pool, and some great restaurants, then El Medano would be perfectly adequate.

This is great value for the price and a world away from the busy hotel resort places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Before deciding on where to stay on our trip to Tenerife we came over this B&B in El Medano and based on the excellent reviews decided to book. That was at decision we most certainly did not regret!
From the time of booking to the day we (sadly) had to go home our experience with Jill and Nigel were superb! We stayed in a bedroom with a terrance facing the ocean. The room was clean and had a big bathroom. It was fantastic to wake up to sound of the waves breaking onto the beach. You are also greeted with a complementary bottle of wine, water and milk for the tea and coffee you can make with the kettle in the room.
Breakfast was served on the terrace. You have a selection of cereal, fruit, pastry and so on. Last but not least, we had a full English breakfast made to order with a selection of eggs, bacon, beens, tomatoes and sausage. Just lovely!
The Villa is a 15-20 min walk into El Medano. This Is a cosy little town, free from the mass tourism of Playa De Las Americas and Los Cristianos. There are many good restaurants with quality food. No need to go any where else actually.
Because of the location El Medano can be windy at times and is perfect if one wants to windsurf/kite. The wind did not bother us much. Tenerife is a beautiful Island so a car is recommended. As other people have noted, the flight plan of the airport passes over the house, but this was not bothersome.
Before I conclude this review I just have to say some words about Jill and Nigel. They are by far best host we have ever come across. They accommodate you in any way they can and are so nice!
When you read this and the other reviews here you may think that it is to good to be true. But this actually is that good! Book with confidence!
We will return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We arrived with plans to explore the island - and basically spent the week in El Medano. In a two-bedroom villa, to be more precise. With its large terrace even the strong winds could not disturb us too much (it was colder than normal). The villa is especially handy if you travel with kids, they have their own bed and bathroom and there is ample common space to eat, play and linger. Kitchen is well equipped.
Medano is a 30 minutes walk away, pretty pleasant - at least if there is not too much wind. We did not rent a car, but did the few excursions by taxi.
Apart from the villa, Jill and Nigel are the real assets of this place. Friendliy, helpful, uncomplicated. What can you wish for more?
Please be aware that the airport is very close, so there is some noise from starting airplanes. It did not disturb us too much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mourspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent two weeks at Las Dunas in February 2012 and had a wonderful stay. Jill and Nigel couldn't be more helpful and the rooms were, clean, modern and comfortable. For the price it is certainly excellent value and a good base to explore the island.
We had a hire car and this is probably essential for anything over a day or two as the immediate surroundings have limited interest although the town of El Medano (20 minutes pleasant enough walk) has a reasonable beach and good dining/pavement cafe facilities.
The villa is a short transfer from the airport (some aircraft noise as a result though not too oppressive) and has a nice pool and is set in a quiet residential area.
The south of the island does seem to benefit from its own micro-climate and we enjoyed sunny days, even when the centre of the island was covered in cloud. El Medano is a windsurfers Mecca so don't be surprised if it's quite windy, again a car is useful as it is quite easy to find a sheltered spot further west if you need too.
We enjoyed some spectacular walks around the interior, Nigel gave us some excellent recommendations for these.
Overall highly recommended and superb value.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarchHare2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrköping Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were supposed to fly to Turkey but our son was ill and we had to reschedule. When we did there we no tickets left so in the end we ended up in El Medano, Tenerife, and we're very glad we did. We read the great reviews and booked a two bedroom villa. We had a wonderful stay and Jill and Nigel were the perfect hosts - from start to finish. They picked us up at the airport and had even gone to the trouble of getting a child seat for our little son. This really meant a lot to us. The also put in a baby cot and a high chair in the house.

The house was great. Pretty, clean and functional. We found it excellent value for money and really practical with two en suite bathrooms. We were just two adults and a baby staying there but the house would have been big enough even with two more adults staying in it.

There was lots of space. We could choose between eating at the kitchen table or at the outside table on the patio. When our little son was asleep in the evening my husband and I could sit outside eating in the warm Tenerife evening - lovely!
It turned out there was a washing machine in the house and with a baby that it very convenient.

There were sunbeds on the patio and upstairs there was a balcony with a nice view of the pool area and the sea. It was great to have a pool area but there is also a nice beach nearby.

The location is good but it's best to rent a car as there are no restaurants in the residential area. However, El Medano is only 15 minutes walk from Las Dunas so if you don't mind walking you won't need a car.

El Medano is a great little town. Lots of nice restaurants and shops - and not too touristy like Playa de las Americas and Los Christianos. The only negative thing about El Medano and Las Dunas is that it's located really close to the airport so you'll have plenty of planes flying over your head. Luckily they seemed to stop later in the evening. And anyway, the planes kept our son really happy as he loves planes. If you ask him, the proximity to the airport was probably the best thing about El Medano!

We would definitely like to recommend Las Dunas. The villa was really good and we could't have asked for a better holiday home. Jill and Nigel are wonderful hosts and they'll do anything for there guests - and always with a smile.

Room Tip: The villas are excellent for familys
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer_and_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.6 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
2,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
#3 of 5 in El Medano
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Los Amigos Hostel
Los Amigos Hostel
#1 of 9 in El Medano
246 reviews
4.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,972 reviews
22.9 mi away
Casa Regina Tenerife
Casa Regina Tenerife
#1 of 1 in Puerto de Santiago
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Dunas

Property: Villa Las Dunas
Address: Villa Las Dunas 7/8 , Calle Girasol | Ensenada Pelada, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Dunas Luxury Bed and Breakfast at 50 euros a night per room all incl., Beautiful seaview or mountain view rooms in a quiet location and ideally situated for airport and sightseeing. All rooms have private bathroom with shower,tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. Large heated pool in beautiful shared suntrap surroundings. Parking available. Secure garage available for storing sports equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Dunas Hotel El Medano
Villa Las Dunas El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing