We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great villa and great hosts”
Review of Villa Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Las Dunas
Ranked #1 of 1 El Medano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were supposed to fly to Turkey but our son was ill and we had to reschedule. When we did there we no tickets left so in the end we ended up in El Medano, Tenerife, and we're very glad we did. We read the great reviews and booked a two bedroom villa. We had a wonderful stay and Jill and Nigel were the perfect hosts - from start to finish. They picked us up at the airport and had even gone to the trouble of getting a child seat for our little son. This really meant a lot to us. The also put in a baby cot and a high chair in the house.

The house was great. Pretty, clean and functional. We found it excellent value for money and really practical with two en suite bathrooms. We were just two adults and a baby staying there but the house would have been big enough even with two more adults staying in it.

There was lots of space. We could choose between eating at the kitchen table or at the outside table on the patio. When our little son was asleep in the evening my husband and I could sit outside eating in the warm Tenerife evening - lovely!
It turned out there was a washing machine in the house and with a baby that it very convenient.

There were sunbeds on the patio and upstairs there was a balcony with a nice view of the pool area and the sea. It was great to have a pool area but there is also a nice beach nearby.

The location is good but it's best to rent a car as there are no restaurants in the residential area. However, El Medano is only 15 minutes walk from Las Dunas so if you don't mind walking you won't need a car.

El Medano is a great little town. Lots of nice restaurants and shops - and not too touristy like Playa de las Americas and Los Christianos. The only negative thing about El Medano and Las Dunas is that it's located really close to the airport so you'll have plenty of planes flying over your head. Luckily they seemed to stop later in the evening. And anyway, the planes kept our son really happy as he loves planes. If you ask him, the proximity to the airport was probably the best thing about El Medano!

We would definitely like to recommend Las Dunas. The villa was really good and we could't have asked for a better holiday home. Jill and Nigel are wonderful hosts and they'll do anything for there guests - and always with a smile.

Room Tip: The villas are excellent for familys
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer_and_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Villa Las Dunas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 154 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Lovely place. I can confirm what has been said in previous reviews. Excellent and friendly hospitality. The location is a bit away from downtown (15 minute walk) so, because of this, the area is very quiet. If I go back to Tenerife I will definitely stay at Villa Las Dunas... if I find availability.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Thank you Jill and Nigel for making this such an enjoyable stay. The room was very clean and attractive and it was great to have a balcony with a sea view. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, who have the perfect blend of helpfulness and friendliness without being intrusive. This is something that a lot of B and B owners don't manage to get right. Great breakfasts are taken in a very pleasant location on the terrace, although you need to be prepared for the blazing sun, even early in the morning.
The villa is really handy for the airport and yes, there is some noise, but it didn't cause us any problems at all. The pool is nice, but was a bit too cold for us so I only had a quick dip. You will probably be aware of the water sports at El Medano that exist because of the wind in the area, so don't be surprised if you get some windy days like we did. If you like photography, take your camera down to the beaches and you will enjoy taking some great shots of spectacular airborne surfers.
Don't be too concerned as you approach the Villa, as you will pass through an almost desert-like, scrubland terrain and see quite a few unfinished developments etc, but the immediate surroundings of the Villa are really well kept and safe. I accidentally left an expensive camera on the seat of our hire car for about 24 hours and it was still there when I returned to the car.
El Medano itself is a pleasant little town only 25 minutes walk or a 4 Euro taxi ride away. Plenty of good restaurants and a much more Spanish atmosphere than you will find at the large resorts.
The Hotel Arenas Del Mar, less than ten minutes walk, on the way into El Medano, is very handy as there is free entertainment every night and a buffet style dinner available for 20 euros a head. Make sure you are really hungry if you want to get good value!
Overall, then, a great place to stay on Tenerife and handy for just about everywhere, due to the close proximity of the motorway and airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Jill & Nigel are the best hosts ever and they have a lovely place for a perfect vacation far away from all the bed bunkers you are normally used at Tenerife. Las Dunas is really a place where you feel "home" during your vacation. You need any information or something organized Jill & Nigel will organize it for you and make the best out of your stay.
El Medano is much more relaxed than the other big tourist places on the island but you still find everything what you need for a perfect vacation. Only thing that might disturb you is the vicinity to the airport. You will hear a plane from time to time.

Room Tip: take always the sea view rooms
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Brilliant, Jill & Nigel made us feel so welcome they are the perfect hosts nothing was to much trouble.
Everything was spot on, a good cross section of people staying at the same place.
We will be back and I'm sure that some friends and family will be also.
Many thanks to both.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsPaneuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just returned from stay at Las Dunas and have had such a relaxing time. The holiday was hassle free, largely due to the kindness of Jill and Nigel. We were met at the airport and from then on were extremely well looked after, although not in intrusive way. Both Jill and Nigel have a wealth of local knowledge and were able to advise us on the best places to visit on the island, after arranging car hire for us. The b and b rooms are comfortable and clean. Air con not needed as lovely breeze from the sea most of the time. The local town had lots of good restaurants and bars to choose from and was pleasant 20 minute stroll.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Nigel & Jill are the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. From arranging our accomodation to collecting us at the airport, helping arrange car hire to being fonts of local information, they made our stay more memorable. Villa Las Dunas is comfortable, great value and in a lovely location too! Chris & Ethna Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.3 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel  Arenas del Mar
Hotel Arenas del Mar
#1 of 5 in El Medano
2,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
#3 of 5 in El Medano
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4,827 reviews
2.5 mi away
Los Amigos Hostel
Los Amigos Hostel
#1 of 9 in El Medano
256 reviews
4.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#2 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Dunas

Address: Villa Las Dunas 7/8 , Calle Girasol | Ensenada Pelada, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Medano
Price Range: $58 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Dunas Luxury Bed and Breakfast at 50 euros a night per room all incl., Beautiful seaview or mountain view rooms in a quiet location and ideally situated for airport and sightseeing. All rooms have private bathroom with shower,tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. Large heated pool in beautiful shared suntrap surroundings. Parking available. Secure garage available for storing sports equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Dunas Hotel El Medano
Villa Las Dunas El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing